We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai
Ranked #499 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our group stayed in 8 rooms for several days. The location is good, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful. The WiFi was weak in the rooms, but strong in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TapestryCrochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Short term stay of 4 nights at this hotel. Didn't hold great expectations as it was only about $43Aud/night but was surprised with outcome.

Pro's: Stayed on the 17th floor and the rooms where clean and has plenty of storage. Decent bed. Friendly service. Our room had a great view looking straight towards the Oriental Pearl Tower. Room was cleaned efficiently with all used items replaced and waters re-stocked. Great location, restaraunts everywhere, also has a 24 hour McDonald's, KFC and 2 different bakeries a few mins walking distance. Also a 10min walk to the new HongKou Plaza, for all your shopping needs [Stores included Zara, Levi's, etc]

Con's: No Bar fridge, we had 1 in our room but it did not work. Very awkward positioning of the shower in our room [shower was fine in the other room on level 15 that was booked by relatives]. Lighting is quite dim, even with all the lights on. Walls are a bit thin, loud neighbors can be overheard quite easily.

Overall, the price can not be beat for the service and location was provided,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed there for 6 days in June 2011. It was ordered by our Chinese factory and therefore no one really understood what my problem was.

The Hotel Stuff made an upgrade to the 20th floor with stunning view for the NEW city (when there is no fog – and most of the time there is fog)
The location is good; the bus stop is just near the hotel takes you to the city center, lot of shops nearby. The bed was most convenient – I sleep like a baby.
BUT – no one specks English, even in the front desk, we communicate with our hands
I was the only foreigner in this hotel, 90% of the information is written in Chinese, no one can help you, and what is most problematic they just ignore you when you ask them and they can’t answer – just replay to the other person in the queue. Don’t even try!
I also didn’t use the breakfast I have been there and there was almost nothing for a foreigner to eat.
All the television channels are also only in Chinese.
In the room you don’t have a proper desk and the chair is without a back (it is a stool), after 3 hours of working my back was ruined.
The internet was very slow; and to send an e-mail I need to restart my computer time after time.
Bottom lines – if you are a foreigner – don’t go there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YROAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Pretty standard room in pretty standard area of Shanghai. Most fun feature of the hotel was the see-through bathrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 042111b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during our biz trip in Feb '08 just before Chinese New Year. The staff were helpful but had to speak in their language. Toiletories refilled everyday with 2 bottles of distill water. There is a street of stalls just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DebbieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Our Travel Agent booked this hotel for us, as our preferred hotel was booked out. This is not a good hotel for international tourists. It is for Business Travellers only, mainly Chinese.

Pros
- Modern hotel, nice rooms, view towards the Bund

Cons
- The name claims it is "International", but it isn't, as reception & concierge staff only know a few English words, and were unable to assist with any tourist info.
- Location, 10 mins walk to Line 3 metro (East Baoxing Rd Station), but the line that takes you to the Peoples Square is 20 mins walk (Line 8 metro, Hongkou Football Stadium)
- No map available from reception or concierge (even to get to the metro station).
- Not many other hotels, this is not a tourist area.
- Only a few restaurants nearby, and few had English menus (no English spoken). Most restaurants were street vendor quality (not for western stomachs).
- Small, compact bathrooms.
- Noisy aircon in room.
- No aircon in corridors or breakfast restaurant. Was 30 Deg C, and the temperature every inside except room was very hot and humid.
- After a 20 min conversation to book a taxi to airport, and assurances that it was booked, the next day, no one had any idea about a booked taxi.
- Hotel dead during weekends (due to mainly having Business Travellers)
- Breakfast is 6:30-9:30am, but wasn't set up until 7:00am. Had to ask each morning for someone to attend the egg / omelet counter.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_of_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 1BUKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Kingtown Hotel
Kingtown Hotel
#1,680 of 5,111 in Shanghai
67 reviews
Hongkou
Wisdom Hotel Shanghai
Wisdom Hotel Shanghai
#715 of 5,111 in Shanghai
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
No photo provided
The Unity Hotel Shanghai Siping ...
#2,542 of 5,111 in Shanghai
21 reviews
Hongkou
Joyfull International Hotel
Joyfull International Hotel
#2,564 of 5,111 in Shanghai
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai

Address: No.1885 Sichuan North Road, Shanghai 200081, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $51 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingtown Hotel the bund Hongkou Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing