We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in a hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Ranked #12 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time in a hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

This was our first hostel experience and we were pleasantly surprised. Our double room with ensuite was a good size and very clean.
The roof top balcony is a nice spot for a drink and to chat with other guests.
Staff here were very helpful and spoke good english, we organised with them to buy our train tickets to Nanjing and also the expo. A small service fee was charged but worth every cent when seeing the chaos at the station.
We had the small breakfast buffet a few times, probably a bit exspensive for a hostel but good for the convenience and the food was nice.
Free wifi assess was good in the louge room and there were also a few modern computers set up.
The hostel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the subway down a busy road then turning left down a small lane.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    109
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
36
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed 4 nights in a female only dorm.
The location is amazing, very close to people's square, in a nice street where people sell crickets :)
The dorm was big and clean with an air-con, the bathroom was shared between two dorms but there was two showers, which was convenient. You have your own light next to your bed and a small shelf, and he reception gives you the key to a locker.
You can wash your clothes and there is an area where you can hang them.
The decoration is absolutely beautiful, I really liked the little pond with fish :) The bar / restaurant looks good but it's very expensive compared to what you can find outside. The drinks in the lobby are also quite expensive.
There are two computers which are free of use although quite often you have to queue to use them.
I would totally go back to this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfish-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Spent 3 nights in a double deluxe room and although the room was small, must say that the room was clean. They forgot to give us towels so had to request them. A bit disappointed in the television programming but were happy to find that we could rent a DVD player for 10RMB/ day and free movies/tv shows to select from. We're not going to downplay this place too much as we were content with the location as we were at most 4 stops from the main sites or starting points to go further away since the hostel is located near Line 2 and 7 of the metro.
Though I would recommend that for the price you pay for this type of room you're better off going with a hotel, we honestly didn't have too many complaints.
The staff wasn't the most enthusiastic or bubbling to assist in trip planning but they were pleasant.
In terms of future recommendations, if you're not picky and go in with realistic expectations, then this just might suit your needs. If you only need a place to sleep (though may be a firm rest) and will be out during the day, I would say go for it. It is clean and in a relatively practical location. Costs under 20RMB to reach the Shanghai Main Railway station--the main reason I chose this place to begin with--that and its proximity to the metro.

Word of advice: During the Expo Shanghai is CRAZY BUSY and there are crowds of people--especially at the tourist sites.
Recommendation: Make a day trip Jhu Jai Jiao--totally worth it. It takes an hour each way by bus from Pu'an Rd/ Pu'An Lu bus station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdVentures4Lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We were really looking forward to our stay here from all the good reviews in both Lonely Planet and on TripAdvisor but were truly disappointed with our choice. Although the location we thought was good, a 10 minute walk from the subway and not far from the French Concession, the price and our overall comfort level was not enough to make us want to stay here again. Private room was sticky despite the AC, only garbage collected occasionally - bathroom after a week of us staying here was never even lightly cleaned. Towels provided had enormous holes. Bed was tiny for two and hard. Noisy construction right outside window which started early in the morning. Staff was okay - not very helpful with what was available in the surrounding area. Was most upset that I wasn't allowed to sit in the EMPTY rooftop bar unless I bought a drink in the middle of the day. Breakfast buffet overpriced. Room prices raised due to Expo. I definitely wouldn't recommend this place, for the price it's worth it to spend a bit more and stay in a proper hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Le Tour is situated down a classically 'shanghainese' winding back street, complete with massage parlor, hanging laundry, stray cats and the Shanghai equivalent of a greasy spoon. In this way it is a fantastic introduction to the city. The local shops, restaurants and food stalls that surround the hostel in all directions offer a great and authentic taste of Shanghai, whilst the underground is only a short walk away and (the incredibly cheap) taxis pull up at the top of the street frequently.

The hostel itself is clean and well managed, with internet access and a nice outside decking area and bar. The staff were, on the whole, helpful and very polite. However, the rooms were small and in comparison with the rest of Shanghai the hostel was overpriced. Beers were nearly twice the price of some of the local restaurants, and the average breakfast (which was not included in the price) four or five times the price of the (delicious) local street food. I felt we were paying for the westernized features of the hostel and in future I would seek out more typically local accommodation in a similar location.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertthemouflon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I really wanted to give this hostel the highest possible review. The room was clean and nice. It was cheap, only ~$45 per night. It had a TV and air conditioning. The only real downside was the cockroach that we had to kill in our room. It made us very hesitant to sleep. Someone else that we were traveling with did not have any bug issues. It is the only thing that is keeping me from giving this place rave reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was my first experience staying in a hostel, so to ease myself into the more budget environment my husband and I booked a private room with a private bathroom. The room itself was very standard, small room but enough space for what we needed. The room came with a queen size bed, a small desk with a chair and small TV and TV stand. My husband and I had fun watching the Chinese stations after a long day of exploring the city. The bathroom was very tiny but did the job. The ladies that worked at the hostel were amazing, especially one named Jerri (her English name). Jerri was constantly writing down whatever we needed in the Chinese characters for us to use while we were out and about and also gave us great advice where to shop and eat and the exists to get off on the subway. There was a really yummy place for some morning boaza (not sure on the spelling, but the steaming meat buns) right across the street from the hostel. It was a great experience and I would certainly stay there again. Oh just a warning all the mattress in these places are very thin and somewhat uncomfortable.....well for me, my husband loved them, but I prefer more cushion.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank primate1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#14 of 290 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Property: Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Address: No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tour Traveler’s Rest Youth Hostel is located in the downtown area of Shanghai and is just 10 minute’s walk from the Subway (Line 2 and Line 7) (JingAn Temple Station and Airport City Terminal). Shanghai Exhibition Centre, Paramount Entertainment and former French Concession are all within walking distance. 5-minute's walk from the subway Line 7 - ChangPing Road Station, which leads directly to Shanghai EXPO Park.Nearby Nanjing West Road is a busy main road with offices, shops, restaurants and pubs. However the hostel is set back in a quiet residential side street away from the hustle and bustle. The building itself was built in the 1930s and is a former Towel Factory that used to supply towels to almost every family in China. When renovating the building we tried to salvage and re-use as much as we could from the old building – much of the furniture, flooring and panelling that you see in our guest rooms and common areas are made from the original timber.We accepts ISIC, IYTC, ITIC, HI Hostel card, Hostelworld VIP Card, … as our membership cards. We can offer accommodation in double rooms, twin rooms, apartment rooms and shared single-sex dormitories. The hostel offers a lively, vibrant atmosphere and has a Café and Bar, 24 hour access, free internet, bike hire, laundry, luggage lockers, garden, TV/DVD lounge, Table Tennis, Billiards and a quiet reading room. Also, at our reception there is a Travel Center, where customers can book flight and train tickets, as well as tickets for local one day tours and acrobatics shows, and much more besides… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tour Traveler`s Rest Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing