We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai
Ranked #160 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Bargara, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is an opulent hotel placed in an area where the owners expected development which has not come to pass! It is a 40RMb cab ride from town but still with staying in. The automatic blinds and curtains are fascinating and the restaurants very good. Overall it is an odd mixture being not able to get the type of visitor it was built for so now catering to odds and sods.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    131
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
17
24
10
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great rooms in club floors, spacious and luxurious in a mixture of western classical and chinese oriental style. More affordable than most 5 star Hotels in the area. Good breakfast and evening snacks in Club lounge (really huge lounge, in the 33th floor you eat, in the 34th floor is the business meeting lounge, really good idea to separate those activities!). Basic amenities (iron board, hairdryer, mineral water daily) are fine.The purpose of my visit was an excibition in SNIEC. They offer a 2-ways free transfer to the center, so you save appr. 60 yuan for taxi both ways. Free Wifi is also a plus.Staff very friendly, with poor english though sometimes. If you are looking a really good AND affordable hotel in Shanghai this is the one!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Depy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed three nights recently visiting Shanghai, it is an excellent modern hotel, very nice rooms, Excellent lay out of breakfast, Staff spoke English, would definitely recommend anyone visiting Pudong region in Shanghai.

The only reason, I gave it 4 out 5 points is its location, you had to take a taxi anywhere you wanted to go, Shanghai having an excellent subway system and one can't get on it wasn't something i liked about this hotel. taxis were always available but if they had a station nearby or a shuttle to the nearest one, would have really been excellent.

Room Tip: Do check there club level rooms, they are better and on higher floors, the view to the river side wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khurram-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here long back when the name was just Grand Plaza Royale. I still have to come across a business hotel which is as modern as this in amenities. I am no dud and travel almost 20 days a month. An excellent hotel if you have work in Pudong and want a cheaper hotel. Travelling to Pudong from here is quick because of the elevated expressway.

The food had both international as well as local Chinese stuff. Not extremely tasty but you wouldn't end up wasting your time searching for restaurants. It is decent. Huge lobby, amazing interiors and an excellent view of Pudong skyline from the bedroom makes it one of the most desirable hotels in Shanghai.

Staff is extremely helpful and can speak fluent English, a very important thing which you will only appreciate if you have been to Shanghai before. None outside can speak English and hence it is very important to have some one in the hotel to guide you and write the addresses you want to visit in Chinese.

Staying in the center of Pudong should be the priority, if it is too expensive book in the Grand Plaza Royale and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Take the city facing room. Just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpionxylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have visited Shanghai for 4 years consecutively and stayed at different hotels, including the Gran Melia and must compliment the Wyndham for its overall great value for money. I would suggest to fellow business travelers to take the Club upgrade to avoid the extra charges for wire-less, breakfasts, late checkout, snacks etc as this is inclusive in the package. It also give u club floor which is high and no noise from the traffic, The bedrooms are large and spacious, extra comfortable mattresses, bath and separate rain shower, pity not enough cupboard space, electronic curtains, for it's floor to ceiling windows. Situation of the hotel near to the exhibition centre, taxi to airport RMB130 and to Bund area RMB40. Taxis always available. The concierge is friendly, always able to assist, although sometimes difficult to converse as English is not THAT good. Wireless did not work in our room at first but a technician was promptly sent up with a booster. Pity the spa was being renovated as would have loved to try it. Had dinner in the restaurant which was full and good. Would recommend breakfast for club lounge to be improved, rather have buffet downstairs. Overall will definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice. The rooms are absolutely amazing and well equiped. Big comfortable bed, tv, good quality amenities. The room itself is spacious, so is the bathroom, which is equipped with a nice rain shower. The TV above the bathtub is a pleasant surprise. I had an amazing view over the river as well.

However, service for me personally is a big part of my stay. As during my first stay I had a very nice time, I decided to come back. Though both times the service has been of varying level: from the check in to the maintenance in my room to the room service.
at check in, it was really quick, friendly smiley, professional but check out was slow and irritating, as the second time the staff seemed rude (maybe due to lack of English skills??) Complements for the operator though: they speak good English and are very professional. However, ordering room service later during the night was a bit difficult, as I was called back twice about things they forgot to ask, and when I got my food it was not what I 'thought' I had ordered. What also was slightly disappointing was the in-room breakfast menu. In the morning it turned out none!!! of the items we ordered where available.

For the rooms I would definitely come back but if you are big on the service and the location I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel is exceptionally beautiful: the room is huge, very VERY comfy bed...I've never loved any hotel beds and I really have to say this is like my bed at home!!!! The bathroom is spacious and I enjoy the tub with the TV a lot. Like all other reviews, the downside was the location of the hotel, far from the city center and exhibition halls...but Shanghai is a huge city and either you pay a hefty price for accommodation or cab rides in and out...But this was nothing compared to their world class service. I remember one night I smelled cigarette smoke on my floor (and I was staying on a non-smoking floor) and I called the service to complain about it. It was late at night but the manager took my case seriously and offered me another room to ensure I have a good night's sleep. Eventually I declined the kind offer and stayed in my own room (the smell could have been being surrounded by smokers during the day). The next day, another manager asked me about my night knowing what had happened. I thought it was very nice to be cared about. When I arrived home, I realized I've forgotten to pack my facial soap and I called the hotel which told me they could FedEx my belongings if I wanted to. I'm heartened to have stayed at such a fantastic hotel during my long, tiring business trip!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The North Bund
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai
#135 of 5,069 in Shanghai
396 reviews
Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#171 of 5,069 in Shanghai
139 reviews
Tong Mao Hotel
#618 of 5,069 in Shanghai
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,069 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#73 of 5,069 in Shanghai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai

Property: Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai
Address: No.2288 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200136, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#95 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#140 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Royale Oriental has a fine range of elegantly furnished guest rooms, conference rooms, function rooms, western, Chinese and Japanese restaurants, bars, and an International Spa and Fitness Centre. With a high standard of superb personalized services our aim is to provide you with a “home to come home to” where we delight in delighting you. As mainland China’s first Plaza Royale brand and Howard Johnson International’s flagship hotel in the region, the 522 room luxurious 5-star Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai is located prominently on Pudong Avenue facing the Huang Pu River, a stone's throw from many CBDs and renowned landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing