We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just needs a little more attention to the details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bund Riverside Hotel
Ranked #156 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just needs a little more attention to the details”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in August 2014, only payed £35 per night and we also had a free upgrade to an Executive Room. The Room it's self was massive, with a marble walled Bathroom , which included a extra deep bath, a walkin shower and an electronic toilet that we couldnt work out except the seat warmer. The Bed was queen size, and very comfortable, the hotel even provides a maids turn down service.
Now the downsides. We ordered Breakfast in our room, they got the order wrong, with several items missing but just put on random things to make up for it like corn on the Cob instead of the chosen mushrooms. it arrived uncovered ontime, BUT was cold. The only other real complaint we would have is that there was sections of the wall paper hanging off the newley decorated wall, the TV remote had flat batteries in and the room service staff ciould speak very little English, but we got buy by pointing and playing charades.

My only other final complaint which is generic really and not just limited to this hotel, was although we had paid in full for the Hotel in advance, we choose not to have a credit card so therefore had to leave a cash deposit of £100 which was quite inconvenient, not knowing in advance

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STEVEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    317
    176
    69
    43
See reviews for
92
208
90
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night but loved it! The hotel is really close to the train station that goes to the airport and Honquia railway station, while it is also walking distance to Peoples Square and The Bund (where you can see beautiful views of the city skyline).
We had a room in floor 16th with a very nice view. Staff were really nice and helpful, helping us with taxis and storing luggage for us for a few days.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Betiana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I spent 8 days here and most of it was good , staff were good with reasonable english , the breakfast as usual was warm ( they don't seem to get the concept of hot food).
The major problem, was it was hot 36 and I had to have 3 fridges changed as they were not working, intially the maintainance man told reception it was OK but when he came back in the am everthing was hot so he changed it ( which he should have done the night before )and also 2 others .
The other problem was the aircon was not working, 27 in the room , their maintainance staff checked and said everthing OK and when I tried to argue they did not speak english very well, the receptionist even said it was government policy to have it that hot ,I had a chinese mate come to visit he came in and said that it was too hot, luckily the person from reception was still there giving me the runaround so my mate gave hiim a barrel and within 5 minutes I was in another room with great aircon
Apart from above , for the price it was a good location,adequate facilities , in general the reception staff and door staff were good and tried to help with your enquires

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiscanfly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an organised trip so only got to pick from a short list. We generally like most hotels even if the reviews are mixed. I have to say we were disappointed with this one. Gave it three stars because of the location- close to everything. The staff seemed very unhappy most of the time and desk staff look like would rather be somewhere else. The only person who was remotely friendly was the Concierge on day shift. The beds were the hardest we have ever slept on ( and we have slept in many hard beds). We were supposed to be in a superior room but it was very small on the 12 floor. No room for bags except on the floor in the way. Had some basic breakfasts but this was forgettable. We ate out the second day in the French Concession which was lovely. With a bit more attention to detail this could be a much better stay. We faced the river away from the Bund ( one small dirty window) so if you get to choose make sure you get one that faces the view.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

No doubt about the location of this hotel. It's walking distance to the Bund or just RMB15 taxis ride. Ten minutes walk to the Nanjing Road for shopping. The famous Yang's dumplings is also 5 minutes walk away. After arriving Shanghai at Pudong airport, we took the train to East Nanjing Road station. With help of map and asking around, we walk about 500m or 25 minutes to the hotel. During the night, the street of the hotel is pretty quiet and gloomy. Definitely will come back to this hotel for my next trip.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choo_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had booked a standard queen river view room, but when we got there the hotel must have been over booked and we were upgraded to a suite on the top floor. It had an amazing 100 degree view over the city and the Bund, the room was enormous, not to mention the walk through closet to the massive marble bathroom. I was most impressed! Its a good spot to explore the city, but there is no night life and bars in the area. The hotel did have a Russian theme bar, which also hosts regular ex pat Russian social nights and there is soon to be a Russian restaurant opening up on the same floor.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it, the room is worth the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Bund RIverside is a small 4 star hotel in a great location in a really large city. It has a wonderful small restaurant on the top floor with a great view. The service is good but the location is ideal near important shopping area where with good restaurants nearby and a short taxi ride to the national museum.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#125 of 5,105 in Shanghai
546 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#177 of 5,105 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,716 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#455 of 5,105 in Shanghai
293 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#81 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Property: The Bund Riverside Hotel
Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing