We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dodgy people lingering around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bund Riverside Hotel
Ranked #164 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dodgy people lingering around”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Room was comfortable. Employees were friendly. That's the good part.
There is no wifi in the rooms and the wifi in the lobby is extremely slow. The location is good, not far from Nanjing Road and the Bund, but it's really annoying that there are dodgy people lingering around (at one point even on the stairs at the hotel entrance, without security doing anything!!) asking hotel guests if they want a massage or other "services". I must say that it seems like the hotel is aware of this problem, so in the end they had a security person there, and no more bizarre types on the hotel stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobvangeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    311
    174
    67
    42
See reviews for
88
205
88
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

hotel with good location, big room clean, however several bad factors during the stay, extremely bad service overall, breakfast even worse, the food quality was not good and appearance of the environment dirty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amonteiro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great location, central. Bar area in foyer which makes it a nice waiting area. Great, cosy restaurant on the 16th floor and menu allows for some relief of Asian food. Breakfast not great. In-house tailor. Friendly service and great rooms. Great view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeninaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hi,
I am the author of "Moments in Time-a collection of short stories", which are based on overseas experiences. Hence I have travelled extensively. I would have to rate this hotel as one of the best I have stayed in. Excellent value for money. The buffet breakfast more than satisfies the European taste buds. The rooms are spacious with amazing views of the city or river and are in beautiful rosewood or like panelling. The staff are friendly and will even give you a road map of Shanghai. A taxi from the airport should cost no more than 130chinese ($26NZ)
If you walk down Beijing (E) Road (outside the hotel), for some distance and turn left where there are several blue tanks currently on an empty section, this will get you to Peace Park. The Big Red Bus (actually three: big red, green and blue), leave from just on your right as you enter the square. These buses are hop on hop off and do different circuits. A good way to see Shanghai. Entering the square, there is a massive mall (heaps of shops) extending to the Bund.
However, the best shopping is close to the hotel. Go out the hotel door, at the bottom of the steps turn right, turn right again and walk along the river to the car bridge. Cross over the river and walk down that road. You will come across a massive market and everything is cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I found this hotel on trip advisor and I'm so glad I did as I wanted a hotel close to Nanjing Rd Shopping and this place was only minutes walk to the shopping strip. We were upgraded to a better room as they booked us incorrectly which was very nice of the staff. We had a huge room with a lounge area, spa bath, own bedroom overlooking the river. What a nice room and the hotel is very pleasantly clean and the value is ok. The staff friendly and they helped book our tickets to Macau and they also arranged our minivan to the airport

Room Tip: Get the staff to assist you with all your travel arrangements
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not well placed (I was there on a business trip however with someone on the vicinity), it has practically no lobby or sitting accomodation, and no wireless (it does have wireless in the lobby but it does not work!...). Not far (and not very near) to the Metro.
English spoken well at the reception point, not well by the numerous and kind bell-boys etc. (one of them gave our taxi driver informations that sent us to the opposite of our destination ...), it looks like the personnel is not very well paid and consequently not the best trained.
Average-good rooms (not very spacious, but it's Ok), average-good cleanliness of the room, so-and-so bathroom, No hair-dryer!
Two restaurants (good), which I did not try.
Breakfast is in the scenic top floor and it is generous and varied (unfortunately something I ate there caused me some problems ...).
I do not think it is really a 4 star and I am sorry but I believe that you could either get more for the same price or much much more for just a little more money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

All-in-all, I would have been all-in four stars for the RB. However, I think their beds are made of granite. Was as bad as the beds I slept on in Hanoi in a 12 dollar a night room.

Otherwise, the room was large, clean and fairly comfortable. The lobby is a bustling noisy place, and the wifi is ONLY in the lobby (there is wired internet in the rooms, but with only my phone and iPad, I was forced to use my phone as a hotspot. Make sure you bring your cable and something that can accept it (or a router, of course).

No free breakfast, but a decent location within a quick walk from E. Nanshing street, the 2 train line, and a little further to The Bund. Overall, I was fairly satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#179 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#123 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#617 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#42 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Property: The Bund Riverside Hotel
Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#141 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing