We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff and nice rooftop bar/cafe but lacking character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Ranked #14 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and nice rooftop bar/cafe but lacking character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night before we moved on. Although the hostel appears to be a small inn from the front, it's actually enormous inside with rooms across three large levels. After staying in several of the same faceless HIs/YHAs throughout China (often they're the best option, and sometimes the only option), we were looking forward to something with more character, this being Shanghai and all. Unfortunately Le Tour didn't quite meet our expectations on this front but it was still a pleasant place to stay. The facilities were standard for a youth hostel, with a common lounge and recreation area downstairs and a rooftop bar and cafe on the third floor. Tsingdao tallies were Y20 each (a bit pricey we thought until we saw other Shanghai bar prices) but they also offered foreign beers and there was a small drinks store just down the road selling local beers for Y3-4/tallie. We were going to have the buffet breakfast in the morning but it didn't look that great considering it was Y30 each. There is a busy local style canteen on the corner of the laneway to the hostel which could be a good alternative if you don't mind a non-western breakfast.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room for no extra charge when we checked in due to all the private doubles being taken. The room was roomy and had a couch, TV, AC, broadband and a reasonable sized bathroom. We ended up spending most of the evening relaxing at the rooftop bar and cafe. It's a nice place to relax, especially in the evening when it's cooler.

The hostel is located close Jing An Temple station on the green Line 2. Both airports and Hongqaio Railway Station are also conveniently on this line. The hostel is also very central for exploring the rest of the city so we'd highly recommend considering staying here if you have limited time in Shanghai or it's your first visit. You can buy a Shanghai Transport pass with a deposit value of Y20 from People's Square and use it on the trains, buses and taxis to avoid any hassle with change and queues.

Checkout at midday was fairly chaotic, but considering it was a weekend and the hostel was almost full when we were there, this was probably normal. The reception could do with one or two more staff at the peak times – there were plenty of people who had been locked out of their room at midday or had forgotten something in their room, as well as people asking for directions and help with transport. Even though the staff were flat out they still kindly made a couple of phone calls in Chinese on our behalf and also helped us plan our onward travel.

All in all not a bad place to stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    109
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
36
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berri
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed in a family room with a double bed and a bunk. It was in a great location with subway, restaurants, supermarkets close by. Our children are 4 and 6 and they loved to have a run around the roof top bar. The price for the room was a bargain, we can't stay anywhere that cheaply here in Australia.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and enjoyed our stay there, which was for 5 nights.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank helenaposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

I came here with seven of my high school students. We all stayed in the private en suite rooms and although they are dark and simple, they are clean and quite. I would stay here again with my students or with my family. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The subway station is a 10 minute walk and the location is great. My only complaint is that I think the breakfast is too expensive for what it is in China and at a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

it was my first time staying at a hostel. better than expected. i stayed here in the begining and end of my trip. stayed in both the 3-ppl ensuite room and female dorm room, had no problem. a very relax atmosphere. was able to use the computer and wifi service.

you have to walk through a small alley (less than a hundred feet) to get to the front door from the main street, there is no building light and it is almost pitch dark at night. but there is nothing to worry about. i got used to it the next day (used the flash light from my cell phone).

less than 10 walk to the nearest metro. supermarket and convenice stores nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmelieL_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is comparitively expensive for a youth hostel, but to be honest it felt more like a hotel in many ways.

Reception staff were helpful, room was clean and the place has a game room, movie room and bar. Only a ten minute walk from the subway too.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

This was our first hostel experience and we were pleasantly surprised. Our double room with ensuite was a good size and very clean.
The roof top balcony is a nice spot for a drink and to chat with other guests.
Staff here were very helpful and spoke good english, we organised with them to buy our train tickets to Nanjing and also the expo. A small service fee was charged but worth every cent when seeing the chaos at the station.
We had the small breakfast buffet a few times, probably a bit exspensive for a hostel but good for the convenience and the food was nice.
Free wifi assess was good in the louge room and there were also a few modern computers set up.
The hostel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the subway down a busy road then turning left down a small lane.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed 4 nights in a female only dorm.
The location is amazing, very close to people's square, in a nice street where people sell crickets :)
The dorm was big and clean with an air-con, the bathroom was shared between two dorms but there was two showers, which was convenient. You have your own light next to your bed and a small shelf, and he reception gives you the key to a locker.
You can wash your clothes and there is an area where you can hang them.
The decoration is absolutely beautiful, I really liked the little pond with fish :) The bar / restaurant looks good but it's very expensive compared to what you can find outside. The drinks in the lobby are also quite expensive.
There are two computers which are free of use although quite often you have to queue to use them.
I would totally go back to this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfish-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#13 of 290 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Property: Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
Address: No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tour Traveler’s Rest Youth Hostel is located in the downtown area of Shanghai and is just 10 minute’s walk from the Subway (Line 2 and Line 7) (JingAn Temple Station and Airport City Terminal). Shanghai Exhibition Centre, Paramount Entertainment and former French Concession are all within walking distance. 5-minute's walk from the subway Line 7 - ChangPing Road Station, which leads directly to Shanghai EXPO Park.Nearby Nanjing West Road is a busy main road with offices, shops, restaurants and pubs. However the hostel is set back in a quiet residential side street away from the hustle and bustle. The building itself was built in the 1930s and is a former Towel Factory that used to supply towels to almost every family in China. When renovating the building we tried to salvage and re-use as much as we could from the old building – much of the furniture, flooring and panelling that you see in our guest rooms and common areas are made from the original timber.We accepts ISIC, IYTC, ITIC, HI Hostel card, Hostelworld VIP Card, … as our membership cards. We can offer accommodation in double rooms, twin rooms, apartment rooms and shared single-sex dormitories. The hostel offers a lively, vibrant atmosphere and has a Café and Bar, 24 hour access, free internet, bike hire, laundry, luggage lockers, garden, TV/DVD lounge, Table Tennis, Billiards and a quiet reading room. Also, at our reception there is a Travel Center, where customers can book flight and train tickets, as well as tickets for local one day tours and acrobatics shows, and much more besides… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tour Traveler`s Rest Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing