We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute summer break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Ranked #88 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    181
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
113
56
16
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sofitel Sheshan is a really nice hotel! Hotel has a huge outdoor swimming pool and 2 artifical sand beach for kids, a lot of facilities for family with kids, such as outdoor playground, water activities equipements, plus 2 indoor play ground, etc. It's a real nice place in Shanghai which you can have a good fun and relax for family, besides, hotel is located in Sheshan, the environment is very nice and less polluted. We've brought a lot of friends to spend the week-end, they are all very happy with this hotel. More over, it could be a good idea to organize the team building, and conferences, etc.
Furthermore, the staff are very friendly, and helpful!
Fabienne

Room Tip: The Deluxe suite room is quite big around 80 m2, this type of room is really nice for couple who co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Fabienne C,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We can not give enough credit to this magnificent hotel. Management and staff have been extremely helpful and so pleasant to deal with. There is no problem finding a courteous English speaking staff member to assist you. Thankyou.
As a regular traveller, this hotel is top of our list.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear GoDons,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental Resort for 1 night only and our main goal was to try their pool and beach.. The artificial sandy beach is really nice and the pool is quite big but it's very shallow (1,2 meters as far as I remember) and due to the large number of kids in the pool it's a bit difficult to swim.. I think there should be a separate part for kids in the pool, and another part for adults, otherwise it gets messy sometimes..

The buffet breakfast is very good.. Several different kinds of yogurt and cheese are available which is not very common in China hotels..

Club Millesime rooms provide a couple of more advantages like afternoon tea and happy hour, where you can eat and drink more and free..

Check-in and check-out process is a bit slow, needs to be improved..

We saw a meal (eaten) tray in front of a room on our way to the pool.. Then, a couple of hours later, when we were going back to our room, the tray was still on the floor.. So, the room service should be more careful about it..

I especially suggest this hotel to families with kids.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dincer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear dincer80,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are travelling with a family group of 18. My wife and I have been involved in the hospitality business for over 30 years and stayed in many 4-5 &6 star hotels during this period. The Sofitel Sheshan Shanghai is the best quality, service, cleanliness and value we have ever experienced. Most of the staff speak English very well. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the surrounds of the hotel are pristine. It is difficult to find a hotel in China which even compares on any standard. From the beds to the club suite we have experienced the best. Thank you to the GM and his team this doesn't all happen by accident. It's bloody hard work.

Room Tip: Club suite is well worth paying a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Jim J,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,227 reviews
Sofitel Shanghai Hongqiao
#111 of 5,059 in Shanghai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#24 of 5,059 in Shanghai
264 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Sheshan Golf Estate
#271 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

Property: Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Address: Crossing of Jiasong South Road and Sichen Road | 3388 Sichen road, Sijing Town, Songjiang District, Shanghai 201601, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 15 minutes drive from National Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport, the elegant Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is located conveniently in the Sheshan Mountain National Tourism Resort. Elegant Mediterranean architecture nestles amidst a lush landscape and meandering lagoons. Just a short drive from the city centre sits one of the ultimate Shanghai luxury hotels in a setting that eases guests into tranquility. An international hotel that blends French hospitality standards with Chinese influences Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental accommodates business and leisure travellers in 368 luxurious rooms including 53 suites and 7 opulent three- to five-bedroom villas. The resort and conference hotel features the most amazing swimming pools in the city including 4400 sqm2 of freeform outdoor pools and 2 man-made beaches. Guests in the resorts Luxury Room Pool Terrace accommodation enjoy direct access to the pool from their terrace. Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is a desired conference and event venue with a total of 3500 sqm2 meeting space including a 1200 sqm2 pillar-less ballroom and 16 meeting rooms. A variety of outdoor event options are as well available. The resort is also is a favorite weekend getaway for Shanghai residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing