We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect birthday event ever”

Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour
Ranked #3 of 118 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore Shanghai by vintage sidecar motorbike. Recently recommended by TIME magazine, National Geographic Traveller, Vogue or ELLE Magazine across 38 countries; Shanghai Insiders offers you the most original way to venture out and explore Shanghai off the beaten tracks while quenching your own centers of interests, might it be architecture, photography, food, art, etc. Enjoy an open-air adventure comfortably seated in the side-car of a classic motorbike. Every tour is tailor made by your insider who is an expat who has been living in Shanghai for a minimum of 3 years. Shanghai Insiders is the friend of a friend you wished you had in a city you do not know. Don't forget to ask for our champagne option!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect birthday event ever”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Gave a trip with Shanghai Insider as birthday gift to friends turning 50, Best present ever, cool bikes and cool dudes and the trip with all its sights were fabolous. Dont miss this if your are in Shanghai its perfectly safe, will be appreciated by everyone from kids to grandparents.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BitteIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Surely a very stylish way to pass the 50's bar in high colors! Thank you for taking a minute to post your feedback, very much appreciated. I hope we'll have the chance of seeing you before the 55th birthday!

Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    43
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This will be your highlight in Shanghai”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was an opportunity to see the real Shanghai. I usually HATE tours of any kind, but touring with Max felt more like having a friend show me his city.
The only downside was that it ended way too quickly.
Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi John,

Thank you for your super nice review, Max will be impossible to talk to for five days thanks to you :)

I hope we'll be able to show you some more of Shanghai on your next trip or why not Xi'an or even a longer expedition in China's south western province of Yunnan!?

Take care and have a GREAT summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shanghai in 4 hours !!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This has to be absolutely the best way to see and get a feel for Shanghai - whether you only have a few hours to spend there (as in our case), or you'd like an overview of all the places to go back and see on a longer stay.
Sammy, our Guide, was an excellent driver in somewhat chaotic traffic, taking detours up smaller avenues to show us more than the main highways. Whilst covering many of the main sites of the Shanghai, he also allowed us to peek at lesser known and unusual jewels, tucked away in quiet corners of the city - stopping every now and again for us to explore more interesting places by foot - all the while explaining as we went along the history and development of such an important trading and business centre.
In all it was a fabulous experience - and a far more intimate way to see, feel, smell and explore such an exciting city ... we would recommend it to everyone as one of the "must do" things in Shanghai !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jan_jan467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Jan,

Thank you for your very kind words; you've made Sammy a very happy man (the photo's great too!)

Drop us a line when you're in the area again, we have so much more we could show you :)

Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten track - supafun”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you are looking for the full aircondition standard tour super convenient and booooring - DON'T Go there... This tour is absolutely great fun if you are looking for something different with a fun guide offering you sights of Shanghai that are only seen by locals. Will certainly vome back next year...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChairmanSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Well, all I can say is that you have a unique way of describing what we do… and we love it! Many thanks for your kind words and we very much look forward to having you on another tour in the future! See you in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Shanghaï sidecar tour”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We asked unusual aspects as we visited Shanghai before.
Luca is a perfect guide and showed as the Budhist temple, the Jewish quarter and the Slaugtherhouse. We started and finished the trip over the Bund.
It was a perfect three hour tour

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge-Grysolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Serge,

Thank you for your kind words, you've made Luca's day (and ours as a matter of fact!)

Safe travels and we hope we'll have the chance of having you again on 3 wheels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing