We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #17 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautiful view of the Bund from the rooms. Super location with shops and cafes nearby. Brillant breakfast with a great selection of options from East to West. Convenient location. Great service and modern amenities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kopiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski_Shanghai, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Kopiyo

Sincere greetings from Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai .

Thank you for taking your precious time to write the comment.

We are happy to learn that you truly enjoyed our hotel for breakfast, helpful service ,breathtaking view and ideal location!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai and thank you again for taking time and effort to support our hotel .Thank you very much !

Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    249
    80
    25
    9
See reviews for
96
127
41
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mrx1000
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at thsi hotel in September 2013 and it is the first time Ii have stayed in the Kempinski brand. We thought we may have a problem checking in at the hotel as we were very early. When we approched the counter the staff were helpful and sorted out a room for me without issue. The room was large, clean and decorated to a good standard.

The hotel is positioned on the Bund facing the Grand Hyatt and the Pearl Tower, outside are top end restaurants and bars.

The hotel was immaculate and sported 3 restaurants a spa, pool and gym

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski_Shanghai, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear mrx1000

Greeting from Grand kempinski Hotel shanghai.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and like our spacious rooms, professional service and our ideal location. Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us!

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards

Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am shocked the hotel which is located within CBD area charges for internet. Been a long while since someone said that to me. Even at the Holiday Inns the internet is complimentary.

However great breakfast but may I suggest to include Skim milk at your cereal section.

A stationary bike in the gym may be worth the investment. Common equipment used are typically bikes, treadmills. There are only heavy weights (dumbbells) in the gym but no lightweights.


Lastly, it is still a nice hotel just needs some attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Mitch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski_Shanghai, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Ms Jan Mitch,

Greetings from Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai !

Thank you for choosing our property and for taking the time to share with us some feedback on

the breakfast lay out and the fitness facilities.

We certainly value your opinion and we will look into integrating those recommendations in the

near future.

Ms Mitch, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Huge room with modern amenities. Very very quiet - absolutely no noise from adjoining rooms.
Service was great. Views were very good (room 1212). 2-3 minute walk from Oriental Pearl and subway.On site dining options are expensive (but it is 5*) lots of options right outside the door though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski_Shanghai, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Iain679,

Greetings from Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai.Thank you for taking your precious time to share your comments with us.

We are pleased to learn that you truly enjoyed our hotel for its good equipped rooms,helpful service ,breathtaking view and ideal location!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai and hope we can have another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Best regards

Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in Gran Melia about a year ago. Service of the hotel is excellent and structure of the design is pleasant as well. Not only the service and architecture but landscape of the most rooms are amazing. In addition, it is close enough to the centre of Shanghai by taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artunb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski_Shanghai, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear artun b,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and your positive comments which I will be delighted to share with the hotel staff.

I am glad to inform you that we are now managing the hotel under the Kempinski brand as the Grand Kempinski Hotel, Shanghai.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The price ($130 through expedia) of the hotel is very reasonable. But there are many reasons to seek other options in Shanghai. The service is unsatisfactory. Trying to reach the front desk from my room, for example, my call was never picked up (I did, admittedly, give up after two minutes on the line). I'd advise not ordering room service or eating at the Kempinski restaurants - the food quality was very, very poor. The decorating scheme of the spacious rooms overlooking the river feels a lot like a generic airport hotel. I'm opting for Shanghai's Park Hyatt in the future. If you're looking for a "special" place to stay in Shanghai, I'd suggest you consider other locales as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrie D, web coordinator at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 849Susan:

Greetings from Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai!

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review and tell us about your unpleasant experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service you experienced in our hotel. Your reviews is taken very seriously ,which will help us a lot to improve our service . We have already shared the information within our management team to make sure such kinds of acts from our staff will never happen again.

We really appreciated that if you can kindly let us know of your contact details .We also welcome you directly contact with us via email to prd.shanghaipudong@kempinski.com

We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future and witness our improvement!

With best regards,
The Entire Team of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sel,mlysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

we really enjoyed our room while staying here, the room is well layout and the view of the bund is simply beautiful esp at night. i could just sit sipping coffee enjoying the view for hours.
the staff are helpful though and the front desk though they can speak english but their comprehension is average. we were there on the day before ramadhan and we were trying to get help from the front desk to get the contact number for muslim association, or the morque, and to ask them when did the ramadan fasting start as when we called it was being answered in chinese. after many attempts trying to explain to the front desk staff , we just gave up and just decided to start fasting the next day.
location is good, just 5 min walk to the nearest metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafmSel_mlysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrie D, Web coordinator at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear mafmSel_mlysia ,
Sincere greetings from the Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai .

Thank you for taking your precious time to write the comment.

We are delighted to know that you love the view of the bund very much and have a memorable stay at our hotel. And please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience occurred to you . We kindly inform you that the nearest mosque from our hotel is Shanghai Pudong Mosque on the Yuanshen Road, which is about 5 kilometers away from our hotel. You
can easily go there by Metro line 2.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai and again thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel .Thank you !

With best regards,
The Entire Team of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing