We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

What a fantastic experience. From arrival to departure we were pampered and taken care of. Our room was a suite and had a wonderful view over the park and on out to the amazing skyline. The room was a delight with all kind of luxuries, from the toiletries, the fluffy towels the fully stocked mini bar, the one switch blinds and black out curtains – a wonderful retreat from the fast paced Shanghai city. The staff team is remarkable; so friendly, helpful and willing to go that extra mile to make sure a guest is happy. They offered ideas of what to see, how to get there, and equally important what to avoid. They are a huge reason why this is such an outstanding hotel at which to stay. As for the hotel facilities - simply brilliant; the long bar is fun, active and the bar staff are very engaging – striking the right balance between chatting and allowing us to enjoy the atmosphere; the all you can eat Sunday brunch is stunning – the food was delicious, one of our favourites was the soy beef noodles, which were jumping with flavour, but how amazing to mention that you can’t eat deserts because of an egg allergy and to have the chef cook you a special desert - chocolate on chocolate – now I understand the fascination chocolate desert lovers have with desert!! All that said, the clear winner for me is the Spa – the signature spa treatment was out of this world, I have had spa treatments in many places and in many countries and this one by far was simply the best. All told an amazing time, strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Check if they have rooms with a view over the park, we loved our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spatriplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Spatriplover,

Thank you very much for your review. Our colleagues at the Anantara Spa were delighted to learn that you have enjoyed their services, especially since you have had so many during your travels!

Great to read also that you have enjoyed my colleagues' helpfulness. They are truly happy to hear this. Since 1 in 3 of our guests return to the Puli -for that reason it would seem- we wish to be able to welcome you back again too, in what we hope will be the not too distant future.

In the meantime happy travels and very best regards also from Team Puli.

Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    261
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
119
383
113
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I am a repeat guest...it's always a great experience. Convenient location, great decor and atmosphere, nice breakfast and brunch, great pool/gym/health centre.
great value and much classier than other 5 star hotels in town, highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkgnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for review Mr or Ms NDHKG from Hong Kong. Good to read that you continue enjoying The Puli Hotel and Spa.

We understand you have many accommodation choices in Shanghai and even in JingAn district, and my colleagues and I are really happy that you wanted to share your consistently good experiences at our hotel with the TA readers.

Here's to many more successful stays with us!

Very best regards,
Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel is very impressive - tasteful modern design with a Chinese touch, comfortable rooms and great lobby bar. The indoor pool is very nice. The location is also excellent. Walking distance to the French concession area, one block from public transport and a temple that's a major attraction, a couple of blocks to fancy malls, and importantly, one block from where the airport bus drops you off (tip: only tourists pay for the overpriced Maglev train from Pudong - take the bus and get off around the corner from the Puli!). To top it all off, at least when we went we got a very attractive rate for the quality and location of the hotel, so amazing value as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsander1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear FSander1201,

Thank you for your review. Great to read that you have indeed fully benefitted from our location. For those who wish to venture a bit further than a stroll away from the hotel, we also have 3 subway line stations connected to the hotel.

For those TA readers traveling into the city by airport bus, let us know and we will help you with luggage!

The hotel is across the street from the bus station and around the corner from the new Reel department store on Nanjing East Road. Just circumnavigate this building on the left hand side.

Thank you for the helpful tips Fsander1201, hope many will benefit from them.

Hopefully you travels will bring you back to The Puli Hotel and Spa sooner rather than later.

Best regards,
Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I had an outstanding 3-night stay at the Puli in late May 2011. The quality of the facility and level of customer service are beyond reproach. Rooms are large, clean and the Anantara Spa onsite is worth a visit. Special recognition is deserved by Mr. Davis Xu, the best concierge in Shanghai. Just email Davis ahead of your stay and he will make it happen- tours, restaurants, clubs, whatever you need. For the money, I do not believe a higher or better level of accommodations is available in Shanghai. Location is great and taxis are easy to get if your destination is beyond walking distance. I would not think twice about staying here again if I return to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room is huge & great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Mr TomRR,

Thank you for posting a review. Davis is delighted to hear you have made full use of his recommendations, he has shared your comments with his team and I am sure they are all happy to know their hard work has not gone unnoticed.

Throughout the year we offer various special arrangements for accommodation and other services at The Puli Hotel and Spa. Our website always has the most up-to-date offers for you to consider when you book.

Hope your travels bring you back from Texas to Shanghai one day, not too long from now!

Many thanks and best regards,

Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

What a shame we only had three nights in the Puli Hotel and Spa.From check-in to check-out the service was quite outstanding.The entire staff,from the Manager Martin to the Bellboys offer a warm and friendly welcome,with excellent levels of spoken English.Everyone smiles,and none of it seems forced.The room,a corner suite,had everything we could have wanted,Nespresso Machine,Bose Sound System,one-touch blinds and a free mini-bar,to name just a few of the excellent amenities.The ambiance of the Lobby area is almost reason enough to stay here,so tranquil and yet only a few yards from the hustle and bustle of the city.The breakfast is superb,freshly cooked to order and delivered so quickly,whilst looking into the exquisite Jing'an Park.The Pool and Fitness Centre are also well suited to this marvellous facility.Given the chance,we would go back to the Puli whenever we can.In one word,wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourfourtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you, Mr fourfourtwo, for your kind words in your review.

I very much appreciate being mentioned personally, but I hope you will allow me to share the credit with my other 340 colleagues as well as with our hotel management company's directors who are of great help when keeping an eye on the quality of our services.

Great to know our team's dedication is working to your advantage.

Your online name reveals that you must be a fan of the beautiful game like me! Next time your travels bring you back to Shanghai we must try to catch up on English football on our new terrace next to the Long Bar!

In the meantime, happy travels and very best regards,

Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed for a prolonged week-end at the Puli in Shanghai. As Shanghai is a very hectic town, I did especially enjoy the calm atmosphere at the hotel, both in the lobby and in the SPA / gym. The outside bar was a nice place to take the last drink of the night. The area is somewhat off but as you anyway take a cab wherever you go in Shanghai, it does not really matter. Room was splendid with a stunning view if the city. Warmly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FDL015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Stockholm resident!

Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in order to perhaps impress you even more, also on the service side.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at the Puli for 6 nights in May, the hotel is magnificent - as soon as you walk in there is so much to take in. The design is so beautiful & we were greeted by the extremely friendly staff.

We stayed in the Junior suite which was out of this world! The room was basically an apartment which screamed luxury. The free mini bar with snacks was a huge bonus (& re-stocked everyday!). The view from our room was breathtaking as we looked over Jing'an park as well as the busy city.
The breakfast every morning was divine, so much food & tasted lovely.

We only ate in the hotel restaurant once (on our first night), the food was gorgeous - i heard they have a young Australian chief, the food was so tasty!

The hotel facilities were wonderful, i had a green tea scrub & massage on my birthday which was amazing, extremely relaxing & very professional.
The pool & spa facilities are just fantastic, the pool is beautiful & huge!

I can't imagine there is a better hotel than the Puli in Shanghai - it is one of a kind, & if i ever went back there i wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

I just want to thank The Puli (& Farrel) for making our stay so fantastic & for looking after us so well :)

We recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit China! It's just AMAZING & one of a kind!

Imogen x

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImogenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The PuLi Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Imogen,

Thank you for you comprehensive review. Great to know that you have tried all the facilities and that you had a good stay.

As much as our guests stay an average of 3 days in the city, we believe Shanghai warrants a week to soak up all that it has to offer.

Your six days were a great idea and we will always make special offers available for guests who have time to fully experience Shanghai in all its glory. Our website has the latest of the latest on all our offers.

Farrel is very happy to read that her contributions to your stay have worked out well. Thank you for letting us know!

All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks and best regards,
Martijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PuLi Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PuLi Hotel and Spa

Property: The PuLi Hotel and Spa
Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 20004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#179 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The PuLi Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. The hotel's signature 120-seat restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The PuLi Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing