We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool design, very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
europe
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super cool design, very nice hotel!”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Excellent modern cool Chinese inspired interiors. Very spacious rooms, nice equipment. GREAT black-out function, meaning the rooms have electronic screens that make the room completely dark, even when the sun is shining. Need to improve house keeping a bit, but otherwise a super cool design hotel. Location is great too. Loved that place, will book again every time I'm in Shanghai!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulipr, Management team at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us and hope the black-out function of the electronic screens managed to give you a blissful night of sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai and The PuLi very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    261
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
120
384
114
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is a designers Walhalla and a travelers ultimate place to stay. Fantastic hotel with a boutique style feel, very professional en personal service and a pleasure for the creative eye. The location is ideal near JangAn Park and Nanjing Road. The atmosphere in all areas is sensational and rooms are spacious with great showers, a ‘European size’ bath at the window and very comfy item’s like Nespresso machine, Bose Ipod station etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulipr, Management team at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to being of service to you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

A stay full of ups and downs.. or rather, downs and ups.

Let me start with the booking. The staff that handled my bookings were very good. I missed the ‘stay for 3 night pay for 2’ promo, and booked two rooms using the ordinary rate. I also wanted to change one room for a better one, a studio. I explained the situation to her, and she did it for me, in a way made the hotel ‘lose’ extra money from the 3rd night but really made the customer, in this case me, smiling from ear to ear.
That was up.
The down came from the airport pickup, the e 280 I ordered. Yes we met the guy holding the sign, who spoke minimal English and he asked ‘where is the other one?’ As I booked two rooms. Well the other one is stuck in the random inspection, so he’s about 5-10 minutes behind. He responded, ‘ok ok wait outside’ with a brief pointing gesture. Ok the pointing thing was VERY brief and by saying ‘wait outside’ I was confusingly deciding between the lower exit (for taxi queues) or the farther lower exit (for buses/vans). Well I waited at the first one, craning my neck for a e 280, after about 5-10 chilling minutes I then went back in, and found ‘the other guest’. That’s odd, he’s not with the sign guy. Ok let us wait at the second exit then, the one with the vans/buses. After another 5-10 cold minutes, we went back in to call PuLi to locate our guy and he is there, in the same spot as before, still holding the sign. So ‘wait outside’ with the brief pointing sign means ‘wait over there, away from these lines of people exiting customs and people with signs’. Ok, small language problem, he then escorted us to the e 280, which was UPSTAIRS, at the big exit. When we enter, 2 water bottles and the shanghai daily greeted us. When we arrive at the Puli, two women with black leather folders were waiting at the front door, escorting us to our rooms for a ‘check in inside your room’. Nice touch!
It was up again.
I then asked the concierge for a sim card, which he bought for me. It was 150, I gave him a 20 Yuan tip, and the card had 50 yuans of credit in it. It was not a ‘special’ number as I asked for a ‘normal’ number. Was I being cheated a few Yuans? I didn’t know, and frankly didn’t care. Daimon was the best guy at the hotel, enthusiastic about the job, a bit humorous and of course, helpful. I frowned when he asked ‘your room supposed to have a wireless phone, like a mobile phone, where is it?’
Huh? A what? Where? I dunno!
He then called a staff on the phone and spoke Chinese while he obviously looked everywhere for it. It was never found. More on this later. My Chinese sim card was ok, then I brushed my teeth and washed my face, and the sink was stuck. It was one of those minimalistic, zen type sinks and I frantically searched for a hidden button, to ‘dispose’ the water. I even shook the thing. Nothing happened. The confirmation email said 'in this 50M2 junior suite you can entertain guests without sacrificing the privacy of your bedroom' and 'you have 3 tv's, in the bathroom, bedroom and living room'. There were NEVER a living room, and a 3rd tv. Yes you guessed it, it was down again.
Funny thing though, the next afternoon I asked a staff about the sink and the phone and he told me to PUSH DOWN the shiny metallic thing at the center and it will rise up, thus allowing water to come down. And the phone is only for suites. Ok I think you should seriously somehow give a hint on the metal-pushing thing as not all your guests are young, hip and creative folks and sometimes they arrive at their room at night, tired, and just want to brush their teeth and go straight to bed. And the guest service directory should mention ‘phone for suites only’.
I tried the spa, and it was lovely. People should know that this is not one of those ‘happy ending’ spa ok, this is a legit, professional and excellent spa. You can come with confidence. Linda was a good therapist. But the worst thing that happened at this hotel was Jing’an for dinner.
I especially came to try the foie gras+meat burger (turns out they only have it for lunch), and after a nice French sounding gentlemen greeted and sat me down I was put to wait 17 minutes not for the FOOD, nor DRINKS, but for the WAITER to come so I can order food or drinks! Yes I was practically ignored for 17 long minutes with nothing, no bread, no water, nothing. I did not exist. And no, it was not a busy night as there were only 3 other tables. I sat up, left, hurt, hungry and dined at the long bar instead. Dined at a bar. Come on now! Be realistic here. I have eaten in places that see themselves as ‘luxurious’, ‘expensive’, trendy, 2 michelin stars in Asia, Europe and the US and never ever once I was ignored more than 5 minutes after sitting down. Be Realistic and put this into perspective. Jing’An is NOT one of those places. The décor is nothing ‘luxurious’, the food selection is nothing ‘spectacular’, the view is, well to a small park and the service is ahem, non existent. So why do you have to act like one? You’re no Jules Verne or louis XV for crying out loud! Even faux Nobu is better than you.
To sum it up: Room ok, nice touch with the blinds, nespresso, nice size but only 5m2 bigger than the smallest PuLi room. Staff great, some don’t speak English fluently, Long Bar is ‘ok’. Stay 3 night pay for 2 is great, although after this I won’t mind spending 500 Dollars for the Park Hyatt. Jing ‘An well, no comment, breakfast was ok, 7/10.
Certainly I was expecting more than this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cendut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulipr, Management team at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

We are working through your comments with the teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The PuLi in what we hope will be the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I love the Puli. The decor is unbelievably beautiful. The spa is fantastic, and the rooms are gorgeous. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. If there's one thing I would like to see improvement on, it's housekeeping. i don't think they are up to 5 star standard yet. While they make the beds and clean the rooms (although I still found hair in the bathroom), they don't clear up at all. They left all my clutter lying around which annoyed me, especially in the bathroom. Normally in 5 star hotels they put your toiletries together and line them up nicely. Not here. Also all the clutter that was lying around, such as phone and computer cables, they just left them were they were. Also, they didn't fill up the minibar after I had used it one day. That is the only improvement suggestion I have to management, is to bring their housekeeping up to 5 star standards. Oh, and I loved the touch of free Internet access!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulipr, Public Relations at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2010
We are delighted that you loved the rooms, completely complimentary internet access and also enjoyed the treatment at Anantara Spa.

We appreciate your feedback on the housekeeping experience and rest assured that this has been looked into. No more clutter on your next visit with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

this newly opened hotel has by far the most beautiful lobby, it's more a living-room,
with a 32 meter long bar, where also you will find the front-desk.
the concierge and his team are extremely good, very helpful, with a lot of knowledge
about the interesting parts/things in shanghai.
they even arranged a bellboy to drive us with our own car to the Grand Theatre
and also did us pick up again after the event has been finished.
many thanks to Eddie and his team, great job!
service is till now not perfect, but charming, we personaly prefer a friendly and
smiling service more than a may be perfect.
the only point we have not been happy with has been the restaurant, a very special
concept, but not really impressing, and all that for very high prices.
the wines are upcalculated with a minimum of 300 %, even for Shanghai not usual.
the breakfast offers very limited choices at the buffet, disappointing!
also the offers a la carte are limited, means overall: there are in our mind a lot of things
to do that the restaurant-offers can match the other, really wonderful points at PuLi.
we had two more dinners outside PuLi, one has been just opposite of PuLi at
Bali Laguna, just a walk of about 8 minutes, mid in the Jing An Park, indonesian food,
good value for money, needs reservation.
another one has been the "Issimo" at Jia-Hotel, the best origin italian food we have
found till now in Shanghai, very nice decorated and most important: a very engaded
and friendly staff, we had the pleasure to be served by Ticky, thanks Ticky for your
service, so we could enjoy this evening a lot!
Overall: the PuLi is a very nice place to stay, with the hope that the not so well points
will improve in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richter0571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulipr, Public Relations at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
We were delighted to assist you with a trip to the Grand Theatre and glad that you enjoyed the friendly interaction with Eddy and the team at The PuLi.

Our hot food during breakfast is prepared when ordered and I hope you managed to order some of those delicious eggs benedict, Asian or western sets. We will improve on the communication to guests during breakfast so they are aware of the wide variety available and hope you will come back again to try the 3 breakfast options we have – at the restaurant, in-room dining or breakfast-to-go, all of which are included in the rate plans. Imperfections and feedback are our tool to perfection, we will most certainly look into your feedback as areas for improvement and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Truly 5-star. The rooms are amazing. Very intimate, great design. We’re not really sure there’s any better way to kick back in Shanghai than a hot bath overlooking Jing’An park, watching a DVD from the tub! The shower was also a gem. And the service was impeccable throughout the hotel (rooms, gym, restaurant, bar, check-in) for our entire stay.

Since we live in Shanghai, we went to the PuLi for a 24-hour getaway. And the hotel really only fell short of our hopes in two areas:
1) The restaurant. The food was good. But at those prices, it should be a tonic for eternal youth.
2) The pool area. The pool water was simply too cold! Plus you had to cross an icy footbath on the way to and from the locker rooms – even the heated tiling in the pool area and locker rooms couldn’t compensate for how horrid that was on our toes. The hot tubs are separate (male/female) and were tepid at best.

Other pros: It was all so equally good…

Other cons: Nope, really just the cold water… (Making the Long Bar non-smoking wouldn’t hurt the “spa” image either.)

Verdict: A must-visit if they keep their pricing structure as is. We’ll be back if they assure us that the pool will be above 21°C and that the hot tubs will temporarily turn us into lobsters!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank destroubadours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulipr, Public Relations at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
We are glad you enjoyed the weekend getaway with us and hope to have you back for many weekends to come in 2010!

Thank you for your feedback to the temperature of the pool and footbath and we are currently looking into this. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and pool on a much "warmer note" on your next getaway with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the whole world
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Visited a friend who stayed there and had a drink at the bar. Very, very stylish. Rooms are very elegant, although rather small bed. If ever again in Shanghai, I would stay there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlicheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulipr, Public Relations at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
We hope to have you back at the Long Bar very soon and also stay with us in the coming 2010.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing