We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Not sure what else I can add to other posts - this is how it should be done and probably our best stay in a luxury hotel over last 15 years. What sets the hotel apart is the service - you get made to feel special. Every single member of staff provided great service but special thanks to Lyon in the Long bar and also to the manager, Jan who took time to chat with us a couple of times to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The list could go - thank you to everyone involved in making this a memorable visit and cannot recommend highly enough. We had a Club room which was great - the choice of snacks and drinks in the bar is brilliant. Our friends live in Shanghai and therefore know other top hotels - they thought the Puli was a class apart and that Jan was charming.

For us the hotel was in a great central location, you can easily walk to the French Concession area and the hotel is a couple mins from the Metro which we found great way of getting around quickly especially as taxis get very busy particularly early evening. You probably could walk to the Bund but would be a a good 40 minute walk so recommend either a taxi or the metro which has stop 5 mins walk away. Also recommend M on the Bund for dinner and drinks at the Glamour bar.

Overall a great 6 nights in Shanghai made truly memorable by choosing The Puli which we only discovered due to tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to know you had such a fantastic stay and that the entire team was successful in ensuring you had a memorable visit.
Lyon in particular at the Long Bar and of course all other colleagues will be very pleased to know that they made lasting impressions with their exemplary service attitude and aptitude.

We are happy that you took advantage of the Club room package and benefits and that the accommodation, amenities and included services were to your liking.

I was also glad to know that you took full advantage of our central location, thus making it so much easier to explore Shanghai's sightseeing and all.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
There are newer reviews for The PuLi Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Puli is the best city hotel I have ever stayed at. Would recommend it to anyone. Both the hard (rooms, public areas) and soft products (service) are amazing. The hotel design is quite different from your typical American style luxury hotels, with a more simple and understated luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time and efforts in writing such a great review on TA following your stay.

I am abolutely delighted to note you had such a memorable stay and that you have rated us to highly.
The reason why we have such a loyal repeat guest ratio is the fact that we are not "just another business hotel" but that our urban resort is all about being guest centric, design-, amenities-, sense of place specific, represent value for money and having such a great location.
And as you so rightly put it: With a more simple and understated luxury.

Thank you for recommending The PuLi and my team and I look forward to be of service again in the near future.

Best regards
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Loved the presentation and design of this hotel: the reception/bar is stunning and our room was fabulous. We had a room service breakfast which was fine Staff were helpful but the boy trying to hail cabs was a little bit ineffectual. Location is good, within easy reach of the tube station but it's possible to stroll to The Bund or the French Concession from here if you like walking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoingMyBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for posting your review on TA following your stay with us at The PuLi, much appreciated!

We loved the fact that you loved the presentation and design of our hotel - from the stunning Reception/Long Bar, to our fabulous guest rooms.

I can fully understand that during peak times it can be quite challenging for our bellstaff to hail taxis from the street as there just aren't enough taxis around in Shanghai.

I am very happy to note that you enjoyed our location, next to the tube and just a short drive to the Bund or the French Concession and major sightseeing points.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Where to begin? We didn't want to stay in a soulless, corporate hotel and I had read in Conde Nast traveller about the Puli. We booked straight away and we're beyond happy with our choice.

Every detail was immaculate. The staff on the whole we're helpful, charming, spoke a good level of English and we're highly professional.

The housekeeping must be some of the best we've ever encountered. The rooms are exceptionally well planned and comfortable. We loved the way the Puli give you enough towels - such good foresight. The minibar is free which is a really nice touch as well.

The English plugs in the room are so useful - just another on the long list of things that have been carefully thought of and provided.

The swimming pool is beautiful - you never feel like you're in a massive skyscraper, the whole design is so chic and elegant - the lighting is particularly well done.

My spa treatment with Emily was blissful. She was incredibly professional and it was a really relaxing hour - very overpriced in my opinion £120 for an hour with tax, particularly compared to other luxury hotels around the world.

We checked in with ease and we were gifted a bottle of champagne as it was my birthday! It was a lovely and unexpected surprise - it was a total pleasure to spend my 30th birthday in the Puli.

The breakfast is quite expensive for what it is but not a deal breaker. I would highly recommend this gorgeous retreat of a hotel - it is supremely comfortable and we are sad to move on!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PidgeonWife6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Wow, what can I say - thank you so much for your wonderful write up following your birthday stay at The PuLi.

My team and I are equally delighted to know that you were beyond happy with your choice!
I fully conquer with you - "The proof is in the pudding!"

The entire team, especially the housekeepers, will be happy to know that their hard work is paying off and has not gone unnoticed.

It is always rewarding for a hotelier to receive constructive feedback and praise where praise is deserved.

I am also pleased that you were able to take advantage of our great pool and Spa services during your visit. Emily will be very happy when I share your comments with her.

Please do not wait for another year until you come back to celebrate another birthday and thank you for recommending our retreat.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

In my view this is the best hotel in Shanghai (and I stayed in a lot). Although it is a fully grown hotel it still has a boutique feeling. The design could be best described as contemporary Chinese and is (in my view) simply beautiful. The rooms are spacious, well designed and well equipped (e.g. Bose sound system, Nespresso machine). Small, but very good breakfast - partly made to order. Gym is a bit small, but well equipped, nice pool.
Conveniently located in Jing'an - one of the busiest parts of Shanghai with plenty of food options and directly on top of a subway station.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Limecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
I really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The PuLi - thank you so much!

I am very happy to note that we are your hotel of choice in Shanghai and that you enjoy our beautiful urban resort feel, from the spacious and well designed and fitted guest rooms to the breakfast spread, our nice wellness facilities to our great location.

My team and I look forward to your next visit and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a good combination for holidays: visiting a big crowded city and spending time and quite moments in this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and the service met our expectations. The swimming pool area is very restfull.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to have read your TripAdvisor comments following your recent stay at The PuLi - Thank you very much for the time and effort in doing so.

Indeed, our hotel is somewhat of a resort in style, location and service delivery - having the lungs of nature right next to us with the Jing An Park adjacent gives us a quiet and peaceful character within the hustle and bustle of a crowded city.

It is always nice to hear from our guests that they were able to relax, enjoy and play at our urban resort and appreciate the hospitable team members who are eager to please.

We look very much forward to having you return in the near future and remain,

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Full marks for the doorman (Checked the taxi receipt that we weren’t overcharged) to the front desk that checked us in (early and upgraded to the rear Jingan park and Temple view) and the on the ball concierge who had the information about our evening Acrobat show tickets to hand.
Concur with all the other positive comments previously posted. Three things stood out for us. The high ceilings in the bedrooms enhanced the very spacious feeling and the genuine good sq footage given. The inclusion of identical wash facilities for both you and any partner added to the personal feel too and was very practical both for storage and in use in the mornings and evenings. Finally the complimentary minibar was restocked each day (unlike some other hotels we have stayed in where it is sneaky on the basis of “for the stay”.
We didn't use the gym or breakfeast facilities. Tip- the building next door has a small convenience store for juices sandwiches etc and on the other side several small cafes.
Location wise- very pleasant during the day and felt safe at night- surrounded by upscale named stores and attractively decorated and lit boulevard leading to Peoples square.
Highly recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation and encouragement. I am glad that you had a memorable stay.

I am especially grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the team, in particular our doorman and concierge. At The PuLi, we are committed to providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

3 key elements are essential in a hotel, Height, Light, Space and if you can match that with service and great amenities such as the complimentary mini bar, then you truly have a winner!

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#182 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $294 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing