We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worth stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #5 of 746 Shanghai B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A worth stay !”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel got an excellent in Shanghai where we could spend almost of time for three days staying here to discover local funs easily. The room was cozy and always kept clean daily. Staffs were charming and smiling, ready to help for any request.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanZan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    34
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
62
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed in Quintet last week for a night. Just wanted to try something different from the usual stay in hotels, and I had a really nice experience. Quintet has a very convenient location in the French Quarter. Nearby there lots of interesting shops and restaurants to make foreigners feel at home. Subways are within walking distance. In a sunny winter day, walking in this area was a wonderful experience.

The B&B itself is of a traditional Shanghai apartment. The furnishing offers modern convenience, but the old-style apartment and the small stairway offer you a glimps into the past lives of Shanghainese. It's also a wonder to hear from the manager, Kenny, that, in this type of apartments, each of these rooms used to host one family or more in the old days!

I really enjoyed my stay at Quintet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We - this means my family - stayed in the Quintet B&B at the beginning of January 2013 for two nights. We enjoyed the individual style and interior equipment of the house where you can still feel an atmosphere which you could never find in a modern business hotel. Even if it was a bit cold outside we could stand the winter temperature due to the air condition which can be used as a heater as well. I want to highlight the friendly service of the owner who helped me even late in the evening to get a problem solved which was quite urgent. In addition to the above mentioned points the Quintet house can easily be reached from the city center. Therefore we would absolutely come back to this nice place in the middle of Shanghai.
Stefan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A charming and very friendly B&B in an authentic 1930's home that retains the style of that era with large, stylish rooms. Whats more, it conveniently located in the most desirable part of Shanghai, The French Concession, where the locals want to live. I was made to feel very welcome from the first...arriving at dinner time, the owner took me to a restaurant nearby where we shared a very entertaining meal. Breakfast is served to order in the dining room where guests can compare their experiences of the previous day and what they planned to do that day. There are 3 subway lines located 5 to 10 minutes walk from the residence, though taxis are so inexpensive, they are hardly necessary. There is a bank across the street for getting money and the next block has a row of charming restaurants to choose from. I would definitely stay there when I to return to Shanghai. PS: My room was on the ground floor at the front and there was no traffic noise whatsoever.

Room Tip: My room had a lovely sitting room in the garden as well as a bedroom with a very large comfortable b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in June. It was a pleasant stay, but did not quite live up to our high expectations based on the reviews here. The B&B is located on a side street, but there is still a fair amount of traffic noise, including honking horns early in the morning. While the rooms are set back from the street a bit, the noise still often woke us up. Another issue is the wooden stairs and floors, which are nice but clearly announce all comings and goings. There were late arriving guests on three of our four nights there, and while they were generally quite considerate, their movements were difficult to sleep through without ear plugs. Breakfast is good, but there is not much variety so it can get a bit old by the fourth morning. There is also no sitting area in the B&B aside from the breakfast table and the roof deck. On the positive side, our room (Cathay) was spacious and well furnished. The neighborhood is lovely, with tree-lined streets and plenty of good restaurants, etc. Bruce and Kenny were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay; it was just a bit different from what we expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here back in October but I wanted to add a review because it was a fantastic place. Reserving the room over email was easy. They accidentally double booked the room we were in but got back to us very quickly and upgraded us to a bigger room at the same cost. The room was very nice and the location was good, but most of all the service was very friendly and the morning breakfast was very good. We would stay here again.

One thing to watch out for: We were in Shanghai for 3 nights and they only had 2 available so we went hoping for a cancellation to open up a room with their kind offer that if there wasn't one they would help us find somewhere else similar. In the end there was nothing available, which was completely fine as they never made any promises, but the place they recommended had pretty bad reviews when we checked it on tripadvisor so we found somewhere else on our own. Just a word of warning, though I would still recommend staying here even if it wasn't for the full stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_Travelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in the Fleur room and have similar comments to Karlie re the room itself. The breakfasts were very good (though it would have been nice to have some juice as well) - nice to sit at a communal table and get the chance to chat to other guests from different parts of the world. The staff are very helpful, the B&B is well located, with easy access to local eateries and metro line.

All in all a recommended place to stay - comfortable and safe!

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions given on the website (very detailed) to ensure you get a room that meets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole_NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 5,059 in Shanghai
894 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,059 in Shanghai
579 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#57 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,412 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#36 of 5,059 in Shanghai
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House

Property: Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
Address: No.808 Changle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 746 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintet is a boutique B&B located in the historic French Concession neighborhood of Shanghai. Stay at one of our six stylish, individually designed rooms in this three-story 1939 garden lane house and experience the bygone elegance of Old Shanghai. All rooms come with private baths, satellite TV, DVD players, and iPod-ready stereo. Enjoy gourmet breakfast in our downstairs lounge dining room or simply relax on the rooftop terrace. Knowledgeable staff can assist with special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintet Bed And Breakfast Guest House Hotel Shanghai
Quintet b&b Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing