We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Ranked #108 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for one week and had a great time.
The lobby is beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The room that we had was nice and the breakfast was fantastic. If you like to work out, you should certainly go to the gym.
All in all it is a great hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solange t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 626 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Set in its own grounds in the French Concession Quarter, this hotel is an oasis in a vibrant modern city. The lobby is magnificent, our bedroom was bright, well-equipped and very comfortable, the shower was excellent. The staff spoke English well, and were very helpful. Taxis are plentiful and very reasonably priced, so the distance from areas such as the Bund is not a problem. The buffet breakfast catered for both Chinese and European taste and was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Una H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel during my business trip. The hotel is really beautiful. The service is great and the restaurant is superb. I never had such amazing breakfast before. The front office staff is very friendly and helpful. I would really recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in as part of a tour, we were given a room that was no smoking. When we got to our room, it was full of smoke.
We asked to move but they srnt someone up to spray citrus. We advised that this was not acceptable and they told us that the hotel was full.
When our tour leader complained for us, they magically found us a room which was half of the size with only a small window where previously we had a corner suite with a bath and a complete window that went along the entire room.
What we found out later was the people who were on the tour that did smoke rang down to get a smoking room, reception told them 'don't worry just smoke in the room you have it will be fine'. So they don't really have a non smoking section at all.
Lastly, the location is a bit far for sightseeing.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank antonialivestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed as part of a tour group and was very disappointed given the reputation of the Radisson hotels. The main problem was the state of the bathroom. The mould inside and outside the bathroom shower was dreadful. When we complained we were moved to another room where the bathroom situation was primarily the same but this room was smaller and the bathroom noise from the room next to us could be heard day and night. The restaurant meals were average but breakfast was very good. We wouldn't stay here again there is no value for money and location poor.

Room Tip: The subway station is close by. Easy to use and cheap. The concierge will have a subway network map.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rojorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had booked a triple room at least 3 months in advance of our trip and when we arrived the room wasn't prepared at all. We where shown up to a twin room with no third bed and one of the lovely room service ladies came with a third bed and set it up (whilst we were in the room!) I helped as no body else came up to help her, and we had to rearrange some furniture and take out one of the singla sofa chairs as there was no space for the third bed and the chair in the room. This was pretty shocking to me considering what rating the hotel was and how they failed to provide such a basic thing for us.
Also out luggage was not brought up to our room which was annoying as we wanted to shower and change in to fresh clothes. We had to go down ourselves and find our luggage, then a concierge brought out things up to the room.

We visited in november and the room was way too hot. The windows could not be opened without someone from room service opening it for us (even they struggled bless them) and the AC set on the lowest was pointless as it did nothing really.

From the airport it cost us 230RMB which is quite pricey, and the hotel is not really located in an area close to any of the major tourist sites.

The reception staff were quite abrupt, but the concierges and room service/restaurant staff were great.

The positives were:
-Nice view from room on 13th floor
-the international restaurant on the ground floor is lovely and reasonably priced.
breakfast was great and the selection is brilliant.
-the hotel lobby and overall appearance in hotel is very nice
-there is free wifi everywhere. We were told it might not be strong in the rooms but we still managed to get a good signal.

Overall I would not stay here again and I would definitely advise tourists who have come especially for sight seeing to consider other hotels. If you are going to choose a place then somehwere around or closer to the Bund promenade would be better as there is more to do/see around there, so it would be worth spending a little more for another hotel there.
The money you save booking this hotel is spent on taxi fares getting to other places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyeshaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I'd echo what the others have said, the location does put the hotel down.

Hotel grounds are great and impressive same as most of radisson blu hotels.

Indoor Pool is good and the gym, sauna, locker room is also great.
This hotel seems to have 3 interconnected building with one that is 7-floor high, and the 2 others a lot higher.

Superior rooms, according to the front desk at the time of checkin, only have twin beds which is not good if you are travelling alone or if you are travelling with your wife/husband.

Hotel has complimentary wifi but I was not able to connect to it on my room. When I asked the front desk about it, they told me that the wifi signal is really weak inside the rooms. To my frustration and dismay, I had to go to the lobby and connect to the wifi from there.
This never happened on my stays in Park Plaza(a 4-star hotel of Rezidor chain) which makes me wonder why does this hotel(which is a 5-star hotel) have this problem.

Other than that I would say that it was an "OK" stay.

Location of the hotel is around 500-600 meters from Exit No. 1 of Shanghai West Subway Station of Line 11 (turn right after you exit Exit No.1).
It is also near the Shanghai West Railway station which is a bullet train stop for longer travels by train outside of shanghai.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings, try to get your self on the highest one. If they assign you to the building t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#47 of 5,112 in Shanghai
865 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#58 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,112 in Shanghai
605 reviews
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#158 of 5,112 in Shanghai
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan

Address: No.210 Taopu Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $73 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star full service hotel with three restaurants two bars a health centre conference centre and indoor pool.The Hotel also have a club lounge dedicated hotel cars for airport pick ups Free broadband and WiFi as well as many other features found in an international 5 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing