We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Ranked #121 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Brilliant Service and Staff”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed for business during ITMA. Facilities excellent, staff very attentive. Nigel, the GM at this hotel has done a wonderful job developing a high standard in all areas. Definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear ianash,

It was a pleasure having you and your associates stay with us, we hope we were able to contribute in a small way to your successful business trip.
I am exceedingly fortunate to have a fantastic team who all play a critical part in providing the experience you encountered. I will certainly pass on your gratitude.
Thank you again for taking time to pass on your comments, also be assured we value your business and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    193
    72
    22
    9
See reviews for
18
30
42
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have been staying at this Crowne Plaza for about three years and it seems to get better every time. It is not in the city center but the location is perfect if you business keeps you in Pudong and still very convenient to downtown Shanghai or the Bund by a short inexpensive taxi.

I love the quiet location, close to dining and night life at thumb square and century park. The rooms not generally my style but the are large and well kept. I absolutely hate the work desk in the room, mostly because I always seem to hit my knees on them!

For me though it is the service that really shines. From check in to check out they just do an excellent job. When I came up to my room the Hotel General Manager Mr. Edwards and his staff were in my room making sure everything was just right. I love the fruit and personal note from him and it really shows his commitment in making each guest stay truly wonderful.

The club room staff is wonderful as well, I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Logan Goulagny and he really strove to make every guest welcome and taken care of. I wish him luck in his career in the hotel industry.

The value for this hotel is very good as well!

I can't recommend highly enough this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scpenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Scpenquin,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to have met you upon your arrival.
The team will be thrilled to receive your positive feedback; it helps in guiding us in the right direction and encourages empowerment. I will also personally thank Logan; he is a true ambassador and contributes a huge amount to our service quality as other before have commented.
You quite rightly pointed out that our location lends itself to be a small oasis in the fascinating and bustling city of Shanghai, however still with adequate attractions and activities close by to occupy any free time you may have.
Thank you once again for choosing Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai. We truly appreciate your business, value your support and anticipate welcoming you back again soon.


Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

the location isnt the best not much around the hotel but the train station is a 10 min walk that connects you to everywhere , good breakfast and very clean rooms, all in all a very good business hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azmat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear azmat7,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your views on the experience you encountered during your stay with us, we truly appreciate your feedback.
The entire team will be pleased to learn that the overall product and services met your expectations and that you enjoyed breakfast.
I trust your visit to our city was successful one and the hotel was able to provide the necessary essentials for your business trip. Once again we truly appreciate your business and support and anticipate welcoming you back again soon.


Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

After staying at this hotel many times on business returning to the CP Century Park feels like a Shanghai home away from home.
It has been sometime since my last visit and to see the friendly old faces and some new ones is always comforting.
From check in to check out is what i have become accustomed to, great service
friendly faces and the willingness to help by all members of the staff.
The upgrade to a Suite was a surprise kind gesture shown to me and greatly
appreciated a thanks to Nigel once again.
For those who do not want to be on the Puxi side of the river and would like to be in a quieter part of Shanghai (yes it is possible) i would recommend the CP Century Park as the place to stay

Keep up the great work and see you again soon

Room Tip: Club Level rooms or Corner Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Paul B,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
I was grateful to meet you again during your last visit and will certainly pass on your positive feedback to the entire hotel team.
You quite rightly pointed out that our location lends itself to be a small oasis in the fascinating and bustling city of Shanghai, however still with adequate attractions and activities close by to occupy any free time you may have.
Thanks again for providing us this valuable feedback and we appreciate you choosing The Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai.
We certainly value your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,.
Nigel R Edwards
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have stayed with IGH hotel for over then years and this it the first time that I was told to pay a restaurant bill in cash or local credit card, as it is independent to the hotel . In fact, the Japanese restaurant is in the second floor and outsiders are unable to access without going through the hotel lobby, then take the hotel lift/elevator. The restaurant is even listed in the hotel's Guest Service and Facilities that put in the desk of my room. I don't have cash or local credit card and I am not allowed to sign the bill. They should put a sign outside the restaurant to tell everyone the rule, not after I finished my dinner.

In addition, countless defaults, including unstable water pressure and temperature that you need to finish bath within twenty seconds, noisy air-conditioning, dated decor, unresponsive staff.....

If I don't have to stay close to Pudong for meeting to avoid traffic jam in the morning, I shall definitely stay away from this hotel and choose Hotel Indigo in the other side of Shanghai. The difference of Heaven and Hell.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with stable water pressure and temperature, especially in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Allan H,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us the experience of your recent stay here in Shanghai. We offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused which is totally uncompromising with our aim to provide a great experience and value to our guests.
As you mentioned the Japanese restaurant is operated by an independent party so we will obviously meet with the responsible parties to explain the unacceptable behavior and inconvenience that you endured. I am apologetic that the restaurant in question did not contact our hotel service team immediately to enquire if the hotel could have helped facilitate the transaction. I will ensure this instruction is passed on and followed up.
The team and I are also concerned with the other issues that you have highlighted so please be assured that we will look into to them with diligence. I would be pleased to continue this dialogue in more depth. As we do not have your personal details and if you have a spare moment I would appreciate you contacting me on the following email address. nigel.edwards@ihg.com
Once again we regret to learn of your disappointment and hope you would allow us another opportunity to serve you better and enjoy our hospitality as many before have and expressed on this forum.

Sincerely yours,.
Nigel Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for weekend with my wife after staying in Sheraton for a week. The color in Crown Plaza looks nice but defect is room hardware. The shower water flow is not constant and temperature is also changed during taking shower. It is not a good experience. Only highlight is pillow change speed and speed for check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Justin Ye,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased you recognized our service during your staying. The satisfaction and comfort of our guests is of paramount importance. Please be assured that your comments regarding shower in guest room will be passed to senior management for improvement.
Despite the disappointments we trust your visit to Shanghai was a successful one, thank you once again for choosing Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai. We appreciate very much your support and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. The room are spacious, will maintained and furnished. The staff is excellent and highly service oriented. Food is great. Bring centrally located is the biggest advantage. Close proximity to shopping centres, tourist places, pubs & restaurants makes it a great place to stay. Rooms are priced reasonably well. Spa is good but expensive.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel E, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sony S,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your views on the experience you encountered during your extended stay with us, we truly appreciate your feedback.
I am pleased you believed the rooms were priced reasonably nd you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the Spa Company as it is operated independently from the hotel.
As you mentioned, our hotel is located in Pudong, the heart of the new business area of Shanghai, 10 minutes to Metro Line 2 and Metro Line 9 is only 5 minutes from the hotel, it is ideally located for both a business and leisure visit.
Once again we truly appreciate your business and support and anticipate welcoming you back again soon. Your comments have been shared with the entire team.

Sincerely yours,
Nigel R Edwards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#140 of 5,069 in Shanghai
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#74 of 5,069 in Shanghai
439 reviews
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#130 of 5,069 in Shanghai
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai

Property: Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Address: No.1433 Minsheng Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200135, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#113 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Business and Meetings Hotel with adjacent International Convention CentreFree WIFI throughout whole hotel. Fast speedHuge gym, spa and swimming pool along with yoga classes. Downtown central Putuo District. Metro line 13 Zhenbei Road stop12 minutes to Hongqiao airport. 50 minutes to Pudong airport10 minutes to Lingkong Business Park and Caohejing Business Park15 minutes to Hong Mei Road with huge shopping, bars and restaurantsOn corner of Middle Ring Road and only five minutes to G2 Expressway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing