We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting. Dangerously hot room - 28c”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bund Riverside Hotel
Ranked #162 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Cannot believe this place has become so bad. Booking was messed up. Was given separate beds (twin room) for our anniversary. Asked for room change. Was given an internal room. No windows.

....this wouldn't have been a problem if the room wasn't stuck for three days at **28C** in the middle of December!!!!

1 - Asked their front desk to turn our aircon back on. Was told I 'mustn't be doing it right'. I used to be a duty manager of a large hotel. So it's not like I'd know.

2- Asked front desk again. Maintenance man came out. Told us it was isolated for winter, "it only gets hot in summer."

3 - Asked front desk again. "Sleep with the duvet off." ?!?!

Checked out in a very bad mood with this dump of a hotel.

4- Emailed the manager, got a reply from their front desk stating he said he would reply in three days. No reply after 4 weeks.

5 - Emailed again. Still no reply 8 weeks later.

Conclusion.
In short, the manager is lazy and does not care. He expects his staff to fob people off.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 744 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is good, easy five minute walk to the main shopping district and local restaurants. The hotel accommodation is ok, the rooms are small, but the bathroom is a good size. We didn't have a bath but that was ok we only like a shower. The bed was the hardest we have ever experienced in all the hotels we have stayed in. We like firm beds but this one had no give at all. We did have free wifi in room which is always a positive in choosing a hotel when travelling.
The view from our room was great, room 1212, facing the Bund. At night there is a great light display, in the daytime the pollution was so bad our view was very restricted. Make sure you request a View of the Bund as the view from the other side is of back lanes.
The breakfast was not very good, with only a small selection on the Buffett . The bread, waiting for toasting, was of poor quality and dried out. Small selection of cereals and even smaller selection of fruits. I didn't try the hot dishes. The sausages looked very strange. It was better to walk a block and get freshly made dumplings, they were the best ever.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights this months and must say that we enjoyed our stay in here. As other reviewers said you need to ask for extra blankets to put on the mattress otherwise you'll find yourself sleeping on a very hard bed. From 15th floor we had an amazing view of the river and Pudong. Housekeeping service is a little bit loud while cleaning other rooms.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lilprincesssfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here not long ago. Huge rooms and with a family interconnecting room it was huge and really cheap. Good service even if there is not much English, they do their best to accommodate you. Close to huge shopping mall and the shanghai sky line by the Bund.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked this place through an online booking site, read the reviews on tripadvisor and it all seemed pretty good for 60Us a night. It was great! Amazing location, about 5 min walk from Nanjing East metro station and Nanjing Rd (which I would say, stay away from if you are a sole male traveler unless you like being asked for sex and whatnot) and also about a 10 min walk from the Bund - a great Riverside walk with amazing views of downtown - just lovely! I had just been traveling in China for almost 4 weeks - in not very nice places and was looking forward to Shanghai for a couple of days of niceness - had never been and was not disappointed. It is a tourist hotel but the room was huge, had amazing views of the iconic skyline and ENGLISH TV CHANNELS! this was very exciting! Not many but it didn't matter. My only complaint was that the room was a bit stuffy and the AC did not really work - I didn't actually make an issue over this though - I was too tired. Movie rentals were only 10RMB about what, 1.20 or something? Beds were comfy - I had a king - and linens and pillows were very soft and luxurious. I'd recommend this to anyone who has never been to Shanghai and wants a good hotel in an amazing location for a really good price.

Room Tip: The hotel is not actually on the main river - it is on the creek - but some rooms have view of both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micktodd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at the Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai and were greeted by a person at the desk who was very serious but very professional. The first impression of the hotel was, that it was a little dated but that this was fine as we hadn't paid for 5 star hotel. When we were shown to our hotel room we were so happily surprised. The room was on the 17th floor, very clean beautifully decorated and an amazing view of Shanghai. When we booked we asked for the riverview and believe me was the best thing we did. This was a very nice accommodation. The Subway stop near the hotel was not far away it was within walking distance. To get to it, ask the bellboy and they are very friendly and they will guide you. We spent a short period at the hotel so we really did not have food at their restaurants but the selection that they advertised seemed quite good.

I would recommend this hotel for its location and for its proximity to the tourist attractions that are close the subway stop of the hotel.

The one thing I want advise people who have not been to Shanghai before and maybe have gone to other cities in China, is that if you are taking the subway keep in mind that they metro system charges individuals based on a distance travelled rather than a flat rate like they do in the metro in Beijing so sometimes it will be 3RMB or more as I said depending how far you are travelling on the metro line.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aldis1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is well situated near the Bund and Nanjing Road East ( shopping strip ). It is also within walking distance to Qipu Road where the clothing wholesale centres are located. The hotel room is comfortable and clean and the view of the river is good! There are a lot of small eateries around

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#186 of 5,147 in Shanghai
306 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#129 of 5,147 in Shanghai
561 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#511 of 5,147 in Shanghai
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#84 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,127 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#62 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#142 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing