We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese Service?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Ranked #85 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Chinese Service?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sheshan Sofitel and upgraded to the club suite rooms. The hotel is beautiful with an outdoor beach, but the food service (if you don't order from the buffet) is terrible. Too bad. We wanted room service but they would not allow us to order from the kids menu. The kids were hungry at 5 o'clock but they would not open the restaurant until 5:30. 2 hours to get a meal is too long.




  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Kevh23,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction.

I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    177
    48
    16
    8
See reviews for
105
56
15
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here during the mid-autumn festival as a getaway from downtown Shanghai. Although it was packed with families we never had a problem finding an available seat on the sand next to the pool! The food was decent (which can be difficult in China). The staff was helpful, but a bit slow by Western standards. The only problem we did experience was the breakfast buffet in the morning, because they were fully booked we needed to wait in line for a table. If you are looking for a hotel to sightsee- I would not recommend this hotel, but if you're looking to get away from the city and enjoy just a pool,tennis courts, gym etc, its perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Carrie B,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good place for a weekend escape. The hotel has a huge pool area with beach. We stayed at the executive floor (Millesime) which offers a an intimate and relaxed experience. The Millesime package, which includes afternoon tea, happy hour (free flow drinks, and food) and breakfast, is a really good deal worth every mao.

The front office manager Javier is extremely service minded and accommodating to special requests, look for him in case you have any problems. Some of the local staff still has much to learn about service.

DO expect:
- A relaxed experience and hang-out by the pool.
- A child friendly hotel with activities and play rooms.

Do NOT expect:
- Good service at the pool bar. The items in the menu were either sold out or took ages to get.
- A quick and efficient check in at the Millesime lounge. The check-in process (with only one counter) is painfully slow, and all attempts by the staff to support eachother fails.
- Too much outside the hotel area. The hotel is located remotely a (roughly 60 mins drive from downtown Shanghai) and there are no restaurants outside, and basically nothing to do outside the hotel, unless you go by car to Happy Valley (amusement park), the sculpture park, or Sheshan (the actual "mountain").

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Astrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Jens_Ast,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, I can contact you personally. This would be highly appreciated.

I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a very nice family place for getting away from city-life for a weekend, We went with another family. Both families have a four-year-old and we also had a six-month-old. Service was good; nothing spectacular but what you would expect (in a generally good way). The property itself is nice, and perfect for walking around outside and enjoying nature. The pool was relatively crowded, but it was satisfactory for the kids. It was probably a one-hour drive from downtown Shanghai (not during rush hour, of course). We would probably return if we needed to recharge and get out of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear JCYang,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It's a perfect place for a weekend holiday if you are leaving in Shanghai and having a small child. The sandy pool is excellent and giving a real beach feeling. Breakfast is good enough. Club rooms are highly recommended for happy hours advantages. A little pricey but it deserves.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear peperone,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I am never disappointed and this visit was the same as always. The staff in the club lounge are excellent and the lounge is superbly managed by Coordi who is a credit to the hotel, she has a lovely manner and always takes care of the guests. Emma again from the club lounge was excellent and really makes such an effort to make sure everybody is taken care of in the evening happy hour.
The new additions in the pool areas works really well and just adds to another perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandraShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Alexandra,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in August 2013. We had previously stayed in Shanghai and wanted to "get out of the city" and enjoy a resort. The hotel is a long way from Peoples Square and will take over an hour by cab (longer if traffic is bad). The subway does go out to the resort area but you still need a cab from the station to the hotel. The hotel new and is nice and the room we had was spacious. The pool wrapped around the hotel like a moat. But is was shallow with warm water. Lots of families with kids and really no place for adults to swim. The service was good and food okay but expensive. The Sunday brunch was good but also expensive if accompanied with champagne or wine. All in all, if you have young children it is a nice place to stay. If you are a couple without kids stay in the city where is much more to do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Doug N,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#59 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Pullman Shanghai South
#27 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#58 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Sofitel Shanghai Hongqiao
#119 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

Property: Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Address: Crossing of Jiasong South Road and Sichen Road | 3388 Sichen road, Sijing Town, Songjiang District, Shanghai 201601, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 15 minutes drive from National Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport, the elegant Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is located conveniently in the Sheshan Mountain National Tourism Resort. Elegant Mediterranean architecture nestles amidst a lush landscape and meandering lagoons. Just a short drive from the city centre sits one of the ultimate Shanghai luxury hotels in a setting that eases guests into tranquility. An international hotel that blends French hospitality standards with Chinese influences Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental accommodates business and leisure travellers in 368 luxurious rooms including 53 suites and 7 opulent three- to five-bedroom villas. The resort and conference hotel features the most amazing swimming pools in the city including 4400 sqm2 of freeform outdoor pools and 2 man-made beaches. Guests in the resorts Luxury Room Pool Terrace accommodation enjoy direct access to the pool from their terrace. Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is a desired conference and event venue with a total of 3500 sqm2 meeting space including a 1200 sqm2 pillar-less ballroom and 16 meeting rooms. A variety of outdoor event options are as well available. The resort is also is a favorite weekend getaway for Shanghai residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing