We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$301
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$436
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$301
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$162
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$154
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveler rating
1,235
277
40
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,235
277
40
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsurban resortjing'an parkcomplimentary mini bargrand roomnespresso machinefrench concessionbutler servicebustling citydark woodstylish hotelsteam roompark hyattlobby areaamazing hotelmetro stationrooms are largevisiting shanghai
Filter
Updating list...
1,113 - 1,118 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Great new hotel in the Jing An district of Shanghai - next to the park

Great decor - antique Asian style

Fantastic service

Amazing pool and spa area

Fabulous food in the restaurant + great breakfast buffet + very good wine selection

Library off the lobby which was great for relaxing

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed at this wonderful hotel from Oct 17 to Oct 21. Check in was very efficient and we were given a city facing room. A host of the hotel accompanied us to our room and talked about the facilities within the hotel and explained how everything worked (ie. cappuccino machine, safe, etc). We were pleasantly surprised that all drinks in the room were complimentary. As described with their web site the rooms were very large and well appointed. Top of the line finishing was noted through out the suite (ie. Villeroy and Boch sinks and toilets). According to my wife, the dual ionizing hair drier worked well. The bed was comfortable and a variety of pillows were available. The water pressure was good for all the water fixtures. The flat screen television was mounted on a swiveling bracket so the TV could be moved to face most areas of the room. The writing table was well equipped. There were plenty of closet space to store your second suit case and any other items that you may have accumulated during your travels. As there is construction on the East side you do hear a little noise in the evening. We were moved to the West side (Garden facing) of the hotel on our last 2 days and the noise issue was resolved. Service by all staff members was excellent. Staff were always able to full fill any requests made and did so with a smile. The business center had free use the internet on the Apple computers and even had bottled water at each station. The sanitation of the rooms and the property was excellent. If breakfast is included, you order a hot meal a la carte with a cold meal buffet. Although people recommended other hotels located in more popular areas I have no regrets staying at the Puli. The Puli is only located a short 3-5 minute walk to the Ji Ann Temple station. Overall, the Puli is one of the best for service and for the facility.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

After a very delayed flight into Shanghai and a terrifying taxi ride from the airport, the combination of which left us worse for wear, we arrived at The Puli at 1am. And we promptly felt a whole lot better! The bellboy opened the door, the manager in charge was there to greet us and the concierge was waiting with a bouquet of roses that reminded my wife of her wedding bouquet. We were upgraded and, as they knew that our stay was part of our honeymoon trip, chocolate truffles and a bottle of Moet and Chandon were waiting for us. To make a long story short - the lobby is breathtaking, the room gorgeous, the staff is exceptionally well trained, and nothing is too much trouble (we had someone helping us to choose between their 5 pillow options, and with good humor). The swimming pool is brilliant; first indoor infinity pool I've ever seen. The hotel manager made it a point to introduce himself to us and seemed to be around much of the time. The whole place had a very personal feel and the management and staff really put in the effort to make us happy. It is such a difference from a typical chain hotel experience.

The concierge desk is quite impressive. All of the staff there really know what they are talking about and are ready to recommend anything you might need in Shanghai. They use a very cool computer system to show you exactly where things are located in the city. If you come to enjoy nightlife in Shanghai, the person you should know is Chris from the concierge team. He knows what you need even when you have trouble explaining it. He managed to get us into a members only club, which is apparently the place to be in Shanghai, where we had quite a good time.

I am really trying hard to find something wrong about this hotel... The one thing is that the cocktails at the bar were not up to par. But while we were there, we did see a gentleman training the staff in the art of cocktail mixing, so I don't doubt this will improve.

We typically favor boutique hotels for their personal service. The Puli is a great combination because it certainly provides the individual attention, but it is a large hotel with all the amenities you might need. I would recommend it for business and pleasure, and I definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Just returned from a week in China where we stayed in the brand new Puli Hotel & Spa. If you don't need Bund view and view of Pudong Skyline the location of the Puli in the Jing An district is excellent. The Metro is around the corner, a nice chinese park and temple behind the hotel and excellent shopping/nightlife within easy walking distance (5-10min). Don't worry about the contruction side opposite the hotel (building of 2 new Shangri-la hotels) -ask for a room with park view - because in this city there is construction everywhere (area around Park Hyatt and Grand Hyatt is a desaster and the Bund is closed the next months due to refurbishment). Back to the Puli - you enter the Lobby through a pathway with water and chinese Art and in the Lobby you immediately feel completely out of the bustling city. Candles, quiet music, water and dark wood with a completely new atmoshere. (Forget JW Marriott and Four Seasons, think about Aman Hotels) - this is the style of the next decade. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are just great - bathroom and bedroom combined but easily to be separated by a sliding wall, huge rain shower, bathtub with city views, LCD TV with DVD, BOSE sound system and a comlimentary minibar with Nespresso machine. The SPA is also great, especially the huge indoor pool (5x25m) with daybeds and views....you will never go to another hotel in this city,

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MH-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Although this hotel is not open as yet, the interaction I've had with the staff there has been nothing but pleasant. We had reserved a room for this past weekend but the hotel did not open in time so they very generously compensated us by arranging a room in another nearby hotel, paying for our breakfasts, offering us free pick-up and drop-off services, free minibar, etc. They also sent us a hand-written letter apologizing and the director of sales visited us at our chosen hotel to apologize. The level of service we have encountered so far leads me to believe that a stay there will be very pleasant and I look forward to it in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank kurashikisuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews