We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pentahotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
250
293
96
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
293
96
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszhongshan parkworld hoteloperations managersubway entrancerooms are cleanreception area isfree wififront desk staffnice hotelconvenient locationshopping mallbusiness triphotel roomnice roomhongqiao airportbreakfast buffet isbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 663 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

For the price (520 RMB per night) it is a bargain for a fine hotel in the city center, adjacent to Zhongshan Park and close to the Metro station. The room rate includes free internet and a decent breakfast buffet, not the extravagant spreads that you'll find in 5-star properties but fine nonetheless, with good quality of freshly prepared food.

The room is small like most reviews have mentioned, about the size of what you'd find on a cruise ship. But it works with a clean and comfortable bed. The decor is European-inspired, clean and minimalist. The only thing truly missing from the room is an iron for your travel-worn clothes.

Another amenity you won't find in this hotel is a fitness center or pool. Again, this is a 3-star no-frills hotel, but a nice touch is that they offer free bike rental to hotel guests so you can get out and explore the surroundings on two wheels (battling crowds and traffic of course). The lobby bar is a popular and inviting gathering place day and night, and judging by the clientele, the Penta is very popular with European businessmen and tourists. The beer is cheap and mixed in with fun music and laughter makes it a lively neighborhood gathering spot.

The Penta is great budget hotel at less than a third of the price of a 5-star. You won't find perks like a business center and the staff won't fawn over you like the fancy places (i.e., you have to wrestle your own luggage up the 5 steps from the street and into your room by yourself), but if you're looking for a good place to sleep while exploring Shanghai you can't go wrong with the Penta.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwwyjjliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments about pentahotel Shanghai. The team and I are very encouraged about your positive feedback and look forward to welcome you back to Shanghai. At the same time I am happy to let you know that the hotel is in the process of creating a small gym room for our guests and hope to have this ready by the first quarter of next year. I also thank you for your suggestion for an iron and ironing board which again, we hope to implement next year. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is unexpectedly great and I will definitely stay here again next time I come to Shanghai.

The reception area and the bar and cafe behind it are bright, modern, stylish but warm. The room is bright and spotlessly clean. You won't call it spacious but definitely it is not small, well enough for two people. Well, you can say that it does not go well with the style of the open area but we feel very comfortable in it. The only fault is the air con is not strong enough in the hot summer.

Breakfast is pretty good, with sufficient varieties and great taste.

Location is excellent. It is just 3-minute walking distance from exit no. 5 of Zhongshan Park metro station, a junction of 3 metro lines. So it is really very convenient to go anywhere in metro. But be prepared you need to walk for 5 minutes underground, which is common in many metro stations. Moreover, it is just a few metro stops from Hongqiao Airport.

Most of all, the staff are efficient and attentive, which is so rare in China!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel v, General Manager at Pentahotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about pentahotel Shanghai! The team and I are very encouraged about your positive feedback about our associates and look forward to welcome you back to Shanghai. We appreciate your observation about our convenient location for metro and airport, fun design and pentalounge concept. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to most people if they are looking for a no thrills hotel in the city center. The rooms are very small but well appointed. Modern, clean and efficient. Dont bother watching TV if you speak english as all the channels are chinese. The bar downstair is great if not a little pricey. Go to the park next door at night and you will see all the older chinese people street dancing. It si quite a novelty. Breakfast was average to good. If you dont want to spend a lot and are not interested in a great room, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get one facing the main road as it adds a little more interest to the view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Breakfast was good without being spectacular The staff were good the room was good but the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen in my life. A little way from the town centre but the train system is absolutely amazing

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same. Other than the bathroom it's an ok hotel I would stay there again as it was great value
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2mustangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I come to Shanghai every month and normally will in this hotel. I really have not much complaint. The room is small but cosy. So, basically if you're travelling Shanghai on Business, this hotel is conveniently located where you can get your basic needs (food and shopping) fulfilled.

It is 50 km away from Pudong Airport. So normally, the Taxi fare should be around 180 RMB. But, on this trip, i encountered two Taxi drivers (ongoing trip and returning trip), the Taxi drivers bring me on a longer route which is 57.7km according to the receipt. As a result, the Taxi fare become 203RMB.
Though I did not really have any argument with the driver, I did commented to the driver that the distance is longer than what I used to know. I made a complaint to the Taxi company. (Normally, there is a telephone number to call which is shown on the receipt).

I strongly encourage those who has this kind of encounters to make complain to the Taxi Company. Or else, the Taxi fare will keep on going up...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dongshaofeng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews