We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai
Ranked #171 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very short trip in China, but we feel this hotel is a great one...very clean and quite spacious...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LannyMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed 1 night on a short trip. The hotel is new built, in Pudong. The rooms were new and quiet. The only issue was power supply seems to be limited after midnight, so air con and hot water was limited... not huge problem for us as we were tired and slept well through it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joycekwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel is gorgeous. Whether on business of pleasure this is a spectacular place to stay. The Amazing and grand entrance hall gives a hint of the stylish rooms and restaurants that lie beyond.
The staff just cannot do enough to be helpful and the views are stunning.
My room was large and modern. It had a fabulous bed and spectacular views of the river and the city (when the pollution was clear enough)
The rooms that I stayed n were corner ones with two sets of windows looking in different directions. The had wireless remote control curtains and nets, a desk, chair, lounger, plesanty wardrobe and cupboard space, great TV and a bathroom with a great "rain" shower, a large bath, a second TV and, get this, a glass screen between the bedroom and bathroom that went instantly opaque at the press of a wireless remote button. How cool is that? It's like a scene from a James Bond movie. One second you can see in and out like there's no divider and an instant later you have complete privacy.
I stubbed my toe in the night and the hotel offered me a complimentary upgrade... I didn't even ask. That was just too kind of them. The new room was a suite with a great dressing area, and the same hight quality fittings as my last room.
The breakfast buffet was perfect and the one evening meal that I had in the Chinese restaurant was impeccable. I also had room service on a couple of occasions. The food arrived extremely quickly, was freshly prepared and fantastic quality.
Ii really do highly recommend this fine hotel. It is stonking value.

Room Tip: High up, river view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Pudong is known as "Pu Jersey", so when you stay here you need a great hotel. This place fits the bill. Huge gym, great restaurants, spa services, sweet rooms, what's not to like? I'll stay here again if I need to be in Pu Jersey.

Oh yeah, great business services.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shen_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have stayed at many different hotels in the Shanghai Pudong area over several years of business trips and this hotel is by far my favorite. I upgraded to the "club" rooms on check-in. The facilities are top-notch all the way around - luxurious quiet rooms, good beds, and great spa and fitness center. The breakfasts in the club lounge were excellent as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilki2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

nice hotel, good staff, good bar. The location is not too perfect but when you walk a little bit you can go in site streets and have a good dinner. the smell is very nice on these streets because they bbq and cook outside.

It is my hotel 4-5 times per year because my office is close to. I like this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamHotel, sales coordinator at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Thanks for choosing staying with us, as well as your valuable feedback.
Good news, we currently running free shuttle bus to the nearest life center, jinqiao plaza. Buses departing right in front of hotel's entrance, 3 times a day, and only takes u 5 mins to be there, for sure you will find more restaurant and cafe there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I wanted to check one of Wyndham hotels. So I took the opportunity to stay in this hotel. The Hotel was good . The room and bathroom was spacious and the accessories were new. I liked this hotel too much. The concierge and the reception desk were very useful. I liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The North Bund
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai
#135 of 5,160 in Shanghai
418 reviews
Minya Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#182 of 5,160 in Shanghai
142 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#147 of 5,160 in Shanghai
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#116 of 5,160 in Shanghai
201 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai

Address: No.2288 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200136, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#109 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#149 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $90 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Royale Oriental has a fine range of elegantly furnished guest rooms, conference rooms, function rooms, western, Chinese and Japanese restaurants, bars, and an International Spa and Fitness Centre. With a high standard of superb personalized services our aim is to provide you with a “home to come home to” where we delight in delighting you. As mainland China’s first Plaza Royale brand and Howard Johnson International’s flagship hotel in the region, the 522 room luxurious 5-star Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai is located prominently on Pudong Avenue facing the Huang Pu River, a stone's throw from many CBDs and renowned landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing