We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Delicious Dumplings”

Din Tai Fung (Shanghai New World)
Ranked #11 of 16,873 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Really Delicious Dumplings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

If you love dumplings (Xiao Loong Bao), you need to visit this place. Unlike a lot of dumplings made with thick skin, the dumplings here have very thin skins, and are loaded with juices inside. The pork dumplings are fantastic - I highly recommend them. They also offer a nice variety of vegetables, side dishes, noodles, soups and fried rice. But the dumplings are to die for and you will love them. The restaurant is very clean and the service is impecable. Will definitely try to find their location in Los Angeles or Seattle...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USAWelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    515
    138
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious dumplings- A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you are looking for delicious dumplings in Shanghai don't miss visiting Din Tai Fung. Even though it is a chain their pork dumplings are some of the best I have ever tasted. You can even watch the chefs make them from scratch in case you were worried they aren't fresh. In addition don't miss ordering the hot and sour soup or the sesame noodles. Both make for delightful meal. The service and atmosphere are also excellent. More expensive then other options, but still a good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evanhunt1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level Contributor
323 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very well organised & busy place with great Xiaolongbao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I had lunch at the Xintiandi branch and was extremly impressed by the service (friendlyness, organisation and effiency). It was so busy, with at least 30 people waiting, and handled so well by the staff. And yes,very tasty Xiaolongbao.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Din Tai Fung at par with Taipei Shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We went to Xin Tian Di on our last night to check the place and have our dinner. We didn't find any restaurants to our likings and as we were walking towards the mall, I saw the Din Tai Fung signs from the second floor. So we decided to check this place. When we got there which is already past 8PM, the place is full and there were several customers waiting to be sit in. Luckily for us since we were a big group, 6 adults and 1 kid, we were immediately given a table, a private room. Inside the room there is a dedicated service personnel waiting for our orders and other needs. She was very friendly and immediately offered to take our group picture. She also molded some small animals using mixed flour and gave it to our kid.

Comparing the menu against the one in Taipei, they have more choices but a little bit pricey.
We ordered the famous Xia Long Bao and some dimsuns. Although, plain rice is not in their menu, we were able to order cooked rice.
We enjoyed the foods and have a great time in our own private room.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding dimsums...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a really hearty meal here. Outstanding Dim sums and Egg friend rice... Everything we ordered was excellent... Quick service. Went there twice in our 3 day stay in Shanghai.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GOD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Shanghai New World) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Shanghai New World)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing