We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible location, Average Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai
Ranked #174 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible location, Average Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I'm not convinced this hotel is still in Shanghai! Seriously, it is very far from Pudong and any restaurants or attractions. You will need to take a taxi or hire a car to go anywhere from here. And, the taxi drivers have no idea where it is so you better have a printed map with the location marked and the # to the hotel for directions. The breakfast buffett is average for a nice property like this and the coffee is some of the worst in China. I normally expect bad coffee in China - here, it is undrinkable. The pool is indoors and heated and well maintained. The staff is friendly but cannot make up for the other shortfalls.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    124
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
16
24
10
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stay here 4-5 times per year, mostly due to the higher cost of staying in the Pudong district closer to the Bund and a cluster of attractions. A common theme of most reviewers of this property center on the remote location. Agreeably, not too much in the walkable vicinity that would be interesting to a tourist. But the Superbrand Mall, Pearl Tower, etc are only a short 15 minute, 25 RMB (four bucks) cab ride away. And the hotel rates at this property - for the level of service and room quality - are a pleasant tradeoff to the "inconvenient" location. Restaurant buffets (breakfast/dinner) are a little expensive though the food is decent, but room service fare is varied and fairly priced. If there was a Starbucks or Costa Coffee kiosk in the lobby, this would merit a 5 star rating!

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor that you can get for your quoted room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for work. Room is good and clean. The staffs were very helpful, when I told them that the room was still very cold although I have turned off the air-con they provided me with portable heater. That was a very nice gesture. Food choice for breakfast buffet can be improved. Location wise there are no places for shopping or sight-seeing around the hotel. However, for business purpose this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Positive comments:
1. Rooms are tastfully decorated and very functional. The alarm clock lights up when picked up. Staff are friendly.

Negative comments:
1. Taxi drivers are not familiar with the hotel. This means you have to call the hotel everytime you hop into a taxi so that the hotel can give them driving instructions even when you have the hotel's name card.

2. The spa is out to solely cheat you of your money. The description on their spa treatments are not what they actually do. E.g. It states steam - but they do not do it because they do not have it. So, whatever they are offering in the menu you will get only 20% of it and pay full price. Prices starts from 360RBM. I asked for a back message and they tried to give me a full body message and charge me for a full body message.

The worst you can do is to cheat your guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alltomresan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel is located in Pudong Area nearby the river; however, its location is very bad because it is in the middle of nowhere. You cannot find anything nearby the hotel area, even any single convenient store. So it's really not convenient at all. However, I love the room because it is huge and clean. Mattress is nice and keep me well sleep. Lobby is also very nice and elegance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitlimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3-nights as part of conference facility.
The hotel itself is very nice and grand. Nice bedroom, very sophisticated and quite comfortable bed (a bit on the firm side). However the location is very far from the main attraction and metro station.
The closest metro stn is Deping Rd (Line 6),which is around 20 mins walk . Taxi to LuJiaZui shopping area will cost around RMB 30 and to LongYang Rd Maglev Stn around RMB 40. If you want to go further to Nanjing Rd, taxi will cost around RMB 60.
Aside of that, basically nothing to see or eat in the adjacent area,
I can't have a good night sleep during my whole 3 nights stay. The AC system is not works the way I wanted. I set the temp down to 16C but apparently it wouldn't go down and keeps showing room temp at 23-24C. This is way too warm for me. I called the engineering several times even they moved me to othe room, only to find same problem persist.
Other than that, everything else runs quite fine. Free internet access with decent speed. Breakfast is quite ordinary and never change any menu during my 3 nights stay. Check in process quite swift but check-out was terribly slow

If being asked, I wouldn't stay at this hotel anymore as I believe many hotels in Shanghai can offer better service and quality

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verdims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamHotel, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I was disheartened to learn that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations and I would like to offer sincere apologies for the service shortfalls you highlight. Although the hotel is equipped with a modern four pipe HVAC system - which allows for both heating and cooling simultaneously - I regret that is was not fully functional during your stay. I have also noted your comments concerning an "ordinary" breakfast and the slow check-out process. It is through the valuable critique provided by guests such as yourself that we are able to identify service shortfalls and implement corrective actions. Despite the services lapses encountered during your visit I do hope you reconsider your decision not to return to our hotel, and I would be pleased to handle any subsequent reservation request personally.

Sincerely,

Brian W. Dechant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, the location was convenient for our business trip but the surrounding area was nothing special. The hotel though is very grand with a big lobby area. Good check in and check out service, The rooms are special though. I stayed on the 33rd executive floor, very big room, remote controlled curtains, a glass window seperates the bathroom and the bedroom which can be turned frosted and unfrosted with a switch. All amenieties you could want in the room. good lighting and mirrors, robes, slippers, hair dryer, iron, comfy pillows etc

The wifi was unreliable and took a while to get going,

breakfast on the execuitive floor was OK, nothing amazing but average. Didnt try any of the other food in the hotel so cant comment

I gave this hotel an excellent score as they have really gone to town on the comfort of the rooms for the price paid

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The North Bund
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai
#130 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#199 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#101 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#74 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai

Property: Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai
Address: No.2288 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200136, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#95 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Royale Oriental has a fine range of elegantly furnished guest rooms, conference rooms, function rooms, western, Chinese and Japanese restaurants, bars, and an International Spa and Fitness Centre. With a high standard of superb personalized services our aim is to provide you with a “home to come home to” where we delight in delighting you. As mainland China’s first Plaza Royale brand and Howard Johnson International’s flagship hotel in the region, the 522 room luxurious 5-star Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai is located prominently on Pudong Avenue facing the Huang Pu River, a stone's throw from many CBDs and renowned landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing