We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world experience-Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #18 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out of this world experience-Stay here!”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Room:
We arrived early at 1 PM so we had to wait for about one hour for our room. During that time, we were seated at the lobby and were given complimentary drinks. The lobby had a very impressive view of the Shanghai skyline-we sensed that this hotel is something out of the ordinary. After an hour of waiting, we were able to check in to our room at the 84th floor. It was a very modern, Zen-like designed room that had a good view of the Jin Mao Tower, Huang Pu river and the Bund. We also had a view of the Expo site.
Because of the view from our room, we never felt the need to go to the SWFC observatory a few floors above us.
My family was impressed and we felt that we had made the right choice. The room mostly in dark gray and brown colors had a big working desk, a sofa and king-sized bed. The bed side control panel had controls for the curtain, lighting, etc. Internet access was complementary.
The walk-in dressing room and bathroom were quite big and had nice a rainshower facilitiy. The toiletries were impressive. The separate toilet had the automatic Toto toilet seat. The toilet was quite dark but this might be the most modern hotel toilet in the world.

Breakfast/Dining:
We tried the buffet breakfast at the Dining Room. This was quite pricey compared to the breakfast we had at the Yi Cafe at the Pudong Shangrila. While Yi Cafe had a more impressive variety of food, the Dining Room gets our vote for overall food quality and service. The bread and cakes were fresh as well as the fruit juice drinks. We also raved about the organic egg dishes.
We also tried the 100th Century Avenue Restaurant. Reservations are a must for dinner as it really gets crowded. We were given a window side table and the views were again very impressive. The beef steak and pork dishes we were served were very good. The place was quite busy so the servers were hard to come by as they were rushing to and fro.

Facilities:
The swimming pool at the 85th floor had underwater led lights and was about 1.2 meters deep and 25 meters long. The pool was very clean and the pool side had plenty of pool side seating available. The overall atmosphere is that of luxury. The gym had state of the art machines.
There is a Tai chi class in the morning and held in front of the gym.

Staff:
The service was very attentive although there were times when we found minor problems in the English communication skills of the staff.
The welcome cocktails held every Wednesday evening for hotel guests was a nice touch.

Location:
The hotel is in the Pudong area and it is about 10 minute walk from the subway station and from the Orient Pearl Tower. The Jin Mao Tower is just across the street so you can also try the restaurants at the Grand Hyatt. The hotel is connected to the SWFC mall which had a few restaurants and a number of convenience stores.

Overall:
This is one of the best hotels in the world in terms of facilities and service.
The room was very impressive and staying in the hotel itself was an experience we will never forget. The view of the Shanghai skyline from the room and the public areas were stunning. I and my wife slightly prefer the Peninsula over the Park Hyatt but this is quite a very close choice. My son actually prefers the Park Hyatt. In conclusion, staying at the hotel is an experience in itself so we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tycotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    253
    57
    22
    13
See reviews for
107
247
100
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I cannot say enough about this place. The Building itself is Fantastic and the Hotel and Service is hard to beat. Very Friendly,prompt and very helpful.We were on the 86th floor with views of river and Pearl Tower. Rooms were spotless and Restaurant Food excellent. Its perfect. No matter the price..stay here you do not want to miss this experience of high class service and stunning views and fabulous food.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penrod001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Spoiled is the word i would use.

The hotel design is incredible, 90 stories up, the highest hotel in the world, the most fabulously appointed hotel in the world, excellent design, friendly helpful staff. Views to die for and rooms that broke my heart when we left......................

the stuff of dreams really exists here

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The hotel is beautiful with a large "Vegas" like lobby. The staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side but very clean. Smoking is allowed inside so that is the only negative. The Concierge floor has a wonderful view and breakfast is better than the typical hotel. Just be careful on the streets as it gets very busy and traffic is awful! Otherwise, you can't go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LXChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Park Hyatt is a hotel where you want to stay for leisure, not for business. I say this because once you step into your room, you're not going to want to leave unless it's for the infinity pool, jacuzzi, and stunning view from the bar upstairs. We stayed on the 81st floor that looked over the Grand Hyatt. The room seriously felt like a residence because of its large size and home-like feeling. Imagine a regular hotel room. Times that by three. With a high-tech toilet, built-in TV in the mirror so that you can listen and watch the news as you get ready for the day or wind down from the day, rain shower from the ceiling, blinds that you can control from the bedside....awww, bliss. We went for a weekend getaway for my birthday, and I thought to myself, "Anyone who stays here must come for the sole purpose of enjoying their time in their room or in the hotel."

We dined at the restaurant upstairs. To be honest, we did not feel that the quality of the food matched its value. The presentation was wonderful and the service was top-notch, but we have had much better elsewhere in Shanghai (read: Jean-Georges). The same goes for breakfast. We had breakfast in our room and while it was nice and warm, the pastries were average. We can make better pastries at home! So, I would say that if you are to leave your room, it's to head to the nearby Din Tai Fung (a must if you are visiting Shanghai) or somewhere else near the Bund.

If you are planning on staying here, do take a bathing suit and goggles (they won't rent them out). The view from the pool is fantastic, and there are comfortable beds with more than enough cushions for you to relax and even take a nap after doing some laps. We didn't check out the gym, but it seemed really fancy.

Having to leave after just one night was hard, so we do hope to visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin_Cupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Wonderful view, professional staff, elegant rooms, amazing swimming pool, good location +++Perfect +++

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Location:
It is situated at Pudong area and situated at the top of Shanghai World Financial Center building. Many prefer to stay in Puxi but I feel this hotel seems good cos there are some shoppings and tourist spot within walking distance. Taking a cab to Puxi is also easy and inexpensive.

Room & amenities:
I booked their bund view king which is at level 81. You need to use your room card to access the floor level. The room is quite big. It is around 55 sqm. The room interior is very posh! The wall and wardrobe are in dark brown and the light is quite soft and dim. The whole setting is more like your own studio apartment than staying in a hotel. It has a nice long dining table in front of the bed, a working desk area, a day bed, a large bed and a large bathroom. My room has the bund view. However, it is a shame that it is partially blocked by Jin Mao Building. Both day and night views are quite stunning. The bed is extremely comfortable and the pillow is fantastic! There is a large LCD TV in the bedroom and also a ipod dock. There are fresh pears in the room. Complimentary mineral water are plenty. The in room safe even has a power socket and it is big enough for you can keep your laptop inside and charging it. However, there is no complimentary English newspaper provided. Good thing is that there is complimentary internet in the room. It is rather fast and easy to connect. The room has also tonnes of wardrobe for you to hang your clothes. Two besides the room and one in the bathroom. There is also a coffee maker for brewing your own coffee or getting hot water. There is no lack of high tech gadgets in the room. It ranges from motorized window curtain to automatic toilet to built-in mirror TV in the bathroom (where you can catch your morning news while brushing your teeth) to lighting intensity control switch.

Bathroom & amenities:
The bathroom is big. Amenities are nicely packed in a tray. The towel is huge and good. Bathing toiletries are from luxurious Aromatherapy Associates. The rain forest shower is very generous and the bathtub looks huge. The bathroom also features oriental bath. There are two basins for you and partner to brush your teeth together. As mentioned, there is a TV in built to the bathroom mirror.

Service:
When I arrived at the hotel entrance, there is a staff to escort me personally to their hotel lobby at level 87 for check in which is fast and staffs speak good English. The bell boy sent my luggage straight to my room. The staffs on the whole are friendly and helpful. This hotel provides turn down service which I like. When I come back hotel every night, the room is prepared for sleeping. Mineral water is left at the bed side and slippers on the floor. One special thing is that you always need to pass thru a metal detector and have your things x-ray when entering through the hotel entrance. Though a bit cumbersome, I feel safe at the same time.

Facilities:
They have swimming pool, whirlpool and gym. The swimming pool is located at level 85. I went to swim at night. The light is rather dim which is good as you get to see the night views outside easily. There are only 1 or 2 other people at the pool and whirlpool when I used it. So it is pretty quiet and very enjoyable. I particularly like the part that they provide a waterproof bag for you in the locker to store your wet clothing when you going back to your room. This is very thoughtful.

Surrounding:
This hotel is extremely quiet. Not many people. I really love the dim light from hotel entrance to lobby to walkway and even in your room. This provides a very upclass feel. There is a shopping mall below the building if you need quick bite. There is also a 24 hours family mart which you can buy beer or snacks if you feel hungry in the middle of the night. A 5 to 10 mins walk get you to IFC mall which is a very upclass shopping area. You can get your Gucci and LV there. If you need more affordable shopping and eating, walking another 5 to 10 mins down the road get you to Super Brand Mall. As this is a rather downtown area, there are no inexpensive local eateries around. If you do not take breakfast in hotel, I think the best alternative is Super Brand Mall. Nearest metro station is Lujiazui Station which is about a 5 to 10 mins walk and the entrance is just outside IFC mall.

The setting of this hotel is more cater to business traveler. It really give me an exclusive feel which is very upclass with a quiet surrounding. Overall, I have nothing but very positive feel about this hotel. I strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a luxurious stay with good experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Craze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,314 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
598 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Shanghai

Property: Park Hyatt Shanghai
Address: No.100 Century Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
occupying the 79th to 93rd floors of the Shanghai World Financial Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing