We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible family staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Ranked #64 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family (wife and 17 month old) and I just got back from an amazing weekend at the Sofitel Sheshan.
From allowing us to check in early, upgrade to club floor due to my Le Club status, the amazing outdoor pool, delicious breakfast, late check out....everything was quite simply amazing! The staff was extremely professional, helpful and consistently went out of their way to tend to our every need.
Great getaway for families with young children.
We liked it so much, we will be back for Father's day weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalCitizenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear GlobalCitizenP,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 611 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

My first trip to Shanghai, $133 USD was the special price for our rooms, right before the busy May season which will be expensive time to visit China. Our timing was just right, the hotel was a very luxurious and comfortable and eye pleasing place, and endless opportunities to explore the hotel and have a vacation time just between business trips during each day of our visit. I can't tell you the difference in value from US hotels which are more expensive than this and have not 1/20th of the luxury or value. I can't wait to stay in this hotel again next time in Shanghai!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BRPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear GRPenn,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came here during the 3 day holiday weekend in China. We paid for an upgrade to the executive level and with it comes the use of executive lounge and breakfast and it was worth it. The location is good, an hour drive away from Shanghai city center and hustle and bustle of a big city. What impressed us the most is the HUGE outdoor pool. It was too cold to swim outside when we stayed, but we're definitely coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sdekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear An,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Sheshan during a short weekend break out of Shanghai, it is a beautiful luxury hotel. We got the chance to meet the Front Desk manager Javier, who is doing his best to make all the guests'experience as enjoyable as possible, and indeed we had a very pleasant stay. the hotel has good facilities (especially swimming pools) and even a small beach to enjoy during the summer time. the VIE restaurant has really delicious food with a great choice between Western/Chinese/Asian kitchens. All the staff in the hotel is very welcoming. Transportation from Shanghai is convenient, the hotel is 10 min walks from line 9 Sheshan station (1/2 hour subway to downtown Xujiahui area).

Room Tip: Pool view is better. In case you don't have the great "Sofitel MyBed", just ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear WYQ,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one evening while on business travel in shanghai area. This was a wonderful hotel! I need to get back here and stay for a few days, or over a weekend while traveling. It was a very grand hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear TJ Ohio Cleveland,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm right now spending my second day in this resort. Although its winter time and I would recommend people to come here in spring or autumn, I must say its quite comfortable and nice. The ambience is quite relaxing and I would definitely come back with better weather when I find a good promotion.
The construction quality is above chinese standards but still lower than European ones... So let's see how the hotel ages. The morning buffet is not a ShangriLa but still quite good. All day dinning is a little small though and you may notice this when you see they had to take the public area in front of the restaurant to add more chairs.
Staff is really nice and polite.
Like I said, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Javier C,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your pleasant feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I really appreciate that you enjoy your stay with us and your kind comment with your fully support drives us to do better and better.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for 3 times at weekends (and the 4th time is coming up soon) and I need to say we have a love-hate relationship with this hotel though it is getting slightly better with the new general manager. First the upside: The resort is located in Songjiang, a suburb of Shanghai about 15RMB by taxi from metro station. It is huge and I quite like the mediterrainean style architecture. One does feel relaxed here and it serves best as a weekend escape away from busy Shanghai. We have been staying at various rooms including Superior Room (so so), Junior suite (nice), Opera suite (very huge and very nice) due to upgrades from my Accor membership. The Superior room is relatively small and a bit worn down (probably due to high traffic). The suites are impeccable! The Junior suite is probably the right size for a couple and the Opera suite would be more suitable for family with kids. We always enjoy the executive lounge. One can have breakfast, afternoon tea or happy hour here. The selection is quite limited, but delicious. They serve wines, hot and soft drinks and warm/ cold snacks. Mostly it is very quiet here (except in summer when there are lots of families with kids) and one can enjoy sitting there and reading some foreign newspaper (very good!). There is also a restaurant at basement where they serve a wide and very good range of breakfast. The gym and the swimming pool are good sized and well equipped too. However, it is quite expensive to play table tennis or billard. In summer one use the outdoor pools and the sandy beach, but be aware of the crowds and the kids!
Now the downsides: Service. Being a 5 star hotel and Accor's top brand (and we have been to many Accor hotels such as Pullman, Grand Mercure, Mercure, Novotel, Ibis) and being a platinum Accor member one does expect some reasonable service here. Upgrades: The first time we have been offered a free upgrade and a late check-out (very good). The 2nd and 3rd time we have to negotiate with lobby staff and the managers. Also during our 2nd stay the hotel staff do not even know what the benefits of my membership are (such as free upgrades, fruit plate, late check-outs). We have been discussing this with their various staff (for over 1 hour!) until the Duty Manager (Thank you!) stepped in. Since our first stay we are not allowed to have any late check-outs (bad/ check-out time is 12 noon), while official check-in time is 3pm in the afternoon. In the Opera suite they have a coffee machine (nice!), but no coffee creamer (bad). We called house keeping several times, but it took them 2 hours! to get it delivered to my room! Another downside is the departure. Since the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, one needs a taxi for transportation and there are a lot of people using it after check-out. However, the concierge does organize it badly. There is no queue as such and people after us get in the taxi first?!???
Overall, nice hotel, but needs serious improvements on service. Hope it gets better upon next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crobbie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Crobbie2000,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. For more details If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, so that I can contact you personally, that would be highly appreciated.

I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Sofitel Shanghai Hongqiao
#86 of 5,161 in Shanghai
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#74 of 5,161 in Shanghai
276 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

Address: Crossing of Jiasong South Road and Sichen Road | 3388 Sichen road, Sijing Town, Songjiang District, Shanghai 201601, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $108 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 15 minutes drive from National Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport, the elegant Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is located conveniently in the Sheshan Mountain National Tourism Resort. Elegant Mediterranean architecture nestles amidst a lush landscape and meandering lagoons. Just a short drive from the city centre sits one of the ultimate Shanghai luxury hotels in a setting that eases guests into tranquility. An international hotel that blends French hospitality standards with Chinese influences Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental accommodates business and leisure travellers in 368 luxurious rooms including 53 suites and 7 opulent three- to five-bedroom villas. The resort and conference hotel features the most amazing swimming pools in the city including 4400 sqm2 of freeform outdoor pools and 2 man-made beaches. Guests in the resorts Luxury Room Pool Terrace accommodation enjoy direct access to the pool from their terrace. Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is a desired conference and event venue with a total of 3500 sqm2 meeting space including a 1200 sqm2 pillar-less ballroom and 16 meeting rooms. A variety of outdoor event options are as well available. The resort is also is a favorite weekend getaway for Shanghai residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing