We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've ever stayed at, fantastic service and value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Ranked #122 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I really don't know why trip advisor have rated this hotel as 4.5 star, it is defiantly a 5 star hotel. My family and I stayed here for two weeks and the service was outstanding. We were upgraded to a business room and recieved daily free softdrinks and beers as well as little nibblies. The beds were comfortable and the daily free buffet breakfast was amazing with a wide variety. The chefs were even more than happy to whip up some food for my daughters dietary requirements. We had free wifi and access to the immaculatly clean pool and gymnasium. We developed such an amazing bond with the staff that we were treated like we were a part of the radisson family. Arne the General Manager, as well as Julia, Cameron, Kitty, Carlos and the trainees Alondra, Iullia, and Aloe made our holiday the best we've had in 38 years. We had such confidence in the staff that we even left our 16 month old daughter with them to babysit. The hotel has 3 restaurants to chose from however we only ate at the Terrace due to the fantastic buffet that was offered and it was defiantly value for money. The train station is a 5 min walk away and it took us 15 mins to get to the city center. There is also a supermarket on the the next block away which is handy. Directly across from the hotel is a laundry mat for those who chose to wash their clothes elsewhere.
From the depths of our hearts we would like to thank you Radisson for making our stay so special we will defiantly be coming back and would highly recommend your hotel.
Eleni

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Koulmandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 637 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, the breakfast is amazing. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom had both a tub for relaxing and a shower with excellent water pressure. What I liked about this location is that it isn't in a tourist area, walking around the hotel is safe and it provides the opportunity to see how daily life is.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I booked a delux room at 20th floor, it is clear, big room, with window to the bathroom. perfect for couples.
The hotel managment seems professional, and has European taste. The customer manager is a russian woman, who is kind to all guests. As far as I read in the hotel brochure, it is lead by a german guy, who seems precise. He checked the breakfast himself, (croissant is hard or soft, the salad is fresh or old). I love the quality assurance :)

Room Tip: I prefer 20+ level, because of the smog in the city. I may be paranoid because, one cannot open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gen_profate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel (clean, very friendly staff, food is spectacular, try to get a room with breakfast included) They even asked what kind of pillow you want... I asked for Buckwheat pillow... beautiful...the only down side is that its far from the bund and the famous Nanjin Rd. To get there you can take the subway to West Railway Station and walk about 5 minutes (or take a little bike taxi for 5 Rmb). If you plan on taking the taxi there make sure you print the CHINESE version of the hotel name and address. Its 220Rmb from the airport to this hotel. If they want to increase thier business they should use thier shuttle bus to bring people to the Bund area and to the airport...
to get from the Bund to the hotel by subway will take you about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welltraveled5635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

As a UK lawyer visiting Shanghai for the first time, the hotel became not just a base but a community of staff and other longer stay clients which became good friends.
Arne, Julia and Cameron excelled their positions is providing added value to my stay, whilst Gina and Roger on the lobby bar helped with food, beverages and even assisted me in understanding the language.
I have mentioned these people by name as they deserve recognition for their hard work in going that extra mile to make the stay even more enjoyable.
I was invited on informal drinks evenings at the hotel and around the city with Cameron who took out several guests helping me integrate and understand the city whilst making good contacts and friends for when I return.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and already have done to my colleagues.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Rooms are relatively clean, except for lacking tidiness in the bathroom. Free Wifi and wired Internet. Breakfast buffet is ok, standard has dropped compared to previous stay. There are no proper restaurants in walking distance from the hotel beside fastfood and street stands. Service is unprofessional, when you speak in English to reception staff, the reply is a disturbed face or unfriendly "wait". Even for room service, the English proficiency is bad. Overall a comparatively cheap stay in an average hotel with service shortfalls. Not recommended unless budget constraints.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stopped at this hotel for the second part of our holiday in Asia. We were given a free upgrade to a club level room on check in which was a great added benefit.

The hotel is around 20 minutes in a cab from Hongqiao airport, which cost RMB50. Just be careful of what looks like airport officials trying to tell you that you need to get a minicab, which costs RMB250!

The room was on one of the upper floos, with a great, albeit smoggy view of Shanghai. There is a Carrefour supermarket around 5 minutes walk from the hotel, so easy to pick up any essentials, and West Shanghai subway station is about 10 minutes walk maximum. Although the hotel isn't in the city centre, it is only two changes and 15 minutes from Peoples Square, so we thought an excellent location.

As we were upgraded to a club room we had the benefit of the club lounge. The lounge had 3-4 people in at any time, so was nice and quiet. There is afternoon tea served during the afternoon and alcoholic drinks of an evening with canapes. The canapes were of a high standard and waiter service for drinks. You can also have breakfast in the lounge, but we opted to have in the ground floor restaurant.

We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly, from the reception staff, to the porters, to the lounge staff, and nothing was too much trouble. When we were leaving we asked for a cab, and by the time we had settled our account, the taxi was at the door, bags loaded and driver told where we were going.

Breakfast served a great selection of fruit, breads and pastries, western and asian hot choices.

The room was spacious, good selection of tv chanels, free minibar and a great bathroom. The only downside was that we felt the AC wasn't powerful enough. I think it would need to be looked at if it was the middle of summer!

All in all a great hotel and we will definitely look to stop here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Starr Hotel
#130 of 5,205 in Shanghai
65 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#107 of 5,205 in Shanghai
463 reviews
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#117 of 5,205 in Shanghai
555 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#157 of 5,205 in Shanghai
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan

Address: No.210 Taopu Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $68 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star full service hotel with three restaurants two bars a health centre conference centre and indoor pool.The Hotel also have a club lounge dedicated hotel cars for airport pick ups Free broadband and WiFi as well as many other features found in an international 5 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing