We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Ranked #12 of 307 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean & Good Value”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in the private deluxe double room. Our room & private bath, and the common areas are very clean. Another good indication is their shared bathrooms. They were spotless! I stayed at this hostel about 3 years ago and it has kept well. Location is good; quiet inside an alley; It felt safe. 10mins walk to the metro and many local reasonably clean and cheap food shops around. The internet connection is good. Service wise they were helpful with Chinese translations; however, we did not ask for other kind of service (like booking for travel etc). The upper rooms are private one; the dorm is on level 1. This is a very old building so does not have lifts; which means that you need to carry your luggage up.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end are the quietest; all have windows and for privacy the hostel has installed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GesanSharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    111
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
17
36
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Le Tour Youth Hostel for 4 nights, booking into a Twin Room with private bathroom in August 2012. Haven't used youth hostels for many years and was pleasantly surprised at how good this one was. It is particularly good for non Chinese speaking travellers as you can get all sorts of help and advice and will always find someone who can speak English (in most of the Chinese hotels we stayed at during our 4 week trip in August 2012, the staff struggled to speak much English). We also looked inside the Chinese Youth Hostels in Suzhou and Xian and they both also looked similalrly well equipped, although we didn't stay in either as we had pre-booked hotels elsewhere). The Le Tour is in a quiet location, has a lovely roof top eating/bar area, has WiFi, and has plenty of space in the communal areas. It is a 15 walk to the nearest subway and it is easy to travel to the downtown area by the metro. The breakfast is a bit pricey, and they charge RMB20 for a beer (which you can buy in the local supermarket for RMB3), but I guess they need to make their money somewhere. One final tip - if you travel by train in China, always have your passport on you when you book train tickets as you need to provide ID details. ID is not required to buy tickets for the metro systems in Beijing and Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of four (2 girls 11 & 13) stayed at Le tour in July and welcomed the effective A/c in the rooms as it was 40 degrees outside. One slight disappointment was that we were unable to get a room for four or adjoining rooms (despite pre-booking this request ) so we had to split up. The large ground floor games room (billiards, table tennis, video room) stayed cool and provided good late night entertainment as surrounding restaurants in the neighbourhood close at 9. The rooftop bar served a small but basic breakfast but the best value was the all day/night free wifi (supposed to buy a drink but you can sit on it for hours). Hidden down a laneway it is a tad hard to find but if you follow the signs to the reflexology place (the spinning foot) it is right next door. We enjoyed a reflexology session for AUS$10 /hour but staff had zero English and didn't understand our attempts at mandarin so a bit hard to tell them to ease off or go harder. If you turn right out of Le Tour and follow the laneway to the end you end up on a much better street and neighbourhood with French bakeries, a bank and grocery store than if you turn left!

Room Tip: Ask for the end of a corridor to minimise passing foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallycp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Large hostel that used to be a factory of some sort- so big, cavernous, quiet, rooms. We stayed in a three bed that had towels, shampoo, shower gel etc provided. Free wifi in the rooftop bar and the reception. Table tennis and DVD rooms downstairs. The breakfast is a bit poor- 45 RMB for all-you-can-eat low standard Western breakfast and instant coffee.

Also, it's only 10 minutes away from Jing An Si underground station, so it's in a nice location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at the hostel for two nights before I continued on to Italy, and used it as a base for exploring the city. The location is pretty good, about a seven or eight minute walk to the nearest metro station, and then you're basically in the city. The rooms and bathrooms were all very clean; the staff friendly if a little vague and unhelpful. As I left early ad returned late, I didn't get much of a chance to experience the atmosphere, but from a glance there seemed plenty set up to help young people keep busy and meet each other. No complaints for the price at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

More like a hotel than a youth hostel. with indeed very friendly and helpful staff.
We stayed there for one week in a private room - as we were traveling with our 4yr old son.
Having spent that time there we loved the neighborhood, the rooftop bar, though breakfast is not that good as expected, we definitely recommend this place for a stay in shanghai.
French Quarter is near, MRT is not far, wonderful restaurants nearby.
Great

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerald f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Merely a 10 minute walk from Jing An subway station, Le Tour Hostel is buried nicely down a little alleyway off the main road. We stayed at Le Tour for 4 nights at 65 RMB per night and found to be a bit pricey but still a perfect retreat at the end of a busy day. Our room was a 5-bed dorm with A/C and lockers. There was a shared bathroom for the entire ground floor, which were cleaned regularly and had 24hr hot water. There was wifi but did not reach our room and the connection was horrendous. The hostel had a very comfortable reading room, pool table and kitchen with microwave for guests to use.

The service at the hostel we found to be top notch. The staff were always very friendly and helpful with anything we needed, even writing out all sorts of things in Chinese for us to make our life easier. There is a great local supermarket around the corner (near Wagas) merely a 5 minute walk away as well as some awesome locals restaurants at the end of the alleyway - if you can get past the staff speaking zero English.

In the end, paying 65 RMB per night we found to be a bit expensive for simply a bed at the end of the day and we ended up staying in a different Hostel when we headed back to Shanghai, but if you're in the Jing An area I would definitely recommend heading down to Le Tour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,438 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#36 of 5,059 in Shanghai
575 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#13 of 307 in Shanghai
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Property: Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Address: No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 307 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tour Traveler’s Rest Youth Hostel is located in the downtown area of Shanghai and is just 10 minute’s walk from the Subway (Line 2 and Line 7) (JingAn Temple Station and Airport City Terminal). Shanghai Exhibition Centre, Paramount Entertainment and former French Concession are all within walking distance. 5-minute's walk from the subway Line 7 - ChangPing Road Station, which leads directly to Shanghai EXPO Park.Nearby Nanjing West Road is a busy main road with offices, shops, restaurants and pubs. However the hostel is set back in a quiet residential side street away from the hustle and bustle. The building itself was built in the 1930s and is a former Towel Factory that used to supply towels to almost every family in China. When renovating the building we tried to salvage and re-use as much as we could from the old building – much of the furniture, flooring and panelling that you see in our guest rooms and common areas are made from the original timber.We accepts ISIC, IYTC, ITIC, HI Hostel card, Hostelworld VIP Card, … as our membership cards. We can offer accommodation in double rooms, twin rooms, apartment rooms and shared single-sex dormitories. The hostel offers a lively, vibrant atmosphere and has a Café and Bar, 24 hour access, free internet, bike hire, laundry, luggage lockers, garden, TV/DVD lounge, Table Tennis, Billiards and a quiet reading room. Also, at our reception there is a Travel Center, where customers can book flight and train tickets, as well as tickets for local one day tours and acrobatics shows, and much more besides… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tour Traveler`s Rest Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing