We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view, modern and elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

As a frequent traveller and regular contributor of my experiences, I learned to first look into the bad (“poor”) comments of guests in Tripadvisor. I do that at the end of my own stay, once I am ready to pencil my own opinion. Reason: it gives you an idea why people are rating a hotel as “poor”, is it because of an unfortunate event, an incident (that can always happen in any hotel, its up to management how to resolve that) or does it show a pattern? I come to that at the end of this comment.

To start with the good news. It’s a fabulously interestingly designed hotel. The rooms are spacious and somewhat “austere”, but the use of different materials and the brown/steel/grey interior make it very contemporary. What is striking is the combination of a wooden floor with a modern tapestry – a detail that comes back ion the hotel floor design - a slightly curved working table, glass-steel modern lighting – that can be dimmed, very nice – spacious cabinets and above all a very modern, comfortable bathroom, with a heavenly rain shower, a bathtub with a slight wooden finishing. All very nicely done. Because the rooms start at such a great height (reception at 87th floor) its quiet (a real treat for any hotel). The curtains can be closed via electric curtain tracks, making it really dark. A separate toilet, Japanese style, opens when entering and automatically flushes.

The hotel coming in from the entrance, turns out to be quite a maze and it will take you a while before finding pour way. The reception is at the 87th floor, breakfast is at the 91th floor, which, if you stay at say the 82th floor, is quite a puzzle to go first up with an elevator, than change the elevator at the other side of the reception and then to go up again. To go out you have to use two different elevators. Can be rather confusing.

A word of criticism: like many have mentioned service remains an issue in this hotel. The attitude of the staff can be really improved (and I am not referring to just saying “hello, good morning”, that works, sure) its rather high nose at times, reception (especially the Chinese ladies) should do a better job in trying to accommodate guest's quqestions or issues they raise. Staff gives the impression that they are ill equipped in resolving these smoothly. The attitude of the staff at the club at the 92th floor is flat out rude. Service is terrible (waited 20 min before I got my beer making me feel really uncomfortable having to ask 3 times). The 92th floor bar is noisy, the music is horrendously bad. Hotel management, close it all together or make it stylish and stop asking 2200 RMB (can you imagine?) for a “window” table where you have lesser of a view than when you go to the 87th floor at reception. Prices are inflated and have no relatioship with what is being offered. breaks down the hotelexperience all together.

In short, a beautiful hotel, surely one to recommend staying, but service issues remain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything was impeccably well taken care of as expected for this chain. You have a breathtaking view everywhere you go be it in your hotel room, dining hall, by the pool, even the changing room.
I wished we planned our stay better though. We stayed in passing for 1 night and it was a smoggy day so I was not able to see the sunrise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daria818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The quality of the rooms, service and food was wonderfully refined and exceeded all expectations. Will definitely stay here again, Just perfect. You can enjoy the huangpu river view just from you bed.and the staff were very helpful and spoke nearly flawless English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsssable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I returned from Shanghai this morning after staying in two separate 5 star hotels,the Park Hyatt and the Peninsula.Both hotels are superb and heve a totally different vibe.The Hyatt is more contemporary and modern while the Peninsula is a classic European style service hotel on the Bund.I loved both hotels but much to my surprise preferred the Park Hyatt.
The Park Hyatt sits in Pudong ,overlooking the river and Bund.I understand that it is the second highest hotel in the world.
Rooms start on the 73rd floor of the world financial building.my room was on the 78th floor and was very spacious and well layed out.The views are to die for.At check in we were upgraded to a very nice and spacious room that had the largest and best hotel bathroom I have ever seen with a large well designed shower and soaking tub.The toiletries,staff and housekeeping services were the finest of any hotel stay.
The spa and indoor rooftop infinity pool is a great place to chill and take in the views.
Restaurant,breakfast and bar are outstanding.
The hotel is attached to a luxury mall which has great restaurants and a nice Spa(Green Spa).
Staff was personable and could not do enough for us. surprisingly,I found the staff to be much warmer and more service oriented than the Peninsula or Four Seasons.
I highly reccomend and most definately will return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

With a great location and contemporary design, spacious bedroom with amazing views and high tech details the Park Hyatt Shanghai hotel is on top of my list of places I stayed at. It’s like being on top of the world, as the hotel is actually located in a 94 floor tower, they have the upper ten floors. The SPA is very clean and truly relaxing and enjoyable, the indoor pool with Jacuzzi is a dream. The staff is very friendly, efficient and professional. The oriental breakfast is a case apart!! I recommend this hotel to all, Best place to stay in Shanghai!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeronicaTGiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for 4 nights and to sum it up in a few words it was spectacular. We were upgraded to a suite. The rooms were large,comfortable and the views spectacular. Every evening we were treated to a view of The Bund.
The staff were attuned to our needs even prior to our voicing them. The hotel is a short walking distance from the riverfront. It is safe for walking in the evenings. The hotel is located on the upper ten floors of the 94 floor tower. The manager Christophe Sadones upholds the quality of the Hyatt system.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kotsanfrancisco_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Due to the minimalist design it's a bit complex. However, Hyatt hotels usually don't let you down. Excellent Food and Beverage offers, great breakfast on the 91st floor, looking down at the elder sibling, Grand Hyatt Pudong.

Design issues make your stay a bit frustrating. But great bed, excellent shower etc. Unfortunately, the weather was cloudy so my 80th. Floor room had very little to offer in terms of views.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,450 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#23 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Shanghai

Address: No.100 Century Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#182 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $249 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
occupying the 79th to 93rd floors of the Shanghai World Financial Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing