We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koala Garden Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$362
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$158
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$322
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
$122
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$117
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
39
29
18
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
29
18
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 93 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here after extending a work trip for some sightseeing. The hotel is in a lovely street, mainly pedestrianised, close to a market with yummy streetfood. Its a 10 minute walk to the tube, but you get to choose form 3 different stops making the location very well connected. Walking to the tube is comfortable and safe. Altogether a good location.
A few things that would make the place better:
1) The whole place is one big smoking area. Perhaps that is normal in China, but if you are sensitive to this, or perhaps just stopped smoking yourself, don't choose this place. I think it was one of the main owners/managers who was smoking indoors most of the time.
2) Breakfast. I tried for breakfast on day one, was told at 8am the guys is still sleeping. Got some at 10:30 in the end. The scrambled egg was covered in sugar, rather than seasoned with salt (again, perhaps that is a Chinese thing?). It is not the end of the world - I then had awesome streetfood for breakfast on all the other days.
3) 3rd floor, hot water is more luke warm than hot in the evenings (though ok in the morning).

Room Tip: get a room on the 3rd floor for quietness.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalaland0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012. We were very excited after reading reviews and seeing pictures. Based on the pictures we didn't want a room with mattresses on the floor (basic room) but one with a nice big bed such as in the picture. We booked a queen superior room, expecting nothing less than what you see in the picture.

At the day of check-in we are led to our room, and guess what? Mattresses on the floor! We complained of course, but were told that 'no, you are definitely staying in a queen superior room'! If we merely had booked a standard room, it probably wouldn't be as disappointing as it would be to our expectations. This however, was a huge disappointment.

The staff on duty were very young and were hard to communicate with. They could say nothing but sorry when we wanted to get some money back on check-out. Their manager was not there and there was nothing they could do. We had to pay full price. We finally decided just to get on with it and over with as we were traveling somewhere else and didn't want it to ruin the rest of our holiday.

Further, our room had a window that barely shut. As it was November it was also very cold and drafty. Thank god the air con worked! However, the traffic could easily have been inside our room. That's how loud it was! Our room was on the top floor, all the way to the left.

The first day we wanted breakfast. We were the only ones in the restaurant and waited 40 minutes for some eggs and bacon. Mine came 10 min before my boyfriend's too. But that is often how the Chinese serve food, as soon as it's done.

Internet.. was not working on the top floor. The router was just outside our door hanging on the wall. We complained to the staff in the bar, and he just said 'OK' and nothing happened. Complained again the day after, nothing happened. So, we had to go down to the restaurant if we wanted to use the super slow internet.

Wanted to use the laundry service! That was quite interesting. Requested for one pair of trousers not to be tumble dried. Later that day when we came to pick up our washing, no one knew were the trousers were. My boyfriend later found it himself on a drying rack on the balcony among lots of other clothes. The rest of the clothes however... wow. They had not even bothered putting the clean and dry clothes bag in the bag. I was led out to the back of the hotel were there was a washing mashing outside which was missing the top lid (old fashioned washing machine) so the clothes were completely exposed as they were washing. This was also outside, only covered by a tin plate as a roof. Completely exposed to the weather - and it was raining! My clothes were left on the top of the tumble drier and clothes had fallen to the ground on the dirty floor. The guy simply pointed me in the direction of my pile of clothes and had to carefully put it back in the bag so it wouldn't fall over onto the ground. Can't believe we paid for that!

Also, there were no shampoo or soap on the bathroom, which is standard in any other hotel/hostel I've ever stayed at. We had to go and buy our own soap and shampoo in a shop around the corner!

In general, staff were rude and not paying attention. When we complained, they were whispering to each other in Chinese and giving us mean looks. And most importantly, don't be fooled by the amazing looking bed for the queen superior room, we got only a mattress on the floor!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel are angled away from the noisy traffic. Also, make completely sure that you get the room you are paying for.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mia_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at Koala Garden for two nights, our room was considerably nice and comfortable. The decoration of room was colorful and richly spacious. The location located next to the metro and shopping center, staffs arranged us a city trip and flight ticket,too. They had the breakfast: simple but lovely and included with the room rate. The hotel was a smart choice for a cheap price in luxury Shanghai

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff in the reception area were very friendly and helpful. They opened a bottle of wine for me (although it really did look like it was the first time they had used a corkscrew!).

We were a bit disppointed by the private room itself. It was very small for the price.

The hostel is on a quiet street (with loud road construction going on during the day). It is near an interesting shopping street and relatively close to the metro.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maskotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thought this was a hostel, but more like a B&B - without the breakfast of course
Rooms were nice and cozy. Suited me fine
The building looked really nice and well maintained and it is in the duolun culture street with its cobblestoned street. Convenient to metro - 15 minutes away from Bund/People's square
Staff - quite friendly and helpful. We had a mini crisis with some needs, and the staff helped us out, more than they needed to.
Overall, highly recommend this.
The place is really affordable too - for shanghai

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews