We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanghai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CHAI Living Serviced Apartments
Ranked #2 of 753 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There were a number of things that made this place the best there is in Shanghai. First is its aunthenticity located in an apartment that houses 2000 Chinese locals. The second is the apartment that was well appointed, beautifully designed and with a great view over Shanghai. The third is its location being almost in the centre of the city while away from the crowds and main tourist spots. The forth is the service given by the wonderful Alex who is an absolute champion. Alex is the loveliest person and is perfectly suited to the job he does. He made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. I will definitely recommend this to others and believe it is the est place to stay in Shanghai. Hopefully we will return one day.

Room Tip: We were in the teapot room on floor 9 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumofharryandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarissa D, Manager at CHAI Living Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for naming us the best in Shanghai! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the authenticity, design, views, and location of CHAI Living. Alex loved having you with us, and still has the photo to remember you by! We definitely hope you will be able to come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
52
24
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early from Xi'an by train and were helped by some locals around the building at the Chai Living Gallery. Soon Alex was with us and set the scene for a great stay in Shanghai. A friendly, gregarious host, he settled us, then stored our luggage and set us out, with directions to the streets of Shanghai. On our return, we were shown to our apartment (the Teapot room) and were amazed by the comfort and attention to detail. To get to it we had to enjoy the lift and corridors of a local living complex and found the people friendly and happy. If you you can afford it STAY nowhere else in Shanghai. Amazing views, superb comfort and service, and of course the vibrancy of Shanghai. And don't forget Alex. He's a champion!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skwarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just returned from Asia and we are very happy, that we were able to stay at the Chai Living. And this for several reasons: On personal terms, Eliane and Alex were absolutely marvelous and a great pleasure to meet. Alex actually saved us, when we were off to the airport at 6 AM and closed the apartment door behind us with both keycards and one suitcase left inside. Called Alex on his mobile and within minutes he managed to wake up the lovely housekeeping lady who rushed by and helped us! The building itself is an old Art Deco apartment block and at first glance looks a bit in need of a revamp. But on second glance and on every look thereafter, it is a great experience to live in the midst of "real" Chinese people, see some old ladies doing Tai Chi in the hallway, greet someone with whom you share the elevator a second time around and actually get the impression to be recognized after a few days. No hotel could ever permit such a close cultural experience. The apartment (we stayed in "Rice Paper") was impeccably clean, comfortable and beautifully designed with lots of attention to detail. We felt very much at home from the first moment and the night-time view from the beds is breathtaking. In fact, we regretted not having been able to spend more time in the apartment during this special time when the day goes and Pudong lights up. The beds: Perfect - can't remember sleeping better at any hotel. The Chai Lounge is beautifully designed and has a special atmosphere. One can get a bite to eat and a good glass of Spanish "tinto" there. Continously attached to the lounge is a very good art gallery, run by two wonderful ladies. We had some very stimulating conversations with Ana and Agnes and they showed us some amazing pieces of modern Chinese and Taiwanese painting. Summarizing, Chai Living to us was a home away from home and an unforgettable experience, both for the room and the location as well as for the personal encounters.

Room Tip: Rice Paper if you don't need much space. Noise was not an issue, view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this lovely residence in Room #952 during our visit to Shanghai from March 28 to April 1. Carlos, Alex, and the rest of the staff could not have been kinder, warmer, and more hospitable. Although CHAI Living is set up as a residence rather than a hotel so that the staff are not on duty 24 hours (from about 10 or 11am til 10 or 11pm), during the time they are there, they take care of you with warmth, care, and smiles. And this was so for us even though they were also dealing with the opening of an exhibit at the Art+ Shanghai Gallery connected to the lounge.

As for the accommodations, the design and presentation of the room and reception area were exceptional, well thought-out, beautiful, and unique, a statement of tasteful and refined luxury and character. Room #952 is a corner suite with a living room with an expansive and perfectly-framed view over the Wusong River below and the towers of Pudong beyond, a fully-equipped kitchen, washing machine, a magnificent bathroom, a separate toilet with a heated seat, and a huge and wonderfully comfortable bed. Each night, a nice breakfast is left for you to prepare the next day.

Our only small complaint about the room was that the water pressure for the rather large bathtub and shower was a bit low. There was no phone in our room, and on one of the nights we were only left with one bath towel, but those were hardly problems, as the in-room wifi worked well so we could use Skype and the big, soft bath towel was just fine for us to share.

We also saw what other reviewers have written of the dilapidated conditions of the building and it's public areas. Generally, only one of the two very creaky and slow-moving elevators was in use at any given time, but this afforded the chance to have encounters with the every-day, local residents of the building who were often friendly. Though rundown, the building was never unpleasant to walk through, as there is such a sense of community running through it. The local residents gather for morning exercises, evening dance groups, and even sometimes for meals together.

Taxis were not difficult to hail from the north side of the building; the front desk can also call them although one must generally account for a waiting time for calling taxis in Shanghai; and a subway station and ATM's are just around the corner from the north side of the building.

Our room was easily our favorite thing about the city, and, if we were to return to Shanghai, aside from visiting friends, it would be to stay at CHAI Living again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abekonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I thought the idea of buying a couple of rooms in an old Chinese Building and converting them into Hotel rooms was very cool. As I took my luggage through the corridor I saw laundry lines, men smoking outside their rooms, fish left outside their house for their soon to be cooked dinner, this led me to a super swanky studio with state of the art interiors. It was a very comfortable stay with a great bed and it was very quite despite living in a building with other residents. And all the residents are friendly and polite. The rooms also have a view of the Bundh and the Bundh and all the fun restaurants are just a ten minute walk from the Hotel.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashinthebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sweden, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

First impression is a bit odd. "reception" in a gallery( very nice) Entrance in the building: Dirty, smelly and ugly. Hallways-pretty much the same.
BUT Once you get into the rooms/apartments-Fantastic!!!!
Beautiful, clean, elegant, fantastic view.
So forget the first impression-this place is definetely worth a stay!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antehuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want to wake up with river views in the middle of Shanghai and prefer a private home this is the place to stay. With a love for detail and quality the apartment met all our needs. We had a kitchen so could prepare our own food and we had these amazing views right from our extremely comfortable and huge bed. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#83 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,110 reviews
The Bund
Shanghai Fish Inn East Nanjing Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHAI Living Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHAI Living Serviced Apartments

Property: CHAI Living Serviced Apartments
Address: No.400, N Suzhou Rd, Zhabei Dist, Shanghai 200008, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Qipu Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 753 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHAI Living is a collection of serviced residences instead of a traditional hotel, with the combination of design gallery, art gallery and events staging. Uniquely situated within an Art Deco landmark now home to many local Shanghainese, CHAI Living offers a different perspective to Shanghai and a rare window into vast-vanishing traditional ways of life. The CHAI Living Residences are all conceptually designed apartments within the Embankment Building, offering the comforts of modern life to guests with a taste for style and sophistication. As an alternative to a five-star hotel, CHAI Living strives to offer a friendly, "family-style" approach to staying in Shanghai. We provide housekeeping and concierge services, with a member of staff on site at all times to provide 24-hour assistance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chai Shanghai Living Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing