We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another side of Shanghai....”

Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour
Ranked #3 of 123 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore Shanghai by vintage sidecar motorbike. Recently recommended by TIME magazine, National Geographic Traveller, Vogue or ELLE Magazine across 38 countries; Shanghai Insiders offers you the most original way to venture out and explore Shanghai off the beaten tracks while quenching your own centers of interests, might it be architecture, photography, food, art, etc. Enjoy an open-air adventure comfortably seated in the side-car of a classic motorbike. Every tour is tailor made by your insider who is an expat who has been living in Shanghai for a minimum of 3 years. Shanghai Insiders is the friend of a friend you wished you had in a city you do not know. Don't forget to ask for our champagne option!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a great trip around the "hidden" parts of Shanghai that were off the beaten track. The bike ride was fun and our guide Shane was very knowlegeable and informative. My colleague, a local Shanghaiese was even impressed wiht what we saw and where we went! Impressing a local is an endorsement in itself!I would highly recommend this trip for a fun afternoon outing that gets under te skin of the city!

1  Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words Brandan, I must say we loved the photo you posted too! Shane will get a printed version of it on his desk at the end of the Chinese new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 403 of 654 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Full of surprises from the art deco abattoir to old town to the markets to an interesting view of the traffic.

The history really added colour to a great experience.Lots of places were visited that I had no idea existed ehich gave us plenty of places to follow up afterwards

1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on us, this means the world to us, I hope we'll get a chance to have you on another tour or on one of our long distance expeditions in China's most remote parts.

Have a great year of the snake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you want to get upclose with shanghai in a way that no tourbus can ever give you - this is the way to do it. Riding in a vintage motorcycle sidecar is not only out of the ordinary - it makes your experience much more visceral and real. My guide was both knowledgeable and flexible - allowing me to customize my tour while benefitting from his knowledge. I took a 4 hour tour in january - and truly enjoyed it. I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone!

1  Thank glennamca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

That's the first review we get posted through a mobile phone, and without typos! Thanks so much and see you soon on three wheels Glenn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This tour was a surprise for my boyfriend, and wow was he surprised! I would say that it is the most amazing way to see Shanghai! Our guide took us on a history tour of Shanghai from the old post office, to an abattoir that has been converted, a recently discovered war bunker, old town and through the back streets finishing up with a trip down The Bund! A definitely a must do for Shanghai!

1  Thank HkTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, high five to your boyfriend for having such good taste!

See you soon on another tour in Xi'an or Lijiang guys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nothing quite beats a ride in a sidecar through the streets of Shanghai! Our tour guide Shane was incredibly entertaining and knowledgable! No regrets :)

1  Thank Will387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyEdward, Owner at Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, Shane's just done yet another victory dance in the office...

Have a great year of the snake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Insiders-Shanghai Private One-day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing