We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wished I lived here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I wished I lived here”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Puli. The overall experience is simply out of this world - excellent manners and service from the staff, from the front desk to the fitness centre. The room design blends old and modern china perfectly and the free mini bar and snacks was a great touch.

We also used their swimming pool, which was huge and heated to 28 degrees. Huge, comfortable two-person couches also lined the side of the pool.

I cannot find a fault with the Puli except that I can't stay there longer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us at The PuLi.

I am so pleased that your overall experience was out of this world, from the perfect blend of old and modern China guest room design, to the excellent and well mannered staff to the multiple amenities.

I concur that the indoor infinity swimming pool with its comfortable two-persons couches make this experience truly relaxing and inviting!

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back for hopefully a longer stay soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    256
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
118
381
111
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The best hotel I have stayed in quite awhile. We took cabs to scenic areas in town, but enjoyed the relaxed feeling of the hotel. Breakfast was complete and varied with a complete mix of foods but offered an option to order off the menu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
I really appreciate the time you took to post your nice review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at The PuLi.

My team and I are delighted your experience was such a great one and that our urban resort was relaxing.

Our colleagues will be happy to note that their hard work is paying off and we already look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon!

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Puli on my first visit to Shanghai, as it was recommended through a friend of mine.

I was not disappointed and as a hotel and urban retreat it certainly ticked every box for location, service, atmosphere and the facilities on offer. A special mention in regards to the staff who we attentive, friendly and efficient in their endeavors.

I will definitely make a point of staying at this hotel again on my next visit to this industrious and exciting city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Airey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

My team and I are humbled by your high praise and thank you for choosing The PuLi for your first visit to Shanghai.

I am truly delighted that you enjoyed our urban resort feel, location with close proximity to great sightseeing and shopping, and our relaxing atmoshpere.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests personalized and warm service delivery and I am so pleased that our entire team contributed towards your great stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to our oasis in exciting Shanghai and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Overall- the best hotel I have ever experienced. Where ever you lay your eyes- its just pure beautiful. We had the suite at 26. floor, and it was stunning- the views, the furniture the decoration. So cool-and yet so inviting. Amazingly mixture of ancient chinese culture, and ultra-modern facilities. The SPA is heaven, the pool marvelous, even the library is breathtaking.
The restaurant is really really god- the staff really really helpful. My biggest problem during these 3 days was, that I could´nt both enjoy the views from the enormous cosy sofa in the livingroom, lay in the tub in the masterbedroom(!) svim in the pool (or sit in a pool-sofa sipping a drink), using the spa, and eating in the restaurant- at the same time.... and even Shanghai is so worth visiting, it was difficult even leaving The PuLi during the day

Room Tip: Have only tried the Suite- but it is to die for, and really value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

I hope your onwards travels were smooth and uneventful.

Thank you so much for posting your most gracious review on TripAdvisor following your stay at The PuLi.

My team and I are delighted to know we were able to make such a positive impression with your fine self, both on the service and the infrastructure side of things.

At The PuLi, all colleagues make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery and I am glad that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay with us in Shanghai.

I am also pleased to note that you have appreciated our overall facilities, Spa and great food.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and all team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to your new “home away from home” in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

It's true, all the reviews are correct, the hotel is perfect.

Where do I start? The location, located in the center of central Shanghai with line 2 and line 7 subway at your doorstep, and next to the elevated highway, getting to and from the airport could not be easier. You can get to the airport is about 30 minutes guaranteed, no need to worry about traffic.

The surrounding area has really transformed itself into a shopping, dinning and entertainment hub. Sure, it may not be as organised as Xintiandi, but you won't find yourself short of places to eat and drink, especially now that the Kerry Center opposite is open, it even has a cinema (although a bit expensive at 100 RMB a ticket). Nanjing Road and the Bund are all within reach on line 2.

Now onto the hotel, the lobby is very much understated elegance, not grand, but serene and green oasis, such contrast to the urban environment outside the walls of the hotel. They have lots of art pieces adorning the hallways and walls. Check in was very smooth and was quickly shown to the elevator.

The room was comtemporary oriental design that will suit most people's tastes. Plenty of wardrobe space at the entrance and also in the bathroom, which is separated from the bedroom by a sliding partition. I really loved the position of the sofa and bath tub, which were both right next to the window, so you can enjoy the view while reading a book or soaking in the tub (which has a pillow that is specifically to be used in the bath tub, first time I've seen such pillow).

The room is so simple and minimalist, but elegant and comfortable. There's a table that doubles as a desk, with a plug panel, but because they have thought of everything, you will find a technology kit that contains the cables you need, such as video, audio cables for PC and iPad/iPhone.

You will also find a mini bar which is complimentary, so it is not fully stocked, just soft drinks and beer, and some candy.

We asked for a high floor and were given a room on the 17th floor. Normal rooms go up to the 19th floor, and then it is the club rooms upto 25th floor. The view is good on a clear day.

On the service side, they were very courteous and accomodating. We asked to change room because the controller for the blind did not work and they were very happy to allow us to view the new room and change. We did not encounter any other issues.

The only fault I could find was the internet speed was slow. It was slow even loading the hotel's own website to make a reservation. I hope this can be improved.

We really loved the hotel and found the rate to be reasonable, if you book early to get some discount.

We were so impressed, we already made another booking coming back to the hotel very soon. This is a new favorite hotel in Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your gracious and detailed feedback from your recent experience at The PuLi and I am thrilled that we provided everything you required for a wonderful Shanghai experience!

I have shared your comments with our colleagues and they are very motivated by your positive feedback

My team and I are delighted that we exceeded your expectations from the spacious guest accommodations and inspiring design, to our urban resort feel and layout, to the accommodating and courteous service provided by our team members.

I concur that our centralized and convenient location is exceptional and I am so pleased that you explored the neighborhood and enjoyed the easy public access to the major seights and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new favorite Shanghai hotel and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is one hotel that deserves an excellent rating! Stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights and regretted not being able to stay longer.

What are the pluses? Excellent service from start to finish. Beautiful ambiance...warm, cozy and boutique. It does not serve traditional Chinese cuisine but fusion style. Excellent preparation and fresh.

Room was simply furnished with clean lines...my style. Nice comfortable beds, good size room. FREE Minibar!! Nespresso machine. There were other small little things that made this hotel a memorable one. Bath salts next to the tub, good strong hairdryer, nice toiletries, power plug socket next to the beds. And the best part? Located at one of the best location in Shanghai. High-end malls around with plenty of nice restaurant choices!!!

Good job Puli!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write such a lovely review about The Puli on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to note that the hotel, ambiance and its services exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the room, layout and amenities to its fullest.

Your appreciative words have been shared with the team for whom it is a tremendous source of inspiration to deliver continuous excellent service.

Warm regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Puli Hotel and Spa sets the standard very high, in my opinion, for city-centre hotels. The rooms are large, are brilliantly laid-out, have wonderful lighting options, the bed-sheets are the softest and silkiest I've ever experienced and the free mini-bar and Wifi are just some of the superb touches that make you feel special here. Every member of staff is genuinely warm, kind and attentive, all of whom make you feel like you're their number one guest. The breakfast is delicious and the room-service experience great. But the best bit, I'd say, is the swimming pool: luxuriously long and flawlessly, elegantly designed. The gym is also well stocked with state of the art equipment. Another nice touch here, is that the entire hotel is surrounded by a small park or bushes, which gives the feeling of being hugged by nature whilst being deep in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park, higher the quieter I guess. We stayed on the 9th floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robfromnw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_B_Tibaldi_Puli, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for posting your gracious comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

My team and I are so happy you enjoyed your visit at our Urban resort and indeed, we are so lucky to benefit from having the Jing An park next to us, thus creating such a luxurious green feel withing such a busy city.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and genuine service delivery and I am so pleased that we achieved this with you.

I am delighted to read you had time to experience our swimming pool and that you liked your large guest room and layout so much with its great vistas, soft linens and amenities.

We do our best to make our guests feel special and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home. In the interim, I remain at your service.

With kindest regards,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#183 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing