We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartment Shanghai
Ranked #2,515 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I got a very good deal here, less than USD 50 for 2-bedroom unit, 1 room with king and the other room with twin, and 1 bathroom. The unit is very cramped, once you walk in 2-3 steps, the rooms are there, side by side, plus 1 bathroom, and 2 cramped area to put in your bags & coats only...but not a problem.

Drug store & Family mart (mini market) are available closeby, and open 24 hrs, very useful for breakfast, we didn't book the rooms with breakfast as the price was almost doubled. Try the family mart's sushi and frozen meals, cheap & great taste.

I very recommend this hotel, and would love to stay back again, cheap, clean, modern and easy access to the metro and bus stops (there's one in front of the hotel also).

And one more, for those of you who would like to go to Qi Pu Lu, take bus # 17. Shoppers paradise ;-)

Room Tip: Higher floor to enjoy the night view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xtnas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 234 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We traveled as a family of 4: 2 adults, 2 children under 4. We booked a Deluxe Twin room with 2 queen beds (according to an English website), couch with pull out bed and tub.

At check in, we got our cards but he told us the wrong room. Rooms are in different buildings. 2nd trip to front desk and we get the right room. Deluxe Twin room but no queen beds, only twin. 3rd front desk visit, complained to a manager and another room (apt suite). Much bigger room, 2 queen beds and a 2nd bathroom. Room was great but we knew it was much more expensive. They said no extra charge. We would not have liked the room they originally gave us.

The elevators are a death trap. It opens and you literally have seconds to get on before it closes on you. It closes hard. If you put your hand in the way to stop it, it still closes. Having 2 small kids it was a hassle to get 2 strollers while blocking the doors and hoping it separate you from the kids.

There is a pool but it is in building 8, the other side of the campus which is about 2 city blocks away from the front desk. You MUST wear a swimming cap. They are thirty RMB if you do not have one.

The staff, in general, are not helpful or friendly. Also, address is wrong. The front desk is on the SW corner of Zhaojiabang Road and Ruijin South Road (diagonal from SML mall).

The redeeming quality of the hotel is the great location next to the Dapuqiao metro station on Line 9. The SML mall is fantastic. Outback Steakhouse, tons of Chinese and foreign restaurants in the mall and to the walking streets to the north. City Shop, a fantastic foreign import store, is on B1.

McDonald's, Pizza Hut and KFC are across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: Beds in China are basically box springs in America. Ask for rooms with a queen bed at the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 583ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a double room which was a decent size and fairly comfortable. Cleanliness was just about OK in the room although the windows were so dirty you could hardly see out. Balcony although large, needed a good mop so we avoided spending time out there. Location is walking distance to Tianzifang and about 7 mins to metro but other than that there is nothing much around here. The swimming pool and gym were a little shabby but clean enough to use although you do get to them by going through a very dirty corridor. Concierge was useless couldn't even provide map. They said there was no WiFi although it does show up the staff just won't provide password. But for the price paid, not a bad standard and good amount of facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our flight was delayed & we knew we'd be arriving after midnight, so I called the hotel from Hong Kong - they quickly found an English speaker who said not to worry. We finally arrived at 1.15a.m. and were upgraded to a "suite" - more like a one-bedroom apartment as there was also a kitchen- though nothing in it but two cups - not even a spoon! A dishwasher but no dishes- perhaps these are kept for long termers... in the middle of the night a taxi from the airport was about 200RMB & took 40 minutes.
Everyone we dealt with spoke reasonable English, except the pool attendant who wouldn't let my friend sit by the pool even to chat as one key card is only good for two guests! (We figured this out because my friend speaks Mandarin). Pool was OK, my daughter was happy.
The room was clean enough & very comfy. No WiFi, not really a problem for us. We got such a great deal through last minute.com that we can't complain- 4 nights for about £110 total!
It's less than 10 minutes from the subway station, where there's coffee shops, donuts etc. I suggest going through the gardens at the back (small playground there too), much nice than walking up the road. Will be back.

Room Tip: High floor or back rooms if you don't like traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HkPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on the works dime so I can't complain. It was the hardest bed I have ever experienced in my life. But the accommodated me by giving me 8 extra pillows that I put under the sheet.
The room was clean and they gave two cold bottles of water daily placed in my fridge after many requests it was done that way anyway. Haha. It was a bit far from any metro station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartment Shanghai

There are several possible ways to get to the hotel from Pudong airport but starting with the Maglev high speed train is a prefer way for many travellers. The maglev takes you within 10 minutes as far as the metro line 7 Longyang Road. When you come out of the station you will see Line 2 and from Line 2 ticket hall you will see the direction for Line 7. Take Line 7 towards Fanghua Road, get off after 11 stops at Zhaojiabang and change to Line 9 towards Jiashan Road, get off after just one stop, and take exit 2, follow the same direction as the exit you will come to The Rayfont Downtown within few minutes which is the same group as the Rayfont Celebrity. You can walk through the residential area on the side of the Rayfont Downtown, the second road that runs across your direction is the main road called Xietu road. There is a guard unit at the way out of this residential area, just walk through, and the Rayfont Celebrity is on your left at the corner of the Xietu road. You can also walk past the Rayfont Downtown, keep going around the corner without crossing the main road (there is one small side road to cross) you will get to the other corner where Xietu road is and the Rayfont celebrity is at the corner.

Dapuqiao station may be a little closer but too many crossing main roads and in China traffic is not about the expected only, there are plenty of the unexpected so look around you always because following the rules is not that important to the locals, so it seems.

The only problem with Shanghai metro is that escalators or lifts are not always provided. Google search the Shanghai metro map, it is easy to get one.

There are few restaurants near the metro Jiashan road station on both side of the road. If you are up early, you can check out some local breakfast from the small shops near the metro station. A big Tesco on the other side of the main road from the Metro Jiashan road station provides easy shopping. A Starbucks is at the main junction near Rayfont downtown if you want to remain patriotic.

If you get a taxi from the Longyang road station, try not to use the taxi rank there because they are waiting for tourists and will ask you more than double the fare amount, so bargain more than half or walk away from the area to flag down one from other road. Even if you tell them the road name of the hotel, they tend to go by the hotel name that they know, so you might end up at Rayfont Downtown.

The hotel is in one of the blocks of flats. You get a big room with firm double bed and good strong air condition to cope well with the heat outside. The room is cleaned and bed sorted daily. There is a safe deposit to keep your valuables, a mini fridge to keep your drink cool, and a kettle for tea making with tea bags provided, the balcony is neglected and quite dusty. The broadband internet costs 36 Yuen per day but the speed is only good when there are not too many people are using it, otherwise it’s jumpy experiences. The swimming pool is in the basement and a gym is in the building somewhere, I am not sure. These I did not bother to find out for sure. If you go for a 90 sq m you will get a proper flat with large sitting / diner and a separate kitchen. There are televisions in bedroom and sitting room. It’s odd to me that the cleaner cleans around the kitchen sink but not other unit near the fridge. Going in the lift you need to wave your room card at the card reader before you can use the lift.

Overall it is a great hotel for the amount of money you have to pay. Of course you can have nearer to perfection but it will cost you plenty more.

Room Tip: Get a one bed apartment which is excellent value for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business and was very disappointed. Firstly the 2 bed suite we stayed in was so dirty we had to change rooms to a mildly cleaner option. They advertised broadband in the rooms which equalled I broken cable in one of the two bedrooms only! When I tried to ask for help they could not understand me. If you advertise in English the staff need to have at least the basics. Never staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank issi_253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Dapuqiao
City View Hotel Xuhui
City View Hotel Xuhui
#1,992 of 5,205 in Shanghai
23 reviews
Dapuqiao
Tiancheng Hotel Shanghai
Tiancheng Hotel Shanghai
#1,307 of 5,205 in Shanghai
22 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,422 of 5,205 in Shanghai
180 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#96 of 5,205 in Shanghai
783 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#107 of 5,205 in Shanghai
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartment Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartment Shanghai

Address: No.1077 Xietu Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200032, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,515 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $47 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartment Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayfont Celebrity Hotel & Apartment Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayfont Shanghai Celebrity Hotel And Apartment
Rayfont Shanghai Celebrity Hotel Apartment
Rayfont Shanghai Celebrity Apartment Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing