We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful escape for civilized lunch in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Peaceful escape for civilized lunch in Shanghai”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I visited the Garden Terrace restaurant at the Puli for a business lunch and found it to be a great escape from the bustle of Shanghai. The restaurant overlooks a very peaceful and green garden area and we were lucky enough to have a seat by the window.
The service is attentive and overseen by an Australian maitre d' so the local staff are kept on their toes. We selected from the set lunch menu and none of us were disappointed with the combination of flavours and great presentation of the food.
After lunch our meeting continued downstairs in the Long bar where we had cool drinks and then chose some afternoon tea. The ambience of this area is very relaxing and the decoration contemporary/orienta. As you'd expect the prices are not cheap, however the overall quality and service is worth the money you pay. I would like to return for a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goingnutsinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Gonutsinchina,

It is great to hear that your lunch experience has triggered an interest in our hotel for a stay. On the website we always have special arrangements for local and national friends for this very purpose.
Team Puli very much look forward to welcoming you back and then as a hotel guest!

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    261
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
120
384
114
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently spent 3 days at this outstanding property. From the moment you drive up the secluded drive nestled behind the large buildings you know you are in for a treat. No attention to detail is spared in this exquisitely designed property. This is not to the exclusion of comfort as every thing has been seen to from the very comfortable bed and bath that overlooks the bustling metropolis to the free minibar which is restocked every day. The concierge and staff are courteous and very helpful with excellent english.The 25 meter pool is an oasis at the end of a tiring day of sight seeing. There is a world famous spa which unfortunately we did not try . We felt the prices did not reflect Asia and were a little too high. The breakfasts and room service at The Puli were amongst the best meals we ate in Shanghai. It is a contemporary trendy Asian hotel catering to a very discerning clientele who will not be disappointed. It was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlaneurTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear glasgowflaneur,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am sure that my colleagues from Team Puli are over the moon to read that you both believe this is one of the best hotels you have stayed at. To have their hard work and dedication recognized this way is simply wonderful.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First time in Shanghai and stayed for 2 nights at the Puli. Picked this over all other hotels in Shanghai and we were not dissapointed. Stayed in a grande room I think. Room exceeded expectations in terms of comfort and decor. Would like to know who the designers were so I could get them to redesign my own bedroom. Favourite feature in the room was the bath by the window overlooking the shanghai skyline. Staff were very courteous and efficient. Was a real delight to return to the hotel have spent the day visiting the sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mr Alan S,

Thank you for letting us all know of your experiences at The Puli Hotel and Spa. Johannes Hartfuss of Layan.net in Melbourne is our designer and he is also doing our second hotel in Wuhan, Hubei. Nathan Thompson of TFB.com.au is responsible for the lighting design. A truly winning combination. I am so happy to read that you have enjoyed the results of their cooperation!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at the Puli just last week when the city temp went up to 36-37 Celsius in the daytime. The hotel room was a great refuge on a hot day given that half of the room space (I was on the Club floor) is dedicated for bath and wash. There are two sets of everything, wash basins, etc and the best part to me is the bathtub which is positioned in such a way that you could take in the city view while bathing. It's really luxurious! Minibar was also free at the time I stayed, there was also a stay 2 nights get 1 night free promotion. I agree with other reviewers that this could be a very expensive stay without promotion.

Housekeeping was not good on day 1 of my stay but it dramatically improved on days 2 and 3. As you enter the room, you will be greeted by an Asian-style wooden partition with lots of holes. I could see dust here and there on the partition when I entered but it was wiped off on the second day. For this, it could be just one off, one sloppy person, that's all. Staff service overall is excellent.

There are two reason why I wont' give this hotel a 5 out of 5:
- the only restaurant in the hotel offers really expensive cuisine with mediocre standards. I ordered cod fish which costs RMB260 but it came lukewarm with so so flavor. The restaurant is too dim for my liking and service is sparse. When they do attend to you, they are polite. In short, price to value ratio is not all that great. I went down to the restaurant viewing the menu on TV in my room, not only was the price different, so was the selection. I meant to have one of the desserts listed but the actual menu didn't have it.

- since this hotel boasts a spa theme, I tried the message and facial treatment. It was expensive but average. I am someone who have been to Bangkok like 40 times in the past 10 years so I know a good masseur when I see one. The facial treatment was worse than the massage though I did have a good rest lying down for more than 2 hours in a dark room.

I didn't try their breakfast so I can't comment. Internet is free with no password required.

Thanks for reading, good luck!

Room Tip: Location wise, it's okay. Go eat the basement of the shopping mall/department store right acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Ms VictoriaSommers,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am really sorry that we have not met your expectations in the restaurant and in our spa on this occasion. All your observations have been shared with the relevant colleagues and improvements have been made where needed.
Until we meet again!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Been here for work, amazing room, very modern decor. Had room service twice and it was impeccable even for just a ham and cheese sandwich and fries. The staff was extremely helpful especially in giving me (actually writing me in chinese all the names of the streets) directions and make sure the taxi drivers knew where to take me. Over all a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Filippo P,

Thank you for your posting. Great to read that you have had a good experience. Chinese taxi cards work very well! My favorite app for this is Shanghai Taxi Guide with listings of well known places, restaurants, shops and bars with Chinese taxi cards for the drivers. For your next trip!

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is one of the most amazing hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything oozes luxury from the minute you enter through the beautiful lobby area - which has an amazing bar/reception.

The pool and spa area is beautiful and has everything you can ask for in terms of steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi and a very long pool.

The rooms are large and decorated very tastefully. When you arrive there is a little plate of treats waiting for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEMtheDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear PEMtheDane,

Wonderful to read you have enjoyed the hotel. Affordable luxury is one of our mottos. Also for our new hotels.

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Puli, Shanghai is a urban resort style hotel situated in the Jing An district of Shanghai. The hotel is well situated near some high end shopping precincts catering for the affluents and is within walkable distance of Jing An Temple and metro station.
The interior design is minimalistic chic with a Balinese feel similar to the successful formulae used by Aman Resorts. My standard room is well designed and proportioned. It actually feels like a suite.
"Checking in" is speedy and courteous. The guest service is relatively good but some staff may require more training to improve their attention to details:-
Housekeeping should pay more attention to the correct placement of accessories to show Puli's immaculated attention to details;
If you bother to put a plate and a fruit knife on the table, pls put some fruits in the fruit bowl before the guest arrives;
Please ask your staff to showcase the array of features and built-ins technology of the room before rushing out of room;
We were here for a conference and had dinner for 12 guests or so with a set menu. But, as soon as some guests deviated from the menu and asked for salad instead of the foie gras, the service just got sloppy. While some guests got their own plate of salad, some guest had to share plate! Pls be consistent with your service offering to guests on the same table and always serve from the right and clear from the left.... Or at least be consistent with your waiting staff training! (The foie gras was good and the confit de canard was well balanced but my overall meal + service experience would be a 7 out of 10.
Despite the above, I had a lovely stay at The Puli and look forward to returning to this lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Use your Amex Platinum or Centurion for a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funky_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear funky-sydney,

Thank you for your posting and comments. Well noted your observations and all have been addressed.

Best regards,
Martijn van der Valk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing