We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute calm in a vibrant city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolute calm in a vibrant city”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were totally blown away by our time at the Puli. It was almost unbelievable that such a serene oasis could exist in the middle of a bustling city like Shanghai.

The lobby was inviting and soothing, as was the check-in process. Staff were perfectly attentive and friendly.

Our room was pure bliss, with every convenience catered for. Although not a suite, the room was spacious enough to include a separate seating area and dining table for 2. We especially enjoyed the many (many) lighting combinations in the bedroom and bathroom.

Room service was flawless and delicious. After spending over a week in China, our western palates were craving something familiar and the burger and mac and cheese that we ordered managed to hit the spot perfectly.

The Spa was also well worth the visit!!

Overall, we could not have asked for anything more from our time at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Our room on the 19th floor had a breathtakingly unobstructed view of the Jing'an Temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us at the PuLi Hotel and Spa.

We were truly delighted that we blew you away by the absolute calm in the middle of a bustling city like Shanghai.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the room comfort and design, the Spa and culinary services throughout your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience more bliss!

In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    263
    39
    16
    6
See reviews for
122
388
120
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at The Puli Hotel with my 13 year old daughter. From the moment we arrived the service was faultess. Our Butler Lyon gave us the choice of rooms on arrival and made us feel very special. On what should have been our last night my daughter became very ill and the staff were amazing. From bringing us toast in the middle of the night to a staff member taking me to a local supermarket in the early hours of the morning. In the morning when Lyon the Butler heard that my daughter was unwell he came to check on us and see if he could do anything. He then escorted us via taxi to a Medical Clinic. She was then hospitalised so I had to extend my stay at the hotel and again they were wonderful. When we returned to the hotel the next morning the Front Desk Manager came to our room to check on us as did the Butler Lyon. I cannot praise and thank the hotel staff more. They were caring and attentive.

The hotel was beautiful as were the pool/spa facilities, restaurant and bar. The food was also excellent, especially the afternoon tea. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a City View which was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope and trust your return trip was uneventful and comfortable.

I was extremely happy to read your complementary TripAdvisor comments following you and your daughter's stay and appreciated the time you took to describe your journey.

Thank you so much for highlighting Lyon the Butler and Kenny at the Front Desk for assisting you during the challenging situation - they will be happy to read that their assistance was so well received.

We hope your daughter is recovering well and that you will be able to come back to Shanghai again in the near future.

We look forward to having you back and wish you a nice winter in sunny Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely great hotel. Rooms great standard and spa area with pool was definitely a hit.

Free wifi and free mini bar in room which was continuously re-stocked throughout my stay.

Quite pricey drinks in the bar but that's to be expected in a hotel bar. Would def stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JetSetter095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your time and efforts in commenting on your recent stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa - Thank you very much for your generous feedback!

I was delighted to read that you had such a great time during your stay and that the overall facilities were to your liking, especially the pool and spa.

We do hope the weather back home is showing some signs of spring like recovery and look forward to welcoming you in the near future again.

With kindest regards

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here for about 3 nights during November 2012. It was quite cold and rainy at that time so i was not able to try their outdoor pool, or outdoor bar..but i really loved this hotel.

The rooms are big, the bathroom amenities are good quality, and the beds are very comfortable. Nothing really bad to say about this property. Free wifi, free water, chocolate turn down service,

The service has been very attentive and polite from the doorman, bell boy, and front desk.

I was not able to explore much of the area, but i am told it was in a good location.

i just love the interior design of this hotel.

probably the only short coming i felt was the breakfast buffet. It was just not as large in selection as other hotels, but i guess this is a boutique hotel so you cant really compare it to the shangri-la or westins and the other big chains.

overall, id stay here again if there were'nt so many amazing hotels in shanghai i want to try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neversummer1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa last November.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were particularly impressed with the overall service and the hotel design.

You will be happy to read that we have since done some changes and upgrades to the breakfast buffet.

We really hope you will come and stay with us again, despite having the choice of so many hotels in Shanghai - you must absolutely try out our pool and spa and explore the neighborhood!

In the meantime we wish you a lovely summer.
Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have stayed 2 nights at this hotel as part of our stay in Shanghai. The lobby was beautiful and the hotel was well located at the westend of Nanjing road. The Puli is a member of the Leading Hotels of the world. It is a very good hotel and the rooms are nice and well appointed. They offer a complimentary use of the minibar, but the minibar only had soft drinks and juices. This means all non alcoholic beverages. Despite, it being overall a good hotel, we would not give it the ranking of excellent mainly because of following reasons.
1) we have requested a non smoking room and we were told at time of check in that our room was a non smoking room. Once in the room, we could see that it had an ashtray and matches and I wonder for what purpose.
2) everything is very expensive at this hotel, breakfast, coffee in the lobby, laundry.
3) internet in our room was very slowly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words you posted following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa earlier in April.

The complimentary mini-bar offers juices, soft drinks, water and also beer. Wine and liquor is chargeable.
I want to point out that our pricing of all food and beverage is in line with other compatible 5* deluxe hotels.

You will be happy to read that we are upgrading our complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel in June, which will speed up things substancially.

We hope the weather in Germany is calming down soon and that spring will shine from a milder side.

Hochachtungsvoll,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here recently for 5 nights. Our son and his wife joined us. The service was terrific -- when we called down for extra hangars/soap/etc, the items were delivered promptly. The layout of the room is very open and modern; we were on a lower, non-club level floor overlooking the park. The air conditioning in the room worked well. The breakfast buffet is terrific. A Starbucks and another coffee place are nearby. The hotel is half a block from the subway which we used to travel all around Shanghai. It was very easy to catch a cab from the hotel although on Saturday night there was line of people waiting for taxis. There is an ATM next door in the business building. There are two big shopping malls -- one practically next door to the hotel and one across the street. Both had big food courts with numerous eating options including several ice cream places and a Yang's Dumpling stand. The WiFi in the room is free, usuable for multiple devices, and passable but unreliable -- we often were kicked off the network. We had one problem with the hotel which caught the staff off guard and they weren't sure what to do -- room card to one of the rooms stopped working -- problem was eventually resolved after calling in different staff but they said they had never encountered this issue -- staff said they are working on preventing this from happening to others. We would stay at the Puli on another trip to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shpap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa earlier this month.

We were delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your visit and that you were overall very happy with the service, facilities and with our excellent location. I apologize for the door lock inconvenience you experinenced; I have put necessary steps in place to avoid such reocurrance.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future again and wish you a very pleasant week.

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am lucky to stay here 4-5 times a year and love the decor in every part of the hotel. Gestures like the free mini-bar, a welcome note and chocolates waiting in the room make me feel so welcome. The bed is fantastic, making it a real struggle between the bed and the wonderful indoor pool. The pool is integrated with the spa, jacuzzi, steam room etc I regularly wake up at 6.30am to swim before my work day starts. Make some time to soak in the bath situated by the window!!
Food and service at Jing An cafe is always of high standard though you need to wait sometimes when it gets crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending with a odd number, they face the Jing An park. Even number rooms face the busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayy_wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely Trip Advisor write up following your stay with us at The PuLi Hotel and Spa.

We are so greatful for your continuous support and relly appreciate your business.

It is the little things in life that separate the great from the good and we are happy that you are acknowledging our small gestures.

We hope to have the opportunity and pleasure of serving you many more times when you come to Shanghai and can't wait to see you again soon!

In the meantime we wish you a very pleasant week and remain,

Sincerely,

Jan B. Tibaldi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,105 in Shanghai
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#186 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing