We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pentahotel Shanghai
Ranked #64 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very conveniently located, good hotel. good sized rooms, Only issue I find is reception and bar are back to back without wall in between, making reception area very noisy and leaving first impression very bad. Girls for massage are waiting for you at reception area which is another negative issue about this property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekkmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. As you know, we receive lots of positve feedback about our location with 3 major subway lines on our doorstep and in between both of Shanghai's airports. I am sorry to hear you did not like the bar/reception back to back concept but hope you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere this creates. At the same time we are addressing the issue of loitering outside the hotel with local authorities and hope to resolve this shortly. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 611 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

First of all: The room was very clean, the bathroom, too, as well as the restaurant area. Food was tasty and choice good. Great air conditioning, not too noisy.

When trying to check in, a lengthy check was done in the computer and got the impression my booking had been lost. Then I was asked if I wanted a smoking or non-smoking room. Non-smoking, as booked, please. If smoking would be o.k., too. Really not?
Then I was given an upgrade to a very nice two-room apartment without further discussion.

My credit card did not work on the first day, so I paid approx. 40% of the total amount (3 nights) in cash. The next day it worked and without any information or explanation I was requested to sign for an amount approx. 10% higher than the total costs. "Deposit" was the only short explanation. Aha.

So when checking out, I asked for the refund. Refund?
No refund because I had been charged the correct amount. So I produced the booking and the receipt for the "deposit", waited for some time and then had to hand over my credit card again, no cash repayment possible. O.k. Now - my fault, I admit - after arriving home again, I realised that I did NOT get a refund for the whole difference, but only for 10% of it.

All these issues make me take off two stars, the hotel itself would have easily got five, but such money issues are really annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsLoadsEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai! I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and found the hotel to offer a good value for money concept. At the same time I am sorry to hear you had trouble with your credit card which resulted in the confusion you described. I can assure you that the hotel follows strict guidelines when it comes to financial transactions and at all times charges our guests the exact outstanding amounts without fail. I hope you will continue to be our guest and look forward to welcome you back to Shanghai soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A light smell of wetness was a first impression when we entered a room given to us. We check couple of others as the staff was kind to serve us, but they said there was a new aircon system installed recently so the smell was everywhere. They proactively offered us a mobile air purify and with time we get used to it. The other issue which was quite disappointing for taxi you should go to an adjacent huge hotel, the hotel staff doesn't order a taxi specifically for you and direct you to that taxi stand, it wasn't that inconvenient but was felt quite impolite from them. Breakfast is reasonably western but comparing to pentahotel in beijing with less options of cheese, meet and eggs. The location itself is excellent with convenient entrance to 3 subway lines right over the corner and huge shopping mall in 10 mins walk (radisson building) and infinite variations of cafés around. If it wouldn't be a smell I definitely recommend the hotel for its optimal value for money.

Room Tip: The street is quite busy one, so try to get an opposite side or a higher floor. I guess the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution. As you know, we receive lots of positve feedback about our location with 3 major subway lines on our doorstep and in between both of Shanghai's airports. Thanks also for your observation about our value for money concept, good breafkast and relaxed atmosphere. I am sorry you experienced a damp smell in your room, something we have addressed and subsequently fixed. I will discuss your problem getting a taxi with the team and make sure our Associates are more helpful in future. I hope to continue having you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My third time at the Pentahotel proved a consistent customer service experience. The staff does everything they can to make you feel comfortable and appreciated. They offer complimentary bikes on loan and have a nice route of the neighborhood you can check out. Excellent hotel to unwind in with dart board and pool table available in the evening for late night gaming. Hotel is a fairly quick taxi ride from most places near the center of Shanghai. My company also hosted a meeting here and the group found the facilities and restaurants to be top notch for the event.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you have special needs. They are very proactive about setting things up in advance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpaufler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our associates to be helpful and friendly and our location convenient. I am also very glad you used our complimentary pentabikes and found the neighborhood tips useful. I will most certainly share your positive remarks with the team here and we hope to continue having you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stay in this hotel each time in Shanghai.

The hotel location is convenient, close to MTR station.

The Cantonese restaurant upstairs of this hotel is tasty and spacious.

The bar and restaurant is quite popular among young businesss professionals.

The hotel staff is always quite helpful and caring.

I like this hotel, as it is my second home in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. As you know, we receive lots of positve feedback about our location with 3 major subway lines on our doorstep and in between both of Shanghai's airports. Thanks also for your observation about our YUE1525 Chinese Restaurant, pentalounge and team of dedicated and loyal Associates. We hope to see you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Penta Hotel is a place where creates a very nice and comfortable atmosphere to all customers especially when you are exhausted Every time when I finished for my whole day work and came back Penta for rest, I felt relaxed and calm. Staff here is very friendly and professional to provide all-round service. They often wear warm smile and give greetings!

Room Tip: floral wall and open wardrobe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mee Kiu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai! The team and I are very encouraged about your positive feedback and look forward to welcome you back to Shanghai. We appreciate your observation about our nice and comfortable atmosphere and friendly team, a comment we hear very often. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

In November 2012 my company, Mercedes-Benz technology, booked me at Penta for a short period of time till I get myself organized. Far away from Germany without family and friends it was and still the best choice to feel Home. Friendly atmosphere, modern design, good food (especially the burger!), fresh breakfast, the weekend brunch days, the huge Cloud Nine Longemont shopping mall (6 walking min), the subway 2 (6 walking min), the frequent taxis even when it rains -;)), perfect for the frequent flyers to Hongqiao airport (20 taxi min). The Price performance is fair. After all I decided to stay there and since 7 months Penta is my Home.

Room Tip: Upgrading the Room from stadrard to a higher level is recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iyad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. As you know, we receive lots of positve feedback about our location with 3 major subway lines on our doorstep and in between both of Shanghai's airports. Thanks also for your observation about our value for money concept, good breafkast and relaxed atmosphere. I will most certainly share your positive remarks with the team here and we hope to continue having you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#10 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,618 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,749 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#90 of 5,146 in Shanghai
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#48 of 5,146 in Shanghai
880 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentahotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Shanghai

Address: No.1525 Dingxi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $58 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pentahotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s commercial hub of Changning District, the hotel is directly opposite to Zhongshan Park with direct access to both the metro and light rail stations; which means getting around the town is quick, easy and hassle-free. Conveniently close to bustling Nanjing Road, Huaihai Road and the up-market business and entertainment area of Xintiandi, pentahotel Shanghai is also near to Jing'an Temple, the Jade Buddha Temple and ancient Yuyuan Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pentahotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing