We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bund Riverside Hotel
Ranked #165 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Overall this room was very good, although there were a few faults that would have annoyed me had it not been such good value. The lobby was good, as was the size of the rooms. The location was pretty perfect - very close to the bund and an easy walk from a subway station. The staff were also helpful and spoke good English.

Our bathroom seemed a little dirty, although I was not sure whether it was actual or dirt or that it was just a little run down. Overall though, not too much of a problem.

I would recommend definitely for value for money, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    313
    175
    69
    43
See reviews for
91
208
88
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
181 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel was in a super location ~ only 5 mins from Nanjing Road and all that excitement, and many great places in between. My room and bathroom were large and the room had 2 windows. Robes, slippers etc. were provided as was a fridge and mini bar. I had a great view of the city and ample English channels to watch. Room service was very reasonable so I used it 3 times. The staff are extremely nice and helpful..... possibly the nicest I've ran into and I travel often. Moreover, the hotel was quiet. They had a nice looking large restaurant(s) and bar but I didn't visit them. If you're going to the Pudong Airport the front desk will get you a taxi for about $40 Canadian and it is worth it because I declined their offer and still paid $38 anyways. Very safe hotel in a super great location. I stayed here solo and felt very safe. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmmmmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, very close to the bund and the main market. The hotel overlooks a creek not the bund but on the higher floors you get a good view of the bund and the skyscrapers . The complimentary water (2 bottles) is kept in the bathroom, the rooms are small but neat. The bar at 2nd floor is quite good with the DJ playing all Russian songs all night.
Overall a good hotel for the price and location.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors which have the view of the bund .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

First off, the location of this hotel is an awesome perk. The Bund is very close by as are several great restaurants and convenient stores to stock up on water bottles.

The lobby is beautiful and well maintained. There's a little cafe area off to the right with the typical expensive menu. The second floor has a "spa" for quick (average) massages and a bar which I didn't check out. Third floor is the restaurant for breakfast. Breakfasts here were alright. They had an egg station and several buffet options.

The room itself was fairly small and pretty dirty. Found sunflower seed shells and two pairs of old slippers by my bed. The bathroom was reasonably clean except for the shower.
There's a mini bar here which I wouldn't touch with a ten foot pole (very expensive.) Your complimentary water is in the bathroom, two bottles make sure to take them daily. Room has free "secure" wi-fi access. Your password for the wi-fi is on the Router/Repeater plugged in near the phone.

The view from the room was great! We had a clear (smoggy, but direct) view of the Bund. The horns from below can be a little noisy, but you can tune them out.

Overall, a good hotel if you don't mind a little dirt. Worth it for the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I rated this a 4 as I was presently surprised at the quality of this hotel.

For the price, the room was incredibly large (unlike most Japanese ones) and it was in a great spot, short walk to most tourists destinations. You can't go wrong if you stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quinkintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I've been to this hotel before to visit a friend and I really enjoyed that the price is affordable and the location of the hotel is convenient. It's close to the shopping and most tourist areas. I booked my 2 nights on Expedia. However, when I got to the hotel to check-in, they told me that due to maintenance (they spoke in really fast Chinese.. I think they said maintenance), all the rooms were now full and my room is not available anymore. They said they would send me to another hotel for tonight and then pick me up tomorrow to spend my last night in Shanghai at their hotel.

What I did not understand was WHY they did not contact me earlier. (?) Does Expedia not provide them my phone number or email?

Anyways, they now have a customer who is probably never coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located near Nanjing Rd (East) shopping street, near the subway station. Seems a bit hard to get food, although you can get some Shanghai snack.

Friendly staff although English is a bit limited. No Wi-Fi in the room which can be a bit inconvenient and although you can get internet at the lobby, the speed can be very very slow.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jasey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#121 of 5,059 in Shanghai
535 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#176 of 5,059 in Shanghai
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#538 of 5,059 in Shanghai
289 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#81 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,103 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Property: The Bund Riverside Hotel
Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#142 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing