We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel@home in Penta Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pentahotel Shanghai
Ranked #63 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Since several years of business travelling in China, I spend my weekends in Penta Shanghai.
The hotel interior and its management staff , both make you feel @ home, relax, socialize with other guests, efficicient, no nonsense, dynamic, enthousiastic....
Try it out , you will not regret ! Christina

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvdh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. It is great to hear you enjoy your stays at our hotel and we are very happy to hear the words chosen to describe us! We hope to see you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Pentahotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 605 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at Penta regularly (once every 2~3 months) when visiting Shanghai, this speaks volumes for the quality of rooms, dining fascilities & food, & especially the extremly helpful staff! Penta is also ideally positioned within Shanghai for the metro & plenty of attractions within walking distance.
I would highly recommend Penta without giving it a second thought, for both business & tourists, great service & very good value for money!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai! The team and I are very encouraged about your positive feedback and look forward to welcome you back to Shanghai. We appreciate your observation about our good value for money concept, convenient location and friendly team. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having stayed here for 2 months it became a place of refuge. Staff is very kind, and became very familiar. All the female staff are gorgeous. I just wish they had a better gym area and that they had a swimming pool. Rates for food and beverage at the restaurant and bar are what you would expect form a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai! The team and I are very encouraged about your positive feedback and look forward to welcome you back to Shanghai. We appreciate your observation about our friendly team and pentalounge. We have only recently introduced our gym facility and are in the process of renewing the equipment and have some strenght equipment added. Also as a guest of pentahotel you are welcome to use the outdoor pool at the next door New World Hotel (for a small fee). We hope to see you back very soon to see the result of our gym upgrade!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We liked the atmosphere in this hotel very much, since it is relaxed and friendly. The spacious room and especially the beds were surprisingly good (not Chinese!). A nice choice in breakfast, and perfect hamburgers for dinner.
Location of hotel is excellent, since it is besides the metro station. We enjoyed the (free) bicycles, to discover (surprising) Shanghai.
We recommend this hotel, it is for sure our next stay visiting Shanghai.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. As you know, we receive lots of positve feedback about our location with 3 major subway lines on our doorstep and in between both of Shanghai's airports. Thanks also for your observation about our value for money concept and relaxed atmosphere. Our bikes are available for free for our guests and are a fun way to explore the city. We hope to see you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great location, comfortable rooms, superb food, great facilities, relaxed atmosphere, friendly & efficient staff & service; what more could you ask for?

Greeted with a smile & a 'Hello' or Neihao' by every member of staff that I met, be it floor, reception or rooms.
Great breakfast to suit all tastes.
Relaxed common areas with lots of facilities.
Superb dim sum restaurant, Yue, with some of the best service in Shanghai.
Clean, comfortable & relaxing rooms.
Reception staff were able to communicate in both English & Cantonese, which was great for our mixed group over on business from Hong Kong.
Restaurant reservations in Shanghai made with ease.
Addresses for destinations written in Simplified Chinese by reception staff to give to the taxi drivers, very few of who speak English.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthOfTheThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai! The team and I are very happy to hear your constructive feedback and appreciate your positive observations about our hotel. I have already shared with the team your comments about our good value for money concept, convenient location, food quality and English language levels. I will also pass on your kind remarks about our YUE1525 restaurant. Thank you again and we hope to see you back in Shanghai very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Penta Hotel is my first choice everytime when I have a business trip to Shanghai. Ths staff there is warm-hearted, and you may have a feeling of home-like. The hotel is with good location in city center and traffic is also very convenient, subway or taxi as you like.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEIBEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. As you know, we receive lots of positve feedback about our location with 3 major subway lines on our doorstep and in between both of Shanghai's airports. Thanks also for your comments about our Associates and home-like ambiance, these are truly appreciated. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good location for some of the best shopping areas in Shanghai.Especially the line 2 subway just
around the corner.I stayed there for four nights and i can say that the hotel reaches most of the guest expectations such as quite delicious food,quality bed linen,towels,free WiFi in room and lobby.Hotel staffs are excellent,very well trained and friendly.Good to see the Operations Manager
walking around every morning checking services,cleanliness etc.It was a very enjoyable experience.If ever go to Shanghai again,it will be my first option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelonMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai! The team and I are very encouraged about your positive feedback and remarks. We appreciate your observation about our good value for money concept, convenient location and friendly team. We hope to welcome you back to pentahotel Shanghai very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,553 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#58 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,731 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#89 of 5,112 in Shanghai
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentahotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Shanghai

Address: No.1525 Dingxi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $59 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pentahotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s commercial hub of Changning District, the hotel is directly opposite to Zhongshan Park with direct access to both the metro and light rail stations; which means getting around the town is quick, easy and hassle-free. Conveniently close to bustling Nanjing Road, Huaihai Road and the up-market business and entertainment area of Xintiandi, pentahotel Shanghai is also near to Jing'an Temple, the Jade Buddha Temple and ancient Yuyuan Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pentahotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing