We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Ranked #106 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

price for Deluxe room: USD $70 (around 450 RMB)

Location: In the middle of nowhere. surroundings are pretty dirty and underdeveloped. Nothing to do around the hotel. 8 minutes walk to subway, 50 RMB taxi to People's Square. When I stayed at the hotel (during Chinese New Year time) there were hardly any people at the hotel.

Service: adequate. Concierge looked like he hated his job, but was not rude. When you enter the hotel, the air freshener smells too strong. It kind of reminds me of the stuffy perfume of a old rich lady.

Room: clean, with a nice king sized bed and soft pillows. Bathroom had a shower and a bathtub that was separated. Bathtub is pretty small. It's hard to fit someone 180cm or above. I enjoyed the shower head, which was very large and comfortable. TV had a decent selection of both Chinese and English channels. Wifi was a bit slow. Took an hour to download a movie.

Pool: You need to bring your own swim cap, or you can buy one for 10 RMB. The attendant at the pool was very nice and helpful. Pool is a bit small, but the tiles lining the pool are a beautiful milky white that shines with light. Sauna room is small (there's 2 in the changing room of the pool). When I went to the hotel in the winter, the pool was heated to 28 degrees C, which was a bit too cold to lounge around. There was no jacuzzi.

Gym: Small gym, with a good view of the pool and of the outside. (gym and pool are on the 6th floor) They have all the machines you need. There's also a yoga room.

Spa: did not go to the spa. It was closed on the day of stay

Overall: Very good for the price. Would not recommend if first time in Shanghai traveling with limited time. Good for couples. Definitely a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    209
    99
    28
    14
See reviews for
59
121
38
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice hotel. I really enjoyed staying here. Especially the service was great. They pay a lot of attention to the service. Concierge was really useful, they helped me with whatever I needed. Breakfast was nice, there was a nice variety of food also for people who don't eat meat.
The hotel might not be located in the center, but a subway is right around the corner so getting there wasn't a problem. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renske s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Cove, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We took a big chance and bought a cheap Groupon tour of the Shanghai area and on to Beijing with added trips to Xi'an and Guilin. This was our first (and last) "bus tour." While SNA Tours definitely cheaped out on the food and some of the sightseeing stops, this hotel was the nicest of all the hotels at which we stayed. Our room was clean and attractive with a comfortable bed and good linens. The large en suite bathroom had a window with venetian blinds into the sleeping area (unusual to us but quite common in China). The hotel's included breakfast was the best we experienced on this trip in terms of variety and taste and offered both local and western fare. Even cappuccino, upon request, without extra charge.
Potential guests should be aware that the hotel is at least an hour's drive from the international airport, even at 2 a.m. with light traffic. Upon waking in the morning, the view from the room was directly into an apartment block and quite depressing especially in the constant grey skies of polluted Shanghai. The hotel location seems well suited to the business traveler and to bus tours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV8APilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am regularly staying at this hotel during my business trips to Shanghai (about every other week). The staff is very friendly and professional, the rooms are very clean and very well kept, the club lounge has a very good atmosphere with the most friendly staff, the view from the top floor can even go as far as the famous Pudong skyline on clear sky days. Although the hotel is not located in downtown Shanghai, it is very well located between Hongqiao airport and "downtown" Shanghai (Jing'an area, French concession). It is very easy to get a taxi from here or to take the subway (with the next station right next door).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel was clean and well kept and had an excellent breakfast buffet and restaurant facilities. The room was very modern and clean. In the lobby they had what was apparently the largest jade sculpture in the world. It was very cool. We visited the big museum in Shanghai and there jade area had nothing as cool as the sculpture in our hotel lobby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLAPMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I am back to this hotel again and this time for business. I really like this hotel very very much as the service is excellent and staff's tried to go beyond their expectations to satisfy your needs. Top floor club lounge are with excellent view of the city (able to see the TV tower of a clear day), a pool table and band entertaining you at night.
Chinese restaurant are pretty good which specialize in Cantonese and Shanghainese dishes. Used one of the Chinese restaurant VIP rooms which is quite and nice.
Cannot stop compliment the hotel. Well done to the management.

Room Tip: High floor facing south will have the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeiCaiWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

As two American women staying in Shanhai, we couldn't have been more impressed with the experience we had at this hotel. We stayed in the club level and would consider the executive lounge staff above and beyond----so many positive things too mention, but you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay on Executive level and you will be treated like royalty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#46 of 5,105 in Shanghai
850 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#64 of 5,105 in Shanghai
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,718 reviews
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#105 of 5,105 in Shanghai
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Address: No.210 Taopu Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star full service hotel with three restaurants two bars a health centre conference centre and indoor pool.The Hotel also have a club lounge dedicated hotel cars for airport pick ups Free broadband and WiFi as well as many other features found in an international 5 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing