We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,246)
Filter reviews
1,246 results
Traveler rating
863
273
64
24
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
273
64
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiplomatic suiteinfinity poolrain showerjinmao towerfew floorsbottle openerjin maocentury avenuebund view roomifc mallluxury hotelhotel is beautifulfavorite hotelthe financial districtliving roomsteam roomthe pearl
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 1,246 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Pros
- Large rooms (I believe smallest rooms are 50 sqm and up)
- Very modern decor with great artwork
- High headroom
- Bathroom have some sort of Japanese theme, with toilets seperate from the main bathroom
- Very strong water pressure from rainshowers (the strongest I have ever experienced)
- Square seems to be the motive/design theme of the hotel, and it is evidenced throughout
- Private elevator access to hotel lobby on 87/F, then key access elevators to respective room levels
- Great service from all hotel staff
- Small, but very beautiful pool
- Buffet breakfast adequate with lots of waiter/waitress on hand to serve you
- Cool one-touch light/window binds control from bedside
- Fast and free complimentary wired and wi-fi internet
- Great views of Shanghai as this is located at the top floors of the currently tallest tower in the city
- Bellman always on hand at ground floor drop-off lobby to assist with bags
- Security check at ground floor lobby
- Modern artwork throughout
- Comfortable beds and pillows
- Coffee and tea making facilities

Cons
- Really, there isn't!

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone - the dark/modern/simple/reflective decor or theme they were going for totally works, and the service was absolutely top-notch

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Now that the hotel has open for more than a year, the previous problem of taxi drivers not knowing the location simply disappeared. Upon arrival, my wife and I had to go through the security check, two tall but rather dark doorways to the lift lobby, took the high-ceiling lift to the hotel lobby on the 87th floor. The room floor corridors are, again, rather dark. The decos are very Hyatt, but gave us the feeling that it might be a touch too cold. Our three-day stay was basically excellent, with one point worth mentioning. When we were at the hotel lobby on the 87th floor, we just wanted to browse around. There was a security guy eyeing our every move, as if we were trespassers. There was a stairway leading to the Function Room on the 86th Floor. When we wanted to walk down, the security guy just forbid us. That wasn't very friendly. If that was a closed area, why not put up a sign?

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0r1dTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Shanghai in early March was cold, grey, rainy, windy… simply dreary. But our stay at the Park Hyatt in Pudong Shanghai definitely brightened our stay.

We arrived in early morning after a red-eye flight from Bali. Upon arrival, the check-in was flawless. The lady who escorted us to the room showed the amenities and familiarized us with the switches in the room. The butler already prepared a complimentary continental breakfast on a tray in our room. In addition to the in-room espresso machine and the complimentary wifi, these experiences gave us a pleasant and good first impression of the hotel. And the experience continued to be extraordinary.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I needed to get medicine that’s only available in China. The concierge found that the medicine wasn’t available in Shanghai but managed to trace the manufacturer to Funan and arrangements were made to ship the medicine to our location.

We stayed in the Park Deluxe Room on the 85th floor, which literally was in the clouds. The room was well designed with interesting high-tech gadgets (the toilet and the shower area were the highlights here). The room felt spacious (the ceiling was high). On a clear day, the views out of the window were breathtaking with the mind-boggling architecture and skyline of Pudong. The Mad Max type futuristic Jinmao Tower and the Oriental Pearl Tower were right in front of our eyes. The bar on the 92nd floor was alive even during the non-ladies weekday nights.

We wanted to make a 1-day trip to the ancient Chinese town of Suzhou and water town of Zhouzhuang but were confused with all the offerings on the internet. We asked the hotel concierge for recommendation and they said they worked with a local travel agent and gave 2 package options: the deluxe and the standard. We took the standard which was reasonably priced and were surprised that we were picked up in a nice, clean, spacious car with a good English speaking lady guide. The package included lunch and we had a feast at an excellent Chinese restaurant! All this with only a standard package?!! Wow we were so satisfied with the arrangements.

We found the concierge opinionated and was surprised when he said don’t bother to go on the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel and visit the ancient town of Qibao. Only later did we find that we should have listened to him!

If there is any criticism at all, I wonder why there is some rust on the taps by the sink in the bathroom and the door handle at the toilet room when the hotel only opened in late 2008.

Overall though, it was a luxury experience with absolute quality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maura-SoeparjadiKwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Excellent staff and service, friendly and personal. Efficient organisation of meetings and activities, airport pickups and dropoffs. High quality restaurants and facilities.
Well designed and spacious rooms.
Views would have been brilliant if the air outside was not smoggy

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

6 Star all the way. Superb service. Impeccable, detailed rooms. Outstanding views. Breakfast is a tad expensive but very high end. Will not hesitate to stay again. Bring some trunks to check out the spa and infinity pool upstairs. This is the best hotel in China and one of the best I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews