We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
People's Square Youth Hostel
Ranked #73 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Negative
- unhelpful staff, couldn't answer basic questions about the metro, airport buses and medical facilities
-staff had limited English, seemed inept and unwelcoming
- very hard beds in dorm
- no free breakfast, common tv area, bar or restaurant as advertised
- faulty washing machine
- no lines to hang laundry, it was in a store room
- common area used as local trades smoking and drinking lounge with the manager. 
-over booked, four people had to sleep in the common area
- reception area constantly had a bad smell
- toilets unclean and smelly
- bad security, can open door to rooms without key card (wave hand in front of sensor) and dorm room by walking through the window
- AC doesn't cool the room
- all rooms on third floor up stairs ( no elevator)
- overall the hostel didn't have a social feel and would be hard to meet fellow travelers

Positives
- fast internet through the building
-plenty of showers and basins
-close to two metros and 2km from the bund
- close to ya'an road food street
- much better to stay in a double room than dorm, comfy bed with six pillows and pretty decor

Room Tip: Double room was much better than the dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    50
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
1
19
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here for a few days while visiting Shanghai.
Pros
- A short walk to the metro train station
- Bakeries nearby are great for a cheap breakfast
- Nice and clean room
- Good shower pressure
- To get in to the hallway where the rooms are, you need to scan your room card
- A folder at reception full of suggestions for places to go and how to get there

Cons
- Restaurant hardly ever had any food, although there are plenty of things offered on the menu. I wouldn't recommend eating here
-A few staff members spoke very poor English and it was hard to organise anything when they were manning the front desk
- Backpacker atmosphere lacking, not many people around & communal area was pretty much deserted

Overall a good choice!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ad413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My friend and I stayed in the dorms here. It was a little hard to find at first, but People's Square is a large, bustling place! There are a lot of rooms in this place. The rooms were spotless, with individual lockers. We met two English teachers from Hefei and exchanged stories about our experiences. The beds were comfortable and had a book light. The bathrooms were large and clean. On-site restaurant had good breakfast and good drinks, for which we used the coupons we received upon check-in. Once again, no free map of Shanghai, but we bought one for like 15 yuan.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This hostel is very clean and quite cute. It is very close to everything but that being said the street in front is packed with motor bikes and very busy. Everything we wanted to see and do in shanghai was either within walking distance or a quick train ride away. The staff were very friendly and the cafe was awesome. Lavender tea and sweet popcorn on a comfy couch was a great way to unwind after sightseeing all day.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjschiwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Perfect place to stay. Really a surprise to find a hostel like this. Not what you would expect. Everything was great and I would certainly return and recommend this place.

Find out if they're still renovating upstairs though. They start banging at 5am and do not stop until 7pm!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I stayed here for one night, intending to stay for many more, but checked out first thing I could in the morning because of how uncomfortable the place was. Shanghai is a hot city, and Im surprised this place gets any business because the rooms have no windows and no air-conditioners. The rooms are also very small and because they have no air they smell and feel stuffy. The staff I found rude and unhelpful. On the plus side the place does have a great bar, is cheap and a fantastic location, but I would advise anyone not to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megeve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#11 of 311 in Shanghai
218 reviews
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
The Bund
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
#29 of 311 in Shanghai
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to People's Square Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about People's Square Youth Hostel

Property: People's Square Youth Hostel
Address: No.35 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your People's Square Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing