We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bund Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$436
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$301
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$146
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveler rating
139
338
185
71
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
338
185
71
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distanceminute walkeast nanjing roadtop floorthe main shopping streettwo blocksview of the rivertv towerroom was largemetro stationthe pearlspeak englishpudong airportan upgradepeople's squarechinese restaurantbund
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 777 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights in this hotel and it was very nice indeed. A little outdated in some ways, but we had a huge suite with an amazing giew of bith the hungpu river and the amazing buildings over in Pudong.
Staff were all very helpful and even booked our train tickets onwards for us (for a small additional fee).

Good distance to the metro and both The Bund and People's Square, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the higher floors. We were in 1813 and had a great view. Higher is lilely to be even more spectacular. Make sure you aim for the river/pudong view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nasreen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nice location within walking distance of the Bund, great value if you hit one of the deals for a suite -- with opening windows -- but a touch tired in some aspects.
Still well worth the money and great views of the harbour if you are up high enough and our room faces in the right direction. I would suggest it is worth the extra charge for a view over the river.

Room Tip: I would go a river view and high up.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Travelled with a group in China, and spent time in much better hotels than this. Spent 2 nights here. In the first room we had the handle of the bathroom door was coming off, the towel rack fell off the wall, the drain in the shower didnt work and I dont think I have seen a dirtier carpet ( I heard a lady complaining to the manager how dirty the place was). The mini bar had the most expensive beer I saw in China and the beds were hard' though I prefer a hard bed.

For the 2nd night we were upgraded to an identical room without the defects (and we noticed the access code for the room wifi on the side of the modem which worked well).

Breakfast was adequate but boring though the coffee was drinkable.

The hotel states it has a shop but doesnt.

Access is up 12 steps from the street, and the staff will not help with luggage.

Good location and ok hotel provided you get a cheap rate, but prefer others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56ajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Unfortunately we had only booked in for one night, but wow! This hotel was everything we had hoped for - wonderful views of the Financial Zone, the river, a great situation for the Bund and the shopping centre at Quipu.

Although the bedroom was pretty small, the view from the 14th floor more than made up for it. We had booked through a bookings site and asked for a non-smoking room on a high floor with views of the river and that's exactly what we got .

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room very clean and for around £50-60 sterling, we thought it was a good value, centrally situated hotel and would definitely stay here again if we are in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the river. Non-smoking can be specified
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from our trip to china, where we stayed in 5 different hotels all around the same price, this hotel was the worse one. Not a friendly place to start off with but the room was defiantly needing some attention, we stayed here for 5 nights, the bed was unbearably uncomfortable I had to sleep on the top it was so lumpy, the aircon was useless, the carpets were filthy and the shower water didn't drain, we had problems with the tv not working for the whole 5 days and we didn't have any Internet in the room but when told we had wifi in the lobby that didn't work either! The view is outstanding but because the room was so hot we had the curtains shut all the time. Would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews