We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I recently spent 3 days in Shanghai - the hotel was beautiful, the staff was excellent, and the room was great. I had breakfast there two day and it was wonderful and fast. The room was comfortable with stunning views.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such excellent comments following your recent stay at The PuLi.

I am pleased to know you had such a wonderful and comfortable experience and I will certainly share your kind words with all our team members so that they can see that their efforts are much appreciated..

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
There are newer reviews for The PuLi Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

A very stylist hotel right next to a shopping center and metro.

The room is slightly smaller than other hotels in Shanghai, so the room has adapted an open design. For those who wants to share the room with a stranger, there might be a privacy issue. And due to its design, everything is hiding inside cupboards, which makes it inconvenient to navigate or use the equipment like the kettle.

I also find that the lighting design in the room is bad, there is no master switch, before I go to bed, I have to switch off several lights individually.

The breakfast is semi-buffet style, given the limited range of food choice, I find that the breakfast is quite costly.

It is a generally good hotel given its location, friendly service and cleaniness. However this is not a hotel for those who expect the same level of quality from an international 5 stars chain.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Musesilvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments posted on TripAdvisor following your stay at The PuLi in December.

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and rest assured, your valuable comments have been taken in the spirit intended.

Our room size is very much in line with all of the luxury hotels in Shanghai and all of our rooms offer privacy sliding partitions between the bathroom and bedrooms.

My team and I hope to have the pleasure of your return in the near future.

Until then I remain,
With kindest regards

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel has a great vibe overall: modern international natural chic, with great interior architecture. It's spotlessly clean and the staff is attentive, if not overly friendly.
The rooms have an open layout with tubs in the room. The beds are very comfortable. There's room to do work in the rooms, as well as free mini bar and snacks and fruit and water.
The pool / sauna / steam room / hot tub and gym are included.
The spa is run by Anantara, which speaks for itself.
The breakfast is pricey but well worth it as it is a great mix of eastern and western foods.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randygoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Your comments posted on TripAdvisor were very well received - thank you for taking the time to summarize your stay!

It is always a great pleasure to receive such great accolades from our guests such as your fine self.

The entire team works very hard to ensure a very high service standard is maintained - from the time you walk in to your check-out and farewell.

We are very fortunate to have such a great location with JingAn Park next door and when you are able to match this with great service, international chic, great interior architecture, comfort and all the other great points you mentioned, then you have the "total package" for success.

I hope you will give us the pleasure of returning to our hotel with an overall great vibe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have just spent a week at the Puli. It is simply the best city hotel I have ever experienced. I have stayed in 5 star hotels in many capitals and the Puli is really that good. The design is superb. The atmosphere is spot on. The staff and service is faultless, but not a pretentious or over the top. It is just right. In a bustling busy city like Shanghai, the Puli is a wonderful oasis. I cannot recommend it more.

Room Tip: Top floors club rooms facing west onto Jing An temple have amazing views of the city
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

I very much appreciated you taking the time to comment so graciously on TripAdvisor following your week's stay at The PuLi.

It is always gratifying to read that your experience was such a great one, from the design to the atmosphere and most importantly, that the staff was faultless in their unpretentious approach in ensuring that our guests are so well looked after.

I do hope you will come back to Shanghai's bustling city one day soon and in the meantime,
I remain,

With kindest regards from the wonderful oasis as you so kindly put it.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Although I was very unlucky with the weather in Shanghai, my choosing THE PULI Hotel and Spa was the best decision. Aside from its perfect location, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. My room had a beautiful view on the park.
From home, I booked a day tour with driver and guide to see Shanghai as well as a trip by train to Nanjing with a guide picking me up at the train station Nanjing. The hotel organized these two trips perfectly with very nice and interesting guides.
So all in all: wanna go to Shanghai?? Stay at the PuLi!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read your nice comments following your stay with us at The PuLi - thank you for taking the time to post your great review on TripAdvisor.

Yes, unfortunately this time of the year can be a little tricky when it comes to sunny days....

I am very happy to read that despite the weather you were able to make the most out of what Shanghai has to offer and that my concierge staff were able to tailor make your sightseeing and visits exactly to your liking.

My entire team and I look forward to having the pleasure of your return to Shanghai in the near future and most certainly, we will be luckier with the weather!

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

was one of the trips where only phuket and my brothers wedding was plan but had to get to shanghai at some point for Biz...

and well found my self via Chinese whispers @ the Puli!!!'

I give it my patented @ thumbs Up!!!

Met some great peeps who work @ the puli and some great peeps who were staying @ the Puli.

Love it found myself in room 1011 my birth date which was kind of twilighty zone but good business ensued and some unexpected business too one three fronts from random run ins with peeps about the hotel!!!

lets just say i have found another home away from home!

Room Tip: Say Hello to random hotel guests and staff and who know what may become!!! Kinda like the mentos...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Wow, what a fabulous review - thank you very much for your very kind words of appreciation.

I am delighted your trip to Shanghai was such a successful one, both from a business and personal note.
And to have matched your d.o.b. with your roomnumber - what a coinsidence and good omen it turned out to be!

As a hotel, we pride ourselves in the fact that our guests feel at home and have a sense of luxury being offered to them without being intrusive.

At The PuLi, all colleagues make every effort to maintain the high standards of quality service delivery and I am delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay with us.

All team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to your new “home away from home” in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The service was very good and attentive. The housekeepers were great; infact the housekeepers are probably the best in Shanghai. They are very polite and always with big smile. They sincerely and graciously apologize if they make any small mistakes.

The room was great. It is very surprising that the hotel is over 4 years old, and still looks brand spanking new. The puddle took a bit of time to dry in the shower. This was a construction issue, not the drainage issue.

The restaurant service is again one of the best in Shanghai.

This is a hotel with a difference. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here if you are in Shanghai or you are living in Shanghai and would like to get away from it all.

Puli, you will definitely see me again!

Room Tip: I think the room looking over the park is much nicer.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danzing H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most gracious praises from your recent stay at The PuLi. I am truly honored that you think so highly of our housekeepers and restaurant servers.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations in so many ways from our warm, attentive and friendly service provided by our team members to the lovely guest room and hotel upkeep.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#184 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $293 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing