We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Steps Above the Grand Hyatt Jin Mao (both Figuratively & Literally)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Frequent traveler to Shanghai, and often stay at the Grand Hyatt (which is a perfectly good hotel). Chose to stay at the Park Hyatt during my most recent trip. After such a pleasant experience I'm hooked.

Park Hyatt has a feel of a Boutique Hotel. Seemed empty on the guest floor and gym, which made the spaciousness feel ever more so spacious.

Breakfast spread was fantastic. Overall Service (check-in), restaurant, bell men, all first class.
View from the Park Hyatt was perfect. Actually looked down at the Jin Mao Tower (again, the grand hyatt is a very good hotel, but the Park Hyatt is really something else).

Also, it's very clear that they put their staff through the highest training. If you stay at '5 star hotels' you sometimes may see 3 star service in a 5 star uniform (and price). In my opinion, the service at the Park Hyatt was 7 star at a 6 star hotel.

From now on, think I'll book the Grand Hyatt when the Park Hyatt is not available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

the bathroom is amazing. the 60RMB coffees, not so. still, it is a park hyatt, so i suppose it's to be expected.

there are so many taps and showers and buttons in the bathroom, it's a bit confusing, but once you figure them out it's a lot of fun. the room i stayed in had super high ceilings, it felt like a penthouse apartment. and the pool is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vichosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Park Hyatt Shanghai was an experience in and of itself. The Staff was welcoming and attentive during the entire stay. We had a private butler on our floor ready at a moments notice. Our room was laid out well with an enormous bathroom. The toilet was off in its own relaxing room and the shower was enormous with water coming from every surface. Our entire wall was a window facing the Bund with very impressive views. Automatic shades came down in the morning and were adjustable from the bed.

The pool and fitness area were all black stone with an infinity pool. The lounge on the check in floor was high atop the building and the floor to ceiling glass walls provided a fantastic view.

I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviatoradair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Firstly - who wouldn't want to stay high up in the clouds?!

Amazing hotel - highest building around with great views from every room - am a regular and every room is the same with different views.

Very comfortable bed and room.

What I like -
The views, bathroom (love the shower) and the toilet. Yes the toilet - equipped with one of those automatic toilets.

What I don't like -
Travel time - from ground floor to room. Well it's already very quick but the journey can be too long if you are exhausted from work (or drunk).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a drink before we checked in and because the service was so poor we didn't bother checking in.

The bar smelt stale on arrival. We had to move a chair ourselves to accommodate our party, we had to call over a waiter who later tried to clear the table while we were still drinking. When asking for the bill he told me the amount verbally (no bill) and then accepting cash from me into his hand, returned with change in his hand - no bill holder or receipt....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked the Park Hyatt for the view to capitalise on our one night in the city. Unfortunately, it was a wet evening and the bottle opener was shrouded in cloud and the views were non existent.

Perhaps if the views had been stunning our review may have been more positive, but with no magnificent views to draw our attention we focused on the hotel experience.

We had two rooms, A twin for our almost adult teenagers overlooking the Bund and a double with city view . The double smelt damp and the twin was a smoking room and we were not advised of this ( although to be fair, we didn't specifically request a non smoking room) but the very strong smell of smoke was unpleasant. The rooms are well appointed and contemporary. The beds very comfortable with lovely linens and well equipped bathrooms.
It's one of these hotels where the lighting throughout is dim and the colour scheme muted therefore it always feels dark in the corridors and the restaurants.
A tea or coffee in the reception is 60 to 75 cny (£5.50 - £7.00) there is a choice of several restaurants and we chose the 91st floor with a mixed menu. The food was good and we were each given a complimentary glass of bubbles on arrival. We all chose cautiously and dinner for 4 with one course and one shared pudding was 1000 cny (£90.00)
The following morning we had breakfast and made the mistake of not asking the price in advance. There were no menus or prices visible and I even contemplated that it may have been inclusive in our room rate.
We had a light continental buffet breakfast . No hot food and one of us had just a plate of fruit. We were shocked to receive a bill for £120.00.

In summary, we made some fundamental mistakes by not clarifying the price of breakfast, howeverI can't blame the hotel fully as we should have asked but the extortionate price of breakfast has left a sour taste.
Despite this, we would recommend the hotel to those who want contemporary luxury with the potential of a magnificent view...........but be warned about food prices and be a little more savvy than we were!

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker request a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoola2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. Beautiful rooms. Request a Bund view. Stellar. Very cordial staff, always there to help you find your way. Pool is lovely at night. Great experience that I will not forget! Fun nightclub, private bar and nightclub area just for guests. Bar/restaurant service in main lobby level.
Excellent management team.

Room Tip: Views of Bund, as high as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 594MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,454 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#23 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Shanghai

Address: No.100 Century Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#182 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $234 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
occupying the 79th to 93rd floors of the Shanghai World Financial Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing