We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and comfortable room with a great view in a beautiful and convenient location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #16 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Luxurious and comfortable room with a great view in a beautiful and convenient location!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Let's start with the good:
+ Beautiful in-room Lighting
+ gorgeous bathroom w/attractive fixtures
+ Great views of pudong financial district & Huangpu River
+ tv mounted in perfect spot for bedtime viewing
+ wired Internet included in B&B package price
+ outstanding breakfast buffet
+ friendly staff
+ good service
+ 30th floor fitness room has incredible views of Huangpu River & Pearl Tower
+ lap pool was very nice, and the water temperature was just right for swimming (caps required)
+ easy checkout... No extra charges... Paid exactly as booked

These are the items that need work:
- No WiFi
- no HD channels on TV
- Stain on carpet long & brown 
- heard some noise during the night, but nothing outrageous, mostly quiet
- Warm hallways
- pool area jacuzzi water level was about 0.3048 meter below normal, and needed to be cleaned up a bit

Overall, I had a very enjoyable stay at the Gran Melia in Shanghai. Room 2229 has a luxurious bath and comfortable bed, and the room has a good view of the Huangpu river and Pudong financial district. In addition, the staff was very friendly and helpful (speaking good English). Lastly, the breakfast buffet was outstanding... I was impressed with both the selection and the taste!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyQuest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    267
    87
    25
    9
See reviews for
112
140
45
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Definatley the most spectacular hotel we stayed in during our trip to Hong Kong and China. Very grand, service is amazing my only criticism is that the taxi drivers over the water are not sure where it is. We went to the Yu gardens and had to ask about 6 taxi drivers if they knew where it was........ The spa and the swimming pool are up on the 30th floor over looking the Shanghai skyline, awesome. (not so keen on wearing a swimming cap though lol)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burd1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

gran melia is a fantastic hotel the rooms and views are amazing, we stayed int the red level and it was well worth the money. We ate snaks and drank each night in the red lounge and all the staff including ivy, carol and especially forster wang (its our secret about the lemon's) were very professional friendly and helpful they made our stay very special.
make sure when you arrive at the airport you are not conned into getting into a taxi, this is worse at shanghai then anywhere else in china, we ignored the ones shouting taxi as we were going on the shuttle and maglav as we read about on here. my husband was persuaded by someone who claimed to be airport staff that it was not possible to get train ect and said he would take us to hotel counter, he did and then my husband parted with £55 and we ended up in a horrible taxi whose driver kept asking us for a tip, on our return we did as we wanted and it was easy and a quarter of the price. we were worried about the airports and other transport but everything is in english when you buy your tickets for the trains etc. you press the button for english and it goes through everything and journeys on the tube costs pennies and in shanghai it is clean and less busy than bejing

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2011

It is a new hotel very clean, very well designed with good quality finish which adds to the good experience felt from the staff service too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie131161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

It is located right in the financial district, has excellent view of the bund and rooms are pretty spacious, modern and well-equipped. The swimming pool is located at the top floor of the hotel. Brilliant view!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great hotel, very well maintained and super service at Red Level. The staff is extremly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Rooms are spacious, very comfortable, and tastefully furnished. The lobby concierge and duty manager are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is excellent ( can see the city from the hotel window ... A 10 min walk). The shopping is literally outside the door. Fabulous place to stay in every respect. Will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valle427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,331 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing