We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in Changning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pentahotel Shanghai
Ranked #63 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Good value for money in Changning”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel 3 times during a two week period in China. The location is great with easy access to the metro & all shopping conveniences. The staff were all very happy & helpful, particularly the wait staff. The downstairs cafe/bar area is modern with a pool table, wii & computers with an excellent value for money menu. The buffet style breakfast is also good. On the weekends there are various buffet meals as well with a nice variety of food. During my stay I had 4 different rooms which were modern, clean & what you would would expect from 4 star accommodation. My only problem, at certain times, was the weird plastic-burning like odour that could be easily smelt. In fact one evening I had to change rooms due to this whilst staying in a room on level 6. I'm not sure what it is but at times it can be smelt very strongly in the lobby as well, particularly when coming in from off the street. Having said that my last room during my stay was on level 10 with no such problem. Would I stay here again......a definite YES but wouldn't hesitate to ask to move rooms in the event of a problem with the plastic smell. Overall for the location, room, food & staff an 8/10 for me.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better air conditioning & less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    267
    88
    11
    7
See reviews for
34
45
66
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Modern hotel in a decent location next to exit 5 of Zhongshan Park Metro station and opposite Zhongshan Park. It has the usual conveniences in all rooms (including a safe) but no computer - so bring you laptop if you are staying a few days.

Prices start at around 550 RMB for the basic room, which is a bit high in my opinion. The restaurant bar has a drinks happy hour every day from 5pm - 7pm and its needed cos drinks are pretty expensive there...38 RMB for a juice being one example.

I booked my stay online from a trip advisor link and reserved my room (note: booking with the hotel website requires payment in advance, however you do get to see a photo of the room - the only way possible as the website does not have them), which was supposed to be a luxury suite, however when i got there it appeared that they decided to put me in the standard room yet still charge the rate for the suite. I am pleased to say that there was no fuss in getting this issue resolved, but it does annoy you when these blatant rip offs are used like that.

I would probably stay in the suite again which was very spacious and even had a modern sofa in it. The TV also has a lot more western channels than most hotels i have stayed, in including BBC News

Decent enough hotel and worthy of a recommendation.

Room Tip: for the extra RMB it is well worth booking the luxury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. Location is great. Saff were helpful and friendly. Room was clean and everything was in order (or seemed to be).

But that smell on every floor! I hope they're gonna do something about it soon.

One evening, blackout! But it only happened to us! Hotel, shops next door were just fine. I was about to enter the elevator from the lobby when it happened! It lasted for an hour or so, and 2 hours before the air-con system functioned properly again. So we were stuck at the lobby for an hour. Nobody seemed to know what happened. Later, around 1am, electricity was out again, for about 15 mins. Nobody even tried to explain what the problem was.

If it wasn't for the smell and the electricity problem, I would rate this hotel 4 stars. But for the price we paid, and in a city like Shanghai, there should never be problems like that!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Penta Hotel is just next the Metro Station. Department Store, pharmacies, restaurants are just stone throw. The front desk staff are very nice and helpful. The room is clean and newly renovated.
However, the swimming pool and gym is shared with New World Hotel with charges.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_WN_WONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Was at Penta from 7 July to 10 July 2011. It's around 1 hour drive from Pudong airport for around RMB200, and generally cab drivers don't know the place, so have the address with you everywhere you go in Shanghai (get hotel namecard). Exit arrival hall and the taxi stand at Pudong airport has a service counter that will look at your address and confirm the address with the cab driver, which is very helpful if you don't know Chinese. Avoid the airport transfer services in the arrival hall, which tried to charge us RMB 750.

My check-in was at 2 or 3 pm, but we arrived at 9 am and managed to get a room at 10 am, which saved us from having to return to the hotel to check-in.

First, the hotel room is clean, and acceptably spacious. No complaints about cleanliness at all, except for a strange and rather strong musty/chemical smell in the corridor and a bit of it in the room. I guess it could be what they use to clean the carpet? The housekeeping and front desk are generally efficient and responsive to requests.

Second, location is rather good. Exit hotel, turn left and around the corner is the entrance to underground link to subway, with lots of shops and exits to several places. A couple of shopping malls in the vicinity. With every shop in Shanghai closing at nine-ish and latest by 10 pm (we didn't spot any 24-hour MacDonald or Starbucks), I think the best thing about Penta's location is that there is a 24-hour air-conditioned eatery further up the same street. It's known for soy bean drinks, and has a selection of noodles and rice. (Note: hotel breakfast is nothing fantastic).

Got complimentary internet access, but speed not good.

Penta is definitely a preferred choice and good value for money should I visit Shanghai again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RienneKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I found this after suggested by new order shanghai hotel staff next door told me that they have no more room in new order. Penta is owned by new order group too and high quality. It is cheaper and very clean and looks new. Definitely a very good find !

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ssg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This Hotel is situated at a prime location at Zhongshan Park. Close to Metro Line 2,3 and 4. So basically you can use the metro to get to anywhere. All the staff at the hotel was really helpful. I arrived early at the hotel without any notice, and they cleaned out a room for me less than an hour. The rooms are quite large for hotels in Shanghai and the furnitures are quite new.

There is a shopping centre right next door and fast food & restaurants are just a few feet away. The price for the hotel is reasonable. Would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenelinli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#11 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,387 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,704 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,069 in Shanghai
589 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentahotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Shanghai

Property: Pentahotel Shanghai
Address: No.1525 Dingxi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pentahotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city’s commercial hub of Changning District, the hotel is directly opposite to Zhongshan Park with direct access to both the metro and light rail stations; which means getting around the town is quick, easy and hassle-free. Conveniently close to bustling Nanjing Road, Huaihai Road and the up-market business and entertainment area of Xintiandi, pentahotel Shanghai is also near to Jing'an Temple, the Jade Buddha Temple and ancient Yuyuan Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pentahotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing