We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I do not have anything but great things to say about this graceful, classy, peaceful oasis in the center of Shanghai. It really feels like an escape from the chaos of China. Impeccable service, beautiful rooms, great gym. Fantastic - look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SABBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor post your stay with us.

We are humbled by your words of appreciation for our peaceful oasis in the centre of Shanghai. It is indeed an escape from the Chaos as you so rightly put it.

We are glad to know that you were pleased with our rooms, the gym facility and thought that our service was fantastic.

My team and I look forward to your next visit with us.

With Kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    244
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
112
368
108
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here almost a year ago, but after visiting so many other "5 star" properties around Asia, this is by far one of my favorites! We stayed at the Puli for 10 days before permanently moving to Shanghai, and although this review is very overdue, every time I pass this hotel I want to go back! The location is next to a metro line, across the street from a large shopping district, as well as walking distance to the former French Concession area where you can find many restaurants, cafes and boutiques. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated, have excellent bathroom products, and most importantly - a comfortable bed (if you travel around Asia, you'll understand). I also should mention that the bathtubs have a great city view that makes for a very relaxing evening. Housekeeping always cleaned and replenished the room nicely, and other than one incident with a host during breakfast one morning, the rest of the staff was cordial and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here! We no longer stay in hotels in Shanghai since we live here, but we've been back to their Garden Terrace bar for drinks, and would also highly recommend making a stop there as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your lovely review on trip advisor.

My team and I are thrilled to know we were your home last year before you found yourself a residence in Shanghai.

I was very happy to note that you found our urban resort to be conveniently located in the heart of action and easily accessible via the metro.

It is always encouraging to hear compliments on our accommodations especially our bathtubs with a view ,comfortable beds and even more about our housekeeping team's friendly and efficient level of service.

Having an outdoor Garden Terrace is also a rare commodity and with the weather being so kind I could not agree more, it is the place to be. Thank you for recommending our urban resort and my team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back whenever you make a pit stop here.

With Kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baranzate, Italy
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

i visite shanghai every month for one week and i always stay at this hotel: every single detail is taken with a lot of attention, the sensation is to be hosted in a non-urban/business hotel although many italian business people stay here. I changed only twice in the last 2 years visiting once the Waterhouse on the Bund ans the Shangri la' but i was disappointed. Choose the "club room" which includes 24hrs butler, free laundring service, complimentary menu at the bar on the bottom floor and 20% discount on the SPA (must visit)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide such a wonderful review of your stay with us.

I am so happy that you have found the PuLi to be your hotel of choice in Shanghai and am delighted that our service and facilities are to your liking. Especially our Club benefits they truly represent such great value and choice. Thank you for appreciating the level of commitment to the minutest detail. The reason why we have such a loyal repeat guest ratio is the fact that we focus our energies in being guest centric.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and friendly service delivery and I am thrilled that we were successful in achieving this with you.

Our Butlers team and I look forward to your return visit next month and remain,

With Kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Ok; this is going to be my place to be in Shanghai. Perfect service excellent location and rooms. Good breakfast but expensive. Search until you find a good rate. And believe me choose and option with breakfast included. If you stay good part of the day or was here at the middle of your trip; they have a good packages for a reasonable rate for they include extra / but at the beginning of your trip or you be out of the hotel all day doesn't make sense. All you can find on your rooms bar is free or included on your rate. Definitely a luxury hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TA following your stay with us at The PuLi.

We are happy to note that The Puli will be your place to be whenever you are in Shanghai. We have some great promotions and packages ongoing as you rights pointed out and booking in advance will give you the best advantage.

I am very happy that your keen eye enjoyed both hardware and software and that the entire team at The PuLi was able to deliver.

We look very much forward to having you return in the near future and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B.Tibaldi

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Branded as an “urban oasis” in the heart of Shanghai, The PuLi manages to successfully achieve a feeling of serenity that is difficult to find amidst the bustle of China’s largest city. Similarly, the interior design is a departure from the collective style usually associated with conventional luxury hotels—while the hotel is undoubtedly Chinese, it could almost pass as a resort in South East Asia. This, along with a fully equipped gym, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, infinity pool, and spa helps to create a new, unique guest experience that makes The PuLi a blissful escape from an otherwise hectic city.

While the physical attributes of the hotel are impressive, it is the service provided by the well trained staff that truly sets this property apart. I found the front desk and concierge teams to be incredibly efficient and great at following up on reservations and tours. The team at the hotel restaurant, Jing'an, were equally attentive and accommodating, especially at breakfast. After spending a few weeks traveling around other parts of China with only basic Mandarin speaking skills, it was a tremendous relief to stay at a hotel with a strong English speaking staff.

Although you certainly have your choice of lovely hotels in Shanghai, I would encourage trying something different than your basic, luxury hotel chain. As a boutique hotel with a strong emphasis on service, The PuLi truly offers a rare and wonderful experience for anyone visiting China.

Room Tip: Reserve a room that overlooks Jing’An park/ Jing’an Temple (these are odd numbered rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piperstremmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I very much appreciate your comments posted on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The PuLi.

I am delighted you chose to stay at our urban oasis and I am very pleased that all our colleagues were able to deliver the high standards of quality service during your stay with us making it an unforgettable experience .

It is always gratifying to read that pretty much everything within your stay was such a success - from the hotel's ideal location, great interiors, lovely spa and superb service by the team. We lay tremendous emphasis spoken English training, so glad to see it has been fruitful.

The Front Desk, Concierge and the Jing’An restaurant team will be truly flattered with your kind words of encouragement.

All team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to our calm environment in midst the hustle and bustle of Shanghai in the near future and hope to offer another rare and wonderful experience.

Kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel in a club room and have to say it is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The staff are excellent in all areas of the hotel and the value for money with the club benefits is unbelievable . The rooms are very well appointed and spotless with excellent amenities and touches such as a full size powerful hair dryer - something that seems to allude many 5 star hotels. The breakfast is great with buffet items and also cook to order.

Room Tip: Make sure you book club
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pekingese65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you took to write such a wonderful review on TA following your recent stay at The PuLi.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Club, made the most of the Club benefits and that our butlers were able to ensure you were as comfortable as could possibly be.

My team will be happy to read that you loved the spotless room and enjoyed the breakfast offering especially teh cook to order.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our calm environment in midst the hustle and bustle of Shanghai in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Puli Hotel demonstrates excellent hardware: beautiful lobby and restaurant, great rooms, tasteful in every aspect. Furniture and colour combinations have been chosen carefully and architectural design is one of Shanghai's best. Software, however, is average, when compared to hotels like Grand Hyatt, Shangri-La or Park Hyatt in Pudong (which I stayed before frequently). Examples are: During breakfast you would not be asked much of your choice of seating preference. You would finish your first course and put your cutlery onto the plate. Yet, it will be taken off and you can enjoy your second course with the same dirty fork and knife. Another one: I ordered one double shot whiskey. What I got were two double shots. I accepted them. Then I got a call from room service. Asked me whether they should correct. I said is ok as it was delivered already. Then they still send someone with a revised bill, and wanting to pick up another glass. Rather annoying... I told them to keep the two glasses as I did not want to be bothered. A classy hotel would have just taken one glass off the bill and that's it. Another negative experience was the afternoon cleaning. If you want to rest for an afternoon nap, this hotel is not for you. The cleaning personnel is extremely loud and even after requesting some noise reduction, it was like they were in the room... On a positive note, the reception is quite professional. What I also did not like that much was that the coffee shop area at reception is completely full all the time. And it appears that it is full from outside guests. There is no spare seat for hotel guests, it's come first, serve first. Overall strong hardware but I would return back to Grand Hyatt in Pudong, other than for the great location in Puxi's area of Shanghai. Ending on a positive note: If they can get their service up, the hotel would be one of Shanghai's strongest, given the hardware choice.

Room Tip: I had an odd numbered room with king size bed. Good views and a nice bench at the window for relaxat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 668frankh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The PuLi.

I am very happy to read that you appreciated the design of our lobby, rooms and public areas in general.

In regards to your feedback on Room Service please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience rendered to you. Your timely feedback helped us take corrective action.

Our long bar is open to resident and non-resident guests and is indeed very popular.

Rest assured, your feedback on has been taken in the spirit intended and if ever you are planning to return to Shanghai, my team and I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#178 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing