We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel
Ranked #2,004 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Avergae hotel, avergade service, average food ...Clean environment - oh i loved the little shop at the reception had international brands of chips, cooldrink etc.. but expensive... suppose that is expected in hotels.. room was clean, breakfast was ok buffet style...service mediocre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    28
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Jin Sha hotel seems to be ok. However reception staff is so rude. They didnt tell any information if I ask how to go some places. He just told buy a english map from the neighbouring store. Cleaning is good. The tea catle was too old and rusted from inside. No tissue paper or water. Internet need to be paid extra and it will be 30 RMB per night (12 PM to 00 AM). Internet was horribly slow, we can not use skype or call. I think it is mainly for business person. It is not for student or tourist person to stay. I feel very uncomfortable because of reception person in the hotel. From the abroad at least we expect the people should guide us little bit instead of rudely telling to do something...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARKAGAKU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Stayed at the Jin Sha as a second hotel on a organised tour to China it is a good 3 star hotel with decent sized bedrooms and a good bathroom. It is a little bit to far out of the centre of Shanghai if you are on your own and as traffic is so terrible could take you at least 45mins to get into the centre by taxi ,but taxis are so cheap it doesnt cost much only in terms of time. The food we had was mainly buffet as we were in a group and it was ok. Couldnt comment on individual meals and breakfast was good with a selection of western and eastern food. There is not much to do anight in the hotel, beware of the nightclub on the second floor very quiet and a bit seedy we actually had to serve ourselves as noone was manning the bar and it looked like a haunt for chinese buisiness men and there prostitutes. iIwould suggest you get in a taxi and go to the french consession in the centre you could be in the med with lots of different restaurants and bars

  • Liked — room size and cleanliness
  • Disliked — night club
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirminghamRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We stayed at the Jinshajiang Hotel in Shanghai as part of "Taste Of China" tour with Jules Verne Travel. This was the 2nd hotel in the itinerary and we had three nights from 28th January-31st January 2008.

Having managed to get the only flight out of Beijing to Shanghai due to very bad snow we eventually arrived at 01.30hrs and were given a key to our room on the 5th floor. Room 505 to be precise which gave a view of an alleyway and rear of other stark buildings. The room was nothing to write home about and the supposedly well-stocked mini-bar contained just 2 cans of sprite and 2 cans of pepsi.

Upon opening the sliding wardrobe door the whole lot came off the rails. The bathroom was very small and contained a half-sized bath tub. Although the hotel provided basic shampoo and bath foam other toiletries in the bathroom had to be paid for.

The only bar in this hotel is situated on the second floor which is basically a night-club. On the second night a group of us went to this night-club around 10.00pm having returned from watching a Chinese acrobatic show in the city. ***Avoid this nightclub seriously***As soon as we walked into this place it had a horrible atmosphere and it did'nt take long to realise just why. Sitting on one side of the room were a group of about 8 Chinese men who were obviously locals and friends of the Bar-Manager. This group were singing karaoke (very loud I may add) and had several girls with them who at first glance appeared to be local prostitutes. All of this group were under the influence of some substance and I don't believe it was just alcohol.

One of our group (street-wise male in his late 40's) went into a room in the nightclub mistaking it for the toilets and witnessed several bodies entwined on the floor almost raping one another.

The so called Bar manager appeared to be encouraging this behaviour and just looked on when two of the Chinese men began pushing and shoving each other which resulted in both these men moving to the public lobby near the lifts to continue the argument. Suddenly one of these males began slapping and punching his own face very hard as if to challenge the other male to hurt him. The manager witnessed all this but did not even attempt to interfere and just left them to it.

My friend asked for 4 gin and tonics which were poured into plastic half pint glasses by the bar-man. A single measure of gin in each glass and 4 seperate cans of tonic poured into each one. This meant you could only taste the tonic.
When I got the next round I asked for the gins to be put into proper slimmer glasses and for just two cans of tonic so as not to drown the taste of the gin. You'd think I was asking him to set his head on fire!!!!! Anyway having reluctantly compiled with my request he then tried to charge me the same amount as the previous round. I remided him we only had two cans of tonic on this occasion and after some argument he knocked 50 Yuan (£3.80) from the bill.

Due to the atmosphere which was getting worse the longer we remained, all our group decided it was better if we left and returned to our rooms. It was evident that we were disturbing their little "Knocking shop".

Incidentally there was a little shop directly across the road from the hotel which served very cheap beers and spirits. I only paid 30 Yuan for a whole bottle of decent Brandy when the hotel were charging almost double this for a single gin.

The reception staff were miserable and very unhelpful at first. One of our group asked if the hotel had a local map of the area or of Shanghai city centre and were rudely told to buy one from a shop. The next day I asked for directions to a particular restauarant that had been reccomended to us and at first the staff pretended not to understand English. If you read my other reviews you will see that in the main I am complimentary when i write about other hotels we stay at, so believe me this is nothing personal.

This hotel must rank as one of the worst we have stayed at. It's not that it was dirty, in fact the cleaning girls done a very good job and at least the bell-boys on the door were pleasant. It was just a pity that the reception staff and management did'nt act in the same manner.

Voyages Jules Verne should seriously consider refraining from using this hotel in the future as it's likely to taint their good name. I did reccomend to our tour rep that she bring this to the attention of her employers and she did agree with me and in fact requested I write to Jules Verne as this would assist her report.

  • Liked — THE LEAVING
  • Disliked — SURELY MISERABLE STAFF AND LACK OF AMENITIES
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LOWESTOFT MEMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

In a residential area in the NW of the city this is a modern comfortable 4 star hotel a short drive from Hongqiao Airport. It overlooks a park and is adjacent to many shops. Ask for a room on the park side as they are quieter, and don't expect great service from the
soulless bar.

Staying here is fine if you are flying from Beijing but if you are coming in from abroad you will most likely be coming in to Pudong airport which is in the other direction, 55km from downtown.

It's hard to find a reason to stay this far from downtown except cost, although a taxi is only around 55-60 yuan from the Pudong side of the river. There is also something to be said for being in among local people doing their tai chi in the adjoining park and buying their breakfast from the many street sellers.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grapefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed at the Jinsha as part of an organised tour though China in April 2007. The hotel was nice and is a solid 3 star hotel. The room we stayed in was refurbished recently and everything is neat, clean and relatively new. Beds are firm but comfy. Air con works well and there is pay per view movies.

The staff are friendly and fairly efficient. English level is okay but miscommunication does happen if you are trying to get a complicated message across.

Breakfast is an interesting event. There is a cafe downstairs as well as a more classy Chinese restaurant. There is an early sitting for breakfast in the cafe but at around 8:30am, everyone are "asked" to move to the restaurant to continue their breakfast there. I mean the cafe is emptied and closed for cleaning right there and then! I never worked out the logic behind this. The breakfast menu is an odd mix of western and chinese food but with chinese items which don't usually feature on breakfast menus.

Now comes the big warning. The hotel is MILES from downtown Shanghai. While I don't have an absolute reading, I would estimate it to be 20-25km away. With the Shanghai traffic going from heavy to nightmarish everyday of the week, you must factor in a lot of traveling time if you want to see sights around the Bund/People's Square or across town. If that is an issue, please pick a hotel closer to the city itself. On top of that, the area around the hotel is very much a residential suburb of Shanghai so there are no tourist attractions nor tourist orientated shops. Don't expect much unless you just need to buy suplies from local shops or get money from an ATM.

  • Liked — Decent quality of room and fixtures (but small bathroom)
  • Disliked — Distance from downtown Shanghai
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captk2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The North Bund
Huajing Hotel
Huajing Hotel
#1,764 of 5,069 in Shanghai
80 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#97 of 5,069 in Shanghai
703 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#117 of 5,069 in Shanghai
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel

Property: Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel
Address: No.257 Nujiang Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200062, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,004 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jin Sha Hotel Jin Jiang is a Shanghai accommodation in Putuo District built not just for business but for leisure. It has 289 comfortable guestrooms with cable television, mini-bar, high-speed Internet, and IDD telephone. This hotel in Shanghai offers the most relaxing amenities that will make any stay delightful. Guests can wine and dine in Gardenia Cafe or in White Camellia, the hotel’s luxury restaurant that serves Cantonese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Sha Hotel Jiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing