We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply awesome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vegetarian Lifestyle(Huaihai)

Vegetarian Lifestyle(Huaihai)
Ranked #91 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: People’s Square
Port Louis
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Well i am praising yet again this restaurant... The same on west nanjing road. Easy to access from tube station exit 1. The food is fantastic. Been trying all the different dishes and by the rhythm i am in, i shall taste all the dishes and establish my favorite... Well guys it might be the whole menu .... Lovely a must try

Helpful?
Thank Enigmaticvampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“We had only three days in shanghai and ate at ju June tree three times!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Tucked away near Citic Square, shanghai, Ju Jube Tree vegetarian restaurant is a perfect culinary experience for anyone who likes to really taste their food. Even though it is 100% vegetarian, don't let that put you off. These guys cook a wide variety of sumptuous dishes based on modern Chinese cuisine. Each dish in the menu is very well presented with a photo so non-chinese speakers have a reasonable idea of what they are ordering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fraserbatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome vegie food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Well my review is for the jujube tree in west nanjing road. The location is basic simple and nice. Very cosy area with people chatting around and people working there always with a smile. I am very fussy on food and it is kind of very difficult to get vegie food in shanghai. Well pure vegie as far as i am concern. When i discover this awesome restaurant i was simply amazed. You have a variety of food, cold, hot, soups and a wide variety of chinese tea. Surely it is a must to try the Buddhist way of food. Miam miam. You will also find a lot of foreigners who eat there.

Helpful?
Thank Enigmaticvampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although people there didn't speak English, the food was great and the location is convenience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Urashima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, but could be great with some more effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's a restaurant with a very large menu that serves vegetarian versions of classic local dishes, other regional chinese cuisines, some international asian dishes, and even a few dishes that could be called 'new traditional'.
So the food was good, but not great. On the one hand, the restaurant uses fresh ingredients and everything was competently prepared. On the other hand, the flavours of the vegetables were a bit subdued and and as per usual, the dominant taste was of the sauce. I would say this cooking is definitely a step above the many restaurants (especially in Europe/US) that call themselves vegetarian after just making the same dishes minus meat or plus tofu substitute, resulting in bland gimmicky 'vegetarian' cuisine (at double price because of the 'health premium'). But all the same, i feel like they are missing an opportunity to celebrate the crisp, exciting, complex flavours of vegetables when they are free from the domineering tastes of accompanying animal products. So it's better than gimmicky, but not quite gastro-vegetarian.
The restaurant itself is a large single room with a high ceiling. We were there at a middle hour, so there were not many other diners and it was reasonably quiet, but the layout of the room means it could get quite noisy when full. Seating was very comfortable with chairs and couches. There were also booths on the side of the room, probably for bigger parties.
Service was ok, if a bit inattentive. English was a problem, so we couldn't get much help with choosing our food - maybe we could have chosen better had we been able to ask for recommendations. Prices were ok at 40-50 yuan per dish.
I would still recommend this restaurant as there do not seem to be many good choices for vegetarians in Shanghai and the food is good, but I hope that they will refine the way they choose the flavour palate, which will lead to their food being great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean-ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegetarian Lifestyle(Huaihai) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Vegetarian Lifestyle(Huaihai)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing