We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service @ The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bund Riverside Hotel
Ranked #151 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service @ The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is well situated near the Bund and Nanjing Road East ( shopping strip ). It is also within walking distance to Qipu Road where the clothing wholesale centres are located. The hotel room is comfortable and clean and the view of the river is good! There are a lot of small eateries around

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    311
    172
    67
    41
See reviews for
87
205
88
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were thrilled when we saw the incredible views of Shanghai from our hotel room window. The room was very clean, well appointed, including wifi. The staff was courteous and spoke enough english to get by. The location is close walking distance to the Bund (20 minutes) and Nanjing Road (10 minutes) though the path to Nanjing Road seems strange, we had no issues finding our way.

Breakfast had more food than we could have imagined. If you can't find something to eat here, you are out of your mind.

We will be sure to recommend this hotel to anyone we know headed to Shanghai

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Nanjing Road with the big bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetaH0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Nice enough. Staff are pleasant and polite. Great location, easy walking distance to the Bund and Nanjing Rd. Internet was slow especially if you tried to connect multiple devices but functional. No problems booking train tickets etc through the front desk. Room appeared to be clean but must admit did not investigate too thoroughly. The meals were pretty good, only ate there once though. Fairly decent price for the location. All requests (trundler bed and smokefree) made at time of booking were met. Walls are a little thin noise wise however this was not too much of an issue while we were there. Outside ambient noise was minimal. It was good enough that we returned after having traveled outside of Shanghai but nothing to rave about. The location is what pushes it up to a very good rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is kind of old, quite a few blocks from East Nanking road subway station which is pretty good.
But this is your hotel if you don't mind, unclean rooms (I dropped a bottle cap near the bed the day I arrived, and there it was the day I left; there were a couple of lounge chairs near my bed with all kinds of "unpleasant" stains on it... Including lipstick stains.... Ewwwwww), hard as wood mattress, crappy pillows, mold in bathtub etc...
It was quite cheap, but for a few bucks more I should have gone somewhere else.
Bad bad choice

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

English speaking staff, thank you! Rooms were a bit small, but the ambiance was nice. Downside was rarely was there internet connection in the hotel rooms. Food was plentiful. Great proximity to Nanjin Street which was fun and interesting. Fairly safe walking area.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite first. Double rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpotatofry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Bund Riverside Hotel is ideally situated. It is within walking distance of the Bund and not even far off from the famous Nanjin street which is a shopper's paradise. The staff are pleasant, professional and very helpful. The meals at the hotel are great. However when one opens the door of the hotel room, this is where a huge disappointment hits one in the face. The carpets in the room are filthy. It will require brave courage to walk bare-feet on those carpets. I've read in previous reviews about these filthy carpets when i was looking up this hotel. I would have thought that the management would by now have taken note about comments from previous visitors but unfortunately they did not. I went out and bought a pair of sandals.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsmailMahomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked through a group tour and wasn't expecting much. The Bund Riverside completely exceeded our expectations. We had a room on the 11th floor with an incredible view of the city and river. We were 3 short blocks from some of the best shopping, a stroll along the river and access to the rest of the city. The breakfast buffet was delightful. The rooms were extremely comfortable (minus the chinese firm beds) and we enjoyed the free in room wireless access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#179 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#124 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#596 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Property: The Bund Riverside Hotel
Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing