We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #5 of 776 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B!”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Husband & I stayed here for two nights & loved it. Was our last stop on a 2-week trip in China, and the perfect end. Clean, great location, friendly & helpful staff, and a delicious breakfast too! More than accommodating, the Quintet staff leaves great tips for your sight-seeing ventures in Shanghai, arranges taxis in a timely fashion, and even assisted us in finding out if tickets were still available to a local show before making the trek there. Also, when our departure time required us to leave before breakfast, they'd had delicious sandwiches packed in our room to take on the road. We were in the Bubbling Room, which was quite nice. Only downfall was the few steps to the bathroom, as we'd done an extensive hike the day before arriving and our legs were quite sore. All things considered, highly recommend!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JSM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
62
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at Quintet for five nights in early February. We loved the location, on a nice French Concession street just a couple of blocks from two subway stations that serve three lines. (One of these is line 2, which serves both airports.) The building and rooms are quaint but fully renovated, with all conveniences and many extras (robes, bottled water, hair dryer, tea kettle and tea set, large safe for valuables, etc.). Excellent breakfasts are cooked to order and served in the dining room on the ground floor. We would definitely stay here again.

My only disappointment: we stayed in the "Oriental Pearl" suite on the ground floor. It's the most expensive accommodation, because in addition to the sleeping room it has a lovely glass-walled and roofed sitting room with a chaise longue and an antique desk. That room is very nice, but because of all the glass, in February it was much too cold to use. I wished we had booked one of the less expensive rooms, although I can imagine that in warmer weather the Oriental Pearl suite might be worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Don't pay a premium for the Oriental Pearl suite in mid-winter; the sitting room is too cold to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here, two adults and a 10+ year old child. We stayed on the main floor in a room with a glass porch area. The room was lovely, with really nice touches like a tea kettle. The bathroom was well done with nice colors. Our breakfast was fresh and delicious!
The location is really excellent, in close walking distance to some great restaurants and a couple of subway lines. Very easy to grab a cab out front.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mms_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Quintet very much. This inn is for those who don't the big hotel experience but want the cleanliness, personal touches, and local flavour that niche accommodation offers.

The inn only has six rooms. I liked the "split level" bedroom and bathroom, the little roof top balcony, our spacious room, the new bathroom fixtures, and wifi access. I loved the service. Housekeeping really knew how to tidy our room and put away our belongings so we find them easily. The office was ever so helpful with printing out our visas for our next destination and arranging a taxi to take us to the airport. I found the best way to communicate with the office was by email, while we were staying at the inn!

But look out if you have a heavy suitcase. The small inn does not have an elevator. You'd be lugging your suitcase up and down the stairs if you get a room on one of the upper floors.

Breakfast was hearty, cooked to your liking. Unfortunately, no room discount if you skip breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippingAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

An ideal location in the French Concession area, interesting restaurants and shops nearby. Also close to Metro stop to travel anywhere in Shanghai easily and little cost.

Staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious and generous, many options. Room was cosy and comfortable. The local guide prepared with eating, shopping, sightseeing and walking suggestions was excellent. Over a week we tried many of the recommended restaurants and all were good and very fairly priced.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Chose Quintet avoiding the big, unpersonal hotels from the Pudong area where I was working for some days.
I stayed in the Pearl room on the ground floor and enjoyed mostly having my own entrance to the room, via the patio so it made me feel I was in my second home.
Breakfast was great. I tried different options and when I was leaving early for work before breakfast hours my breakfast was turned into a lunch package at their own suggestion. That was very thoughtful and very much appreciated!
The room felt a bit cold when I arrived although that could be the damp Shanghai weather in december (?). Anyway heating and de-humidifier worked well and soon felt at home.
The staff was helpful, whether it was for a restaurant reservation, directions or any silly question I had.
all in all, a great pity I did not have extra days to enjoy the city, but I certainly enjoyed "my second home" in Shanghai

Room Tip: Chose the Quintet avoiding the unpersonal, big hotels of the Pudong area where I was working. Best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 379VPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This warm welcome lodge has almost everything which travellers want. modern chinese style room. quiet and privacy peaceful in the center of Shanghai. The staff here was very great and helpful, provide information for us and made our trip more comfy. We really enjoy 3 nights overthere. The weakness of this B&B maybe breakfast which doesn't have variety of food. At day2 you will feel bore with same menu and day3 you may stop eating breakfast. But in overall, this is the place which not disappointing

Room Tip: Oriental pearl on 1st floor has some backyard with garden view Grand cathay and bubling well have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MixyMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,466 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#31 of 5,105 in Shanghai
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,460 reviews
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#37 of 5,105 in Shanghai
910 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House

Property: Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
Address: No.808 Changle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintet is a boutique B&B located in the historic French Concession neighborhood of Shanghai. Stay at one of our six stylish, individually designed rooms in this three-story 1939 garden lane house and experience the bygone elegance of Old Shanghai. All rooms come with private baths, satellite TV, DVD players, and iPod-ready stereo. Enjoy gourmet breakfast in our downstairs lounge dining room or simply relax on the rooftop terrace. Knowledgeable staff can assist with special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintet Bed And Breakfast Guest House Hotel Shanghai
Quintet b&b Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing